The End of Average: How We Succeed in a World That Values Sameness

Sold by HarperCollins
Free sample

Are you above average? Is your child an A student? Is your employee an introvert or an extrovert? Every day we are measured against the yardstick of averages, judged according to how closely we come to it or how far we deviate from it.

The assumption that metrics comparing us to an average—like GPAs, personality test results, and performance review ratings—reveal something meaningful about our potential is so ingrained in our consciousness that we don’t even question it. That assumption, says Harvard’s Todd Rose, is spectacularly—and scientifically—wrong.

In The End of Average, Rose, a rising star in the new field of the science of the individual shows that no one is average. Not you. Not your kids. Not your employees. This isn’t hollow sloganeering—it’s a mathematical fact with enormous practical consequences. But while we know people learn and develop in distinctive ways, these unique patterns of behaviors are lost in our schools and businesses which have been designed around the mythical “average person.” This average-size-fits-all model ignores our differences and fails at recognizing talent. It’s time to change it.

Weaving science, history, and his personal experiences as a high school dropout, Rose offers a powerful alternative to understanding individuals through averages: the three principles of individuality. The jaggedness principle (talent is always jagged), the context principle (traits are a myth), and the pathways principle (we all walk the road less traveled) help us understand our true uniqueness—and that of others—and how to take full advantage of individuality to gain an edge in life.

Read this powerful manifesto in the ranks of Drive, Quiet, and Mindset—and you won’t see averages or talent in the same way again.

Read more

About the author

Todd Rose is the director of the Mind, Brain, and Education program at the Harvard Graduate School of Education, where he leads the Laboratory for the Science of Individuality. He is also the cofounder and president of the Center for Individual Opportunity, an organization dedicated to providing leadership around the emerging science of the individual. He lives in Cambridge, Massachusetts.

Read more
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
HarperCollins
Read more
Published on
Jan 19, 2016
Read more
Pages
256
Read more
ISBN
9780062358387
Read more
Features
Read more
Language
English
Read more
Genres
Business & Economics / General
Mathematics / Probability & Statistics / General
Psychology / Applied Psychology
Read more
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
How to Develop Self-Discipline, Resist Temptations and Reach Your Long-Terms Goals

If you want to make positive changes in your life and achieve your long-term goals, I can’t think of a better way to do it than to learn how to become more self-disciplined.

Science has figured out a lot of interesting aspects of self-discipline and willpower, but most of this knowledge is buried deep inside long and boring scientific papers.

If you’d like to benefit from these studies without actually reading them, this book is for you. I’ve done the job for you and researched the most useful and viable scientific findings that will help you improve your self-discipline.

Here are just a couple things you will learn from the book:

- what a bank robber with lemon juice on his face can teach you about self-control. The story will make you laugh out loud, but its implications will make you think twice about your ability to control your urges.

- how $50 chocolate bars can motivate you to keep going when faced with an overwhelming temptation to give in.

- why President Obama wears only gray and blue suits and what it has to do with self-control (it’s also a possible reason why the poor stay poor).

- why the popular way of visualization can actually prevent you from reaching your goals and destroy your self-control (and what to do instead).

- what dopamine is and why it’s crucial to understand its role to break your bad habits and form good ones.

- 5 practical ways to train your self-discipline. Discover some of the most important techniques to increase your self-control and become better at resisting instant gratification.

- why the status quo bias will threaten your goals and what to do to reduce its effect on your resolutions.

- why extreme diets help people achieve long-term results, and how to apply these findings in your own life.

- why and when indulging yourself can actually help you build your self-discipline. Yes, you can stuff yourself (from time to time) and still lose weight.

Instead of sharing with you the detailed "why" (with confusing and boring descriptions of studies), I will share with you the "how" – advice that will change your life if you decide to follow it.

You too can master the art of self-discipline and learn how to resist temptations. Your long term goals are worth it. Scroll up and buy the book now.

As a gift for buying my book, you'll get my another book, "Grit: How to Keep Going When You Want to Give Up."

Keywords:

Develop self discipline, willpower and self discipline, self-discipline, self control books, stress, reach your goals, self-control, achieve your goals, instant gratification, long term goals, goal setting success, goal setting books, how to reach your goals, how to achieve your goals, persistence, how not to give up, stick to a diet, stay motivated, build habits, delayed gratification, personal development

William Todd Rose reinvents the zombie story with a thrilling novella of a post-apocalyptic America where saviors are heroes . . . and heroes are killers.
 
