The Thief's Daughter

Cornish Tales

Book 1
Choc Lit Limited
Free sample

A woman driven to crime finds love with a man of the law in this tale of eighteenth-century Cornwall, “full of twists and turns” (Buried Under Romance).
 
England, 1779. Though many citizens of Cornwall have resorted to smuggling as their only means of survival, Jenna Cartwright has determined to always abide the law. But when her brother is sent to debtor’s prison, Jenna must do whatever it takes to free him. Housekeeping by day for one Jack Penhale, she joins a gang of violent brigands each night on Cornwall’s rocky coast.
 
A professional thief-taker, Jack knows to keep his business private, even from his charming new housekeeper. He has come to Cornwall to find the criminals who killed his father, but his mind keeps returning to Jenna’s innocent, bewitching smile. As their lives become entangled, and the worlds of justice and crime collide, the love-struck pair must decide where their allegiances lie.
 
This “striking” tale of passion and survival brings to life an unforgettable time and place in history (Historical Novel Society).
Read more
Collapse

About the author

Victoria Cornwall grew up on a dairy farm in Cornwall. She can trace her Cornish roots as far back as the eighteenth century and it is this background and heritage which is the inspiration for her Cornish based novels. Cornwall is married, has two grown up children, and a black Labrador, called Alfie. She likes to read and write historical fiction with a strong background story, but at its heart is the unmistakable emotion, even pain, of loving someone. Following a fulfilling twenty-five year career as a nurse, a change in profession finally allowed her the time to write. Cornwall is a member of the Romantic Novelists’ Association and the Historical Novel Society.
Read more
Collapse
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Choc Lit Limited
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Jan 3, 2017
Read more
Collapse
Pages
314
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9781781893180
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Historical / General
Fiction / Mystery & Detective / Historical
Fiction / Romance / Historical / Regency
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
This dazzling new Victorian mystery from USA Today bestselling author Karen Odden introduces readers to Nell Hallam, a determined young pianist who stumbles upon the operations of a notorious—and deadly—crime ring while illicitly working as the piano player in a Soho music hall. Perfect for readers of Tasha Alexander, Anne Perry, and Deanna Raybourn.

Nineteen-year-old Nell Hallam lives in a modest corner of Mayfair with her brother Matthew, an inspector at Scotland Yard. An exceptionally talented pianist, she aspires to attend the Royal Academy; but with tuition beyond their means, Nell sets out to earn the money herself—by playing piano in a popular Soho music hall. And the fact that she will have to disguise herself as a man and slip out at night to do it doesn’t deter her.

Spending evenings at the Octavian is like entering an alternate world, one of lively energy, fascinating performers, raucous patrons—and dark secrets. And when Nell stumbles upon the operations of an infamous crime ring working in the shadows of the music hall, she is drawn into a conspiracy that stretches the length of London. To further complicate matters, she has begun to fall for the hall owner's charismatic son, Jack, who has secrets of his own.

The more Nell becomes a part of the Octavian’s world, the more she risks the relationships with the people she loves. And when another performer is left for dead in an alley as a warning, she realizes her future could be in jeopardy in more ways than one.

Steeped in history and filled with heart-wrenching twists, The Stolen Marriage is an emotionally captivating novel of secrets, betrayals, prejudice, and forgiveness. It showcases Diane Chamberlain at the top of her talent.

One mistake, one fateful night, and Tess DeMello’s life is changed forever.

It is 1944. Pregnant, alone, and riddled with guilt, twenty-three-year-old Tess DeMello abruptly gives up her budding career as a nurse and ends her engagement to the love of her life, unable to live a lie. Instead, she turns to the baby’s father for help and agrees to marry him, moving to the small, rural town of Hickory, North Carolina. Tess’s new husband, Henry Kraft, is a secretive man who often stays out all night, hides money from his new wife, and shows her no affection. Tess quickly realizes she’s trapped in a strange and loveless marriage with no way out.

The people of Hickory love and respect Henry but see Tess as an outsider, treating her with suspicion and disdain. When one of the town’s golden girls dies in a terrible accident, everyone holds Tess responsible. But Henry keeps his secrets even closer now, though it seems that everyone knows something about him that Tess does not.

When a sudden polio epidemic strikes Hickory, the townspeople band together to build a polio hospital. Tess knows she is needed and defies Henry’s wishes to begin working at there. Through this work, she begins to find purpose and meaning. Yet at home, Henry’s actions grow more alarming by the day. As Tess works to save the lives of her patients, can she untangle the truth behind her husband’s mysterious behavior and find the love—and the life—she was meant to have?

A Library Reads Top Ten Book of October 2017

Praise for The Stolen Marriage:

"[A] well-crafted crime-tinged tale." —Publishers Weekly

"The Stolen Marriage is the kind of story that will grab you and refuse to let you go until you turn the last page." —All About Romance

"Readers will be sucked in immediately...you just can't go wrong with a book with [Chamberlain's] name on the cover." —Southern Pines Pilot

©2019 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.