The Summer We Lost Her

· Sold by Simon and Schuster
3.0
3 reviews
Ebook
352
Pages
Eligible

About this ebook

For fans of Jodi Picoult and Anna Quindlen, comes an “astonishingly profound…exquisitely written drama” (Caroline Leavitt, New York Times bestselling author of Pictures of You) about a husband and a wife, a missing child, and the complicated family secrets that can derail even the best of marriages.

It’s been a busy—and expensive—few years for Matt and Elise Sorenson and their young daughter Gracie, whom they affectionately call Little Green. Matt, a Manhattan lawyer, has just been offered a partnership, and Elise’s equestrian ambitions as a competitive dressage rider may finally vault her into the Olympics. But her long absences from home and endless hours of training have strained their relationships nearly to the breaking point.

Now they’re up in the Adirondacks, preparing to sell the valuable lakefront cabin that’s been in Matt’s family for generations. Both he and Elise agree it’s time to let it go. But as they navigate the memories the cabin holds—and come face to face with Matt’s teenage crush, now an unnervingly attractive single mother living right next door—Gracie disappears without a trace.

Faced with the possibility that they’ll never see their daughter again, Elise and Matt struggle to come to terms with what their future may bring. The fate of the family property, the history of this not-so-tiny town, and the limits of Matt and Elise’s love for each other are inextricably bound up with Gracie’s disappearance. Everything for the Sorenson family is about to change—the messy tangle of their past, the harrowing truth of their present, and whether or not their love will survive a parent’s worst nightmare.
3.0
3 reviews
Third-party review
I spent the first half of the novel disliking the mother, then halfway through when the daughter was finally lost, I switched to disliking the father.
Third-party review
unrealistic, light reading, deceptively previously published as LITTLE GREEN.... unbalanced marriage, old girlfriend reappears , child disappears WITH crutches and is magically found- no longer needing their aid......family reconnects, all is forgiven. fa lalalala
Third-party review
Review of Advance Reader’s Edition Manhattan lawyer Matt Sorenson serves as the primary caregiver for his daughter Gracie while his wife Elise, an Olympic hopeful, trains and competes in dressage ...

About the author

Tish Cohen is the author of bestselling novels for adults and young readers, many of them in development for film. Her first novel, Town House, was a regional finalist for the Commonwealth Writers’ Prize for Best First Book. Cohen’s short film, Russet Season, had its US premiere at the San Diego Jewish Film Festival in 2017. She lives in Toronto.

Rate this book

Tell us what you think.

Reading information

Smartphones and tablets
Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.
Laptops and computers
You can listen to audiobooks purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.
eReaders and other devices
To read on e-ink devices like Kobo eReaders, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Follow the detailed Help Center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.