A fatal virus—a biowarfare experiment unleashed on an unsuspecting world—has reduced the once-mighty United States to a smattering of tribes dueling for survival in the lawless wilderness. The disease-free folk known as Settlers barricade themselves in small villages, determined to keep out the highly contagious Spewers—infected humans who cannot die from the virus but spread the seeds of death from the festering blisters that cover their bodies.
 
Tanner Kline is a trained Sweeper, sworn to exterminate Spewers roaming the no-man’s-land surrounding his frightened community. As all Settlers do, Tanner dismisses them as little more than savages—until he meets his match in Spewer protector Lila. But when hunter and hunted clash, their bloody tango ignites a firestorm of fear and hatred. Now, no one is safe from the juggernaut of terror that rages unchecked, and the fate of humanity hangs on questions with no answers: Who’s right, who’s wrong . . . and who’s going to care if everyone’s dead?

Praise for Apocalyptic Organ Grinder
 
“With strong echoes of Richard Matheson’s I Am Legend, William Todd Rose’s Apocalyptic Organ Grinder delivers on all fronts. The action is brutal and the blurring of man and monster intelligently and inventively handled. Rose has written a smart thriller with a ton of heart.”—Joe McKinney, Bram Stoker Award–winning author of The Savage Dead and Inheritance

“The book just took me away. . . . The prose is beautiful.”—39 Purple Sunrises
 
“Dark, and definitely not fluffy . . . a no-holds-barred look at what may happen in the future.”—Mrs. Condit & Friends Read Books
當未來多數工作被人工智慧所取代,我們還能拿什麼去競爭?
打破平均值的迷思,不再害怕做有特色的自己。

 

◎摩根大通推薦給企業主的年度選書
◎「打破平均值」的觀念,讓被診斷為過動兒的中輟生成為哈佛博士;讓Google學會辨識頂尖人才,打造最強團隊;讓微軟揮別失落十年,風雲再起。震撼美國企業界、教育界的最新論述,讓你告別差不多的人生。

 

寶寶照著成長曲線發育才是正常。誰說的?
先吃棉花糖的小孩沒有自制力。誰說的?
數學好的人比較有邏輯推理能力。誰說的?
由得分王所組成的籃球隊會奪冠。誰說的?
以上都是「平均值」說的。

本書作者哈佛教育學院陶德•羅斯博士,提出一個衝擊性的觀點:「平均值根本不存在現實生活裡。」然而,我們幾乎從出生開始,就不斷被標準給綁架。我們都不想平庸,卻拚了命想達到平均值,因為想比別人好,必須先跟別人一樣。

 

二○○三年的紐約尼克隊,耗費巨資組了NBA平均得分總數最高的夢幻球隊,卻連輸四個球季,他們是錯估了哪件事?Google找人才不靠google,而是靠_____?徵才顧問介紹一位藥劑師擔任新創產業的人資,他的理由是什麼呢?測試意志力的棉花糖實驗遇上收容所的孩子完全失準,為什麼?

愛因斯坦說:「每個人都有自己的天分。如果你叫魚去爬樹,他終其一生只會覺得自己是笨蛋。」本書提出三大個體性原則,剖析如何善用個體性來爭取優勢,揮別平均值的潛暴力。


【各界推薦】

◆ 蘇文鈺 成功大學資訊工程學系教授╱偏鄉兒少程式教學計畫「Program the World」創辦人
◆ 陳怡光 臺北市影視音實驗教育機構主任
◆ 張瑋軒 「女人迷」創辦人暨執行長
◆ 莊智超 IOH開放個人經驗平台創辦人
◆ 江湖人稱S姐 職場力部落客╱商周專欄作家
◆ 理查•布蘭森 維京集團創辦人
◆ 亞當•格蘭特 華頓商學院教授╱《給予》作者
◆ 艾美•柯蒂 哈佛教授╱《姿勢決定你是誰》作者
◆ 丹尼爾•品克 知名趨勢寫手╱《未來在等待的人才》作者
◆ 丹•希斯 《創意黏力學》作者
◆ 霍華•嘉納 「多元智能之父」

