Cold Cruel Kiss: A Romantic Thriller Novel

· Cold Justice® - The Negotiators Book 4 · Toni Anderson Inc.
4.9
14 reviews
Ebook
400
Pages
Eligible
87% price drop on Jul 4

About this ebook

Heart-pounding action, pulsing attraction, spooks, conspiracies, betrayal, political wrangling; Cold Cruel Kiss has it all.” ~ All About Romance *Desert Isle Keeper*


When the daughter of the US Ambassador to Argentina is kidnapped in broad daylight on Christmas Eve, the FBI sends one of its best negotiators to investigate—in this Romantic Thriller by NYT bestselling author Toni Anderson. 


Supervisory Special Agent Max Hawthorne arrives at an embassy thrown into chaos as US and local law enforcement hustle to track the young woman. Is this a simple kidnap for ransom, or part of a political agenda? Could it be something more sinister?


Lucy Aston has something to hide. Preferring to stay in the shadows, the lowly, fashion-challenged office assistant resents being assigned to help Max. But Max can’t resist a puzzle…he’s starting to suspect Lucy Aston is not what she seems.


When rumors emerge of a suspected Russian spy operating out of the embassy, Lucy’s carefully constructed life begins to crumble. As she and Max race to rescue the ambassador’s daughter, Lucy has to do whatever it takes to keep her cover from being blown—even if that means betraying the man she’s falling for.


All the books can be read as standalone titles. Thrilling plots with guaranteed happily ever afters—they do contain strong language. For fans of Kendra Elliot, Janie Crouch, Anna Hackett, and Brittney Sahin. 


Winner of the National Excellence in Romantic Fiction Award for Romantic Suspense.

Ratings and reviews

4.9
14 reviews
Cheryl McCullough
January 16, 2021
Wow, wow, wow! Its like watching an in depth reality soap opera. Que the music! Twists, turns, sub plots, seeing what kidnapping can do to a family and an eye opener on the different agency's and what has to be done to get anything accomplished. It had moments of "oh no" when I first met Lucy and some of her story came out. Definitely suspense! Moments of anguish when telling the plights of the kidnapped children (ok teens). A beautiful relationship develops and I loved the way Toni handled the push and pull when there are secrets involved. The steam was **sizzling** as in hot, can't touch this, but you still felt the the love. When the mastermind is exposed, I was not surprised, but I was surprised with the accomplice! Thank you for graciously allowing me an opportunity to review this arc. I freely volunteer my thoughts an opinions.
1 person found this review helpful
Did you find this helpful?
Sandy S.
January 30, 2021
COLD CRUEL KISS is the fourth Toni Anderson’s contemporary, adult COLD JUSTICE: CROSSFIRE romantic suspense series-a a spin off/crossover with the author’s COLD JUSTICE series. This is FBI Supervisory Special Agent Max Hawthorne, and office assistant Lucy Aston’s story line. COLD CRUEL KISS can be read as a stand alone without any difficulty. Any important information from the previous instalments or the original series is revealed where necessary. Told from several third person perspectives including Max and Lucy, COLD CRUEL KISS focuses on the search and rescue of two seventeen year old American girls, including the daughter of the US Ambassador, kidnapped while Christmas shopping in a market in Argentina. Enter FBI and Supervisory Special Agent Max Hawthorne, called in to help negotiate the ransom and release of the two young women but Max finds himself working with the US Ambassador’s office assistant, a women who is hiding behind oversized clothes and too big glasses. Enter Lucy Aston. What ensues is the back and forth, hunt for a kidnapper, and the possible connections to a kidnapping cartel, and a suspected Russian spy. Max Hawthorne knows that time is precious when negotiating a ransom and the release of two young woman, and working with office assistant Lucy Aston forces our hero to see beyond the frumpy exterior, hiding a beautiful, smart and secretive woman who stirs something deep within our story line hero. Lucy Aston wears a mask in a effort to hide the woman she was, and the woman she would become. Saving her young charge is Lucy’s first priority, a priority she is willing to risk her life and her reputation in order to save. The relationship between Lucy and Max is one of immediate attraction but no one understands what Max sees in the frumpy office assistant. Max sees beyond the façade of a young woman who has seen more than most but when the truth is revealed, Max isn’t sure he ever saw the woman before. The $ex scenes are intimate and passionate without the use of over the top, sexually graphic language and text. There is a large ensemble cast of colorful and energetic secondary and supporting characters including the kidnapping victims Kristen and Irene: Kristen’s parents ambassador Catherine Dickerson and her husband Phillip; Catherine’s PA Miranda Foster; several Deep Ops warriors; the FBI; local law enforcement ; and federal police and Official Inspector Hector Cabral. COLD CRUEL KISS is a story of money and power; betrayal and vengeance; spies, agencies, secrets and lies. The premise is intriguing and captivating; the characters are dynamic and charismatic; the romance is seductive, and enticing
3 people found this review helpful
Did you find this helpful?
Amy Thomas
January 28, 2021
Toni never fails to impress me and is one of my go to authors! Whenever I see she's releasing a new book I never hesitate to one click! Cold Cruel Kiss was no different. Kristen, the daughter of the U.S. Ambassador for Argentina, and Kristen's friend Irene are kidnapped. Lucy has been working under the ambassador's personal assistant, but something isn't as it seems with her. Max is brought in as the negotiator to help get Kristen and Irene home. As we see glimpses from Kristen and Irene being held captive, we see Lucy and Max working together trying to locate the kidnappers and get the girls home safely. All the while trying to deny their chemistry and attraction to each other. I loved Max's calm, smooth demeanor, I wanted a Max in my life immediately. I could tell Lucy was going to intrigue me and keep me questioning things until the very end. As with real kidnappings, this book moved a bit slower, but that is not to say it still wasn't amazing! The build-up kept me wanting to read more and I loved every second. Another fantastic addition to the Cold Justice: Crossfire series!
5 people found this review helpful
Did you find this helpful?

About the author

Toni Anderson writes gritty, sexy, FBI Romantic Thrillers, and is a New York Times and a USA Today bestselling author. Her books have won the Daphne du Maurier Award for Excellence in Mystery and Suspense, Readers’ Choice, Aspen Gold, Book Buyers’ Best, Golden Quill, National Excellence in Story Telling (NEST) Contest, and National Excellence in Romance Fiction awards. She's been a finalist in both the Vivian Contest and the RITA. Her books have been translated into five different languages.

 

Best known for her “COLD JUSTICE®” novels perhaps it’s not surprising to discover Toni lives in one of the most extreme climates on earth—Manitoba, Canada. Formerly a Marine Biologist (PhD), she still misses the ocean. Hergreatest achievements include raising two kids, mastering the Tokyo subway, climbing Ben Lomond, snorkeling the Great Barrier Reef, and surviving eighteen (and counting) Winnipeg winters. 

 

Toni loves to travel for research and was lucky enough to visit the Strategic Information and Operations Center inside FBI Headquarters in Washington, D.C. She also got to shove another car off the road during pursuit training at the Writer’s Police Academy in Wisconsin. She hopes not to get arrested for her Google searches.

 

For more information about Toni:

Website: https://www.toniandersonauthor.com

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/toniannanderson

Twitter: https://twitter.com/@toniannanderson

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/toni_anderson_author/

Newsletter: https://www.toniandersonauthor.com/newsletter-signup/

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/2820461.Toni_Anderson

Rate this ebook

Tell us what you think.

Reading information

Smartphones and tablets
Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.
Laptops and computers
You can listen to audiobooks purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.
eReaders and other devices
To read on e-ink devices like Kobo eReaders, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Follow the detailed Help Center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.