The Woman Who Wanted More: 'Beautifully written, full of insight and food' Katie Fforde

Bonnier Zaffre Ltd.
3

A perfect foodie novel with plenty of bite - ideal for fans of Joanna Cannon, Libby Page and Gail Honeyman.

Two women. One unusual cookbook. And a friendship that will show them how to savour each moment . . .

Kate Parker is about to turn forty and her world has fallen apart. Her seemingly rock-solid relationship is
suddenly up in the air, and she's been forced to move back in with her mother. In need of some distraction, Kate (reluctantly) volunteers at her local retirement home.

Cecily Finn is a ninety-seven-year-old resident of Lauderdale House for Exceptional Ladies. Her tongue is as sharp as her mind but lately she's lost her spark, seemingly resigned to the Imminent End.

But then Cecily prescribes Kate a self-help recipe book with a difference - and so begins an unlikely friendship between two lonely and stubborn souls.

Together, these two very different women - one near the end of her life, one adrift somewhere in the middle -
will show each other that food is for feasting, life is for living, and that it's always essential to ask for more.

Praise for The Woman Who Wanted More:

'Beautifully written, full of insight and food. This is one of those I carried round the house wanting to read it every spare second' - Katie Fforde

'Wise, warm, witty and mouth-watering - this wonderful book has it all' - Isabelle Broom, Woman & Home

'A fabulous read about finding your way; about friendships and letting go. I adored it' - Nina Pottell, Prima Magazine

'A mouth-watering treat of a book that celebrates food and female friendship . . . An irresistible novel!' - Kate Harrison
Read more
Collapse

About the author

Vicky Zimmerman lives in London. She worked in marketing and as a food tester at a major UK supermarket before leaving to write full-time. She has written for the Guardian and the Observer as well as for women's magazines, specifically on food, body image and dating. She's a passionate foodie and, when not writing, spends her days seeking out the perfect brownie and travelling Europe and the world in search of the best and most beautiful bowl of pasta. The Woman Who Wanted More is inspired by her own grandmother's 1950s cookery manual.
Read more
Collapse
4.3
3 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Bonnier Zaffre Ltd.
Read more
Collapse
Published on
May 30, 2019
Read more
Collapse
Pages
448
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9781785765339
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Cooking / General
Family & Relationships / Friendship
Fiction / General
Fiction / Literary
Fiction / Romance / General
Fiction / Romance / Romantic Comedy
Fiction / Women
Social Science / Agriculture & Food
Social Science / Gerontology
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
©2019 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.