 

◎身為一個創業者,每一天纏繞於心的問題成千上萬,但最終都會指向一個終極問題──我們該如何更好?我們該如何追求卓越?追求卓越之前,本書的關鍵概念極為重要──必須超越對平均與常態的習慣,重新認識個人特殊性的意義。我們已在不同的時代,需要重視每個「個人」的特殊性,這也是我所希望打造的女人迷企業文化,女人迷會因為每一個人的特質去做變化,而不是個人須符合企業固定的職位敘述。在大量、工業化時代之後,我相信這個時代,就像第二次文藝復興一樣,我們必須重新恢復人的價值,重新體現每個人的獨一無二!──張瑋軒 女人迷創辦人暨執行長

 

◎為何我們努力地想和別人一樣,但同時又明白這個社會需要不一樣才能成功?同樣也是一個中輟生,我大聲附和作者所說的:平均值才是通往成功路上的絆腳石!──理查•布蘭森 維京集團創辦人

 

◎作者提出一個很前衛的觀點,告訴大家不用對達不到平均值感到擔憂,因為它根本就不存在。──摩根大通年度選書推薦語

 

◎作者是少見的奇才,他的論述不僅鼓舞人心,而且他是對的。他翻轉了我們對天分的假想,提供更有說服力的方式重新想像我們的世界。精采的故事、最新的資料、大膽的觀念,這本書一點都不平庸。──亞當•格蘭特  華頓商學院教授,著有暢銷書《給予》

 

◎徹底的震撼!──丹•希斯  《創意黏力學》

◎本書挑戰我們習以為常的「平均值」思維,幫助我們睜開心眼,看見人類的多元化與潛能。──「多元智能之父」霍華•嘉納

 

◎在天分的戰場上,我們竟錯失了挖掘的大好機會。本書指出:所有測量成就的方式竟成了反指標,嚴重低估每個人的複雜面向,導致我們忽略天分、脈絡、性情三者的結合才能顯現的個體特質。這是一本會讓你放在心上的書。──約翰.史立.布朗  德勤尖端中心獨立共同主席

 

◎有趣、有用、有深度。作者破除用數字來衡量成功的迷思,本書將幫助每一個人終結平庸,遇見自己的真實力。──哈佛教授艾美•柯蒂 哈佛教授《姿勢決定你是誰》

◎作者打破我們對平均值的觀念,認為這不該是我們追求成就的單一標準。追求平均,讓我們成了平庸一族。本書好讀、有啟發,水準之上。──丹尼爾•品克《未來在等待的人才》

In a dark horror novella for fans of Stephen King, Joe Hill, and Dean Koontz, one unsuspecting man faces a mass murderer who’s turned the afterlife into his own terrifying playground.
 
Some men fear their own deaths. Others dream of peace and heaven. But Albert knows exactly what he wants: to be the lord of his own private hell, where his eternal reward will be torturing the souls of his victims. And he knows how to get it.
 
While Chuck’s dream of a promotion may be ordinary, his career is anything but. As a Recon and Enforcement Technician, Level II, at a mysterious organization known only as the Institute, Chuck spends his days rescuing souls that get trapped between this life and the next, caught in mini-hells known as crossfades.
 
Lydia has no dreams—only nightmares. There will be no awakening from the impossible realm of terror and pain where she’s trapped . . . unless Chuck tracks her down. But this rescue will not be easy, not for a mere Level II technician. Because, in this place, Albert is god. And he’s determined that none shall escape his wrath.
 
Praise for William Todd Rose’s Apocalyptic Organ Grinder
 
“With strong echoes of Richard Matheson’s I Am Legend, William Todd Rose’s Apocalyptic Organ Grinder delivers on all fronts. The action is brutal and the blurring of man and monster intelligently and inventively handled. Rose has written a smart thriller with a ton of heart.”—Joe McKinney, Bram Stoker Award–winning author of The Savage Dead and Inheritance
 
“The book just took me away. . . . The prose is beautiful.”—39 Purple Sunrises
 
“Dark, and definitely not fluffy . . . a no-holds-barred look at what may happen in the future.”—Mrs. Condit & Friends Read Books
©2018 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.