The New Family: A completely gripping and addictive psychological thriller with a jaw-dropping twist

· Bookouture
4.3
21 reviews
Ebook
378
Pages
Eligible

About this ebook

OMG, OMG, OMG. Run, do not walk to read this psych thriller. Do what you must do. One-click it, buy it, find itREAD IT!… It has absolutely everythingyou HAVE TO READ IT!Straight to the top of my best reads of the year list.’ Fireflies and Free Kicks


You just met your new neighbours, but they already know you…

 

As I open the door to the house I grew up in, I take in the family photos I haven’t looked at since my sister died. It will never be the happy place it once was, not since that night twenty years ago. Renting it to a new family is a fresh start, and single dad Oliver and his sweet son Finley seem like the perfect fit.

 

Calling by the house, I notice how few belongings they have; no toys for Finley or pictures of his mother. Why does Oliver shut down when I ask him about his life? And who is the man I see him arguing with in the street? I thought he was a stranger to this small town…

 

Fearing for Finley’s safety, I let myself inside in search of answers. But the smiling face in the photo I find hidden in Oliver’s bedroom chills me to my core. He knows exactly who I am and all the secrets of my past. Breath catches in my throat. Is my life now in terrible danger?

 

The New Family is an addictive psychological thriller with a twist you won’t see coming, perfect for fans of The Wife, The Silent Patient and Lisa Jewell.

 

Why readers love The New Family:

‘I can’t shout loud enough to convey how gripping this book is… It’s unputdownableOMG, jaw-dropping… THIS IS ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS I HAVE READ THIS YEAR!!Stunning.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

 

‘One of the best books that I have read all year… The twist at the end was incredible, I actually gasped out loud. I could not stop reading it.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

 

Oh wow, what a brilliant book. It grabbed me from the first page until the last. I couldn’t put it down.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

 

‘There are twists and turns that could rival a roller coaster! Surprise after surprise kept me rivetedIntense, gripping and very compelling!… A must-read.’ @rubie_reads, 5 stars

 

Brilliant… I read this in one day.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

 

‘Dark, thrilling, and full of moments that take your breath away! … I have been raving about this book… You can’t miss this one!Crafty Fox, 5 stars

 

‘A superb read… Kept me on the edge of my seatExciting, engrossing, a page-turner… Top marks.’ NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars

 

‘I absolutely loved this thriller.’ NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars

 

‘A delicious thriller… I read this over two days, jumping into bed each night to pick up where I left off!… I was thoroughly hooked… I loved this book.’ NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars

 

I loved this book An incredible psychological thriller.’ @Steffanyzimm, 5 stars

 

‘A one-sitting readBrilliant.’ Goodreads reviewer

 

‘Plenty to keep you absorbed!’ NetGalley reviewer

 

Compelling suspense… An immersive read.’ NetGalley reviewer

 

Kept me reading all night.’ Goodreads reviewer

4.3
21 reviews
Shellbee H
November 16, 2021
This is one seriously good book, I can't shout loud enough to convey how gripping this book is. I was completely hooked from the beginning, it's unputdownable and the twists were shocking and unexpected. I loved every single character and they all had depth and their own stories to tell, I especially loved little Finlay, I just wanted to wrap him in cotton wool and not let him go. The plot is consistent throughout and their are no boring parts in at all. The final twist is OMG jaw dropping and I could not have guessed the ending at all, which I tried to do but alas it was SHOCKING and unexpected, I could not read this book fast enough, I thoroughly enjoyed it and I can't wait to see what VJ writes next because she's an outstanding author and she knows how to keep her readers turning the pages until the early hours of the morning. THIS IS ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS I HAVE READ THIS YEAR!! HUGE CONGRATULATIONS to VJ and the brilliant team at Bookouture, this will be a bestseller. I owe a huge THANK YOU to NetGally and Bookouture for ARC, I loved reading it and I really appreciate you allowing me to read this stunning book before publication.
1 person found this review helpful
Did you find this helpful?
Kirsty Whitlock
November 23, 2021
BLOG TOUR REVIEW Review for 'The New Family' by Victoria Jenkins. Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Victoria Jenkins, Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous Publication date 16th November 2021. This is the second book I have read by this author. I have previously read 'First Playdate' and which I highly recommend. I was originally drawn to this book by its beautiful eye catching cover and its intriguing synopsis and title. The synopsis stated that 'The New Family is an addictive psychological thriller with a twist you won’t see coming, perfect for fans of The Wife, The Silent Patient and Lisa Jewell.' I am a huge fan of 'Lisa Jewell' and 'The Wife' so am looking forward to seeing if this lives up to this statement. I am also a huge fan of Victoria and if this is half as good as 'The Playdate' it is sure to be a page turning read. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't
Did you find this helpful?
Laurie Widenmaier
November 23, 2021
Brooke is happy to rent her cottage to a single father and his small son not only because she needs the money but because she finds she likes Oliver and Finley. Finley is a very quiet boy and Brooke begins to grow closer to him and his father but something feels off about them. Oliver never mentions his wife or what has happened to her and Finley never mentions his mother. Tensions build when Brookes home and studio burn to the ground and police believe it to be arson. The story is written in the perspective of two different women and it's not until the explosive end that the connection is finally revealed. This book kept me reading all night to finish, the twists and turns kept me trying to figure out what was happening and where it would end. I highly recommend giving it a read.
1 person found this review helpful
Did you find this helpful?

Rate this book

Tell us what you think.

Reading information

Smartphones and tablets
Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.
Laptops and computers
You can listen to audiobooks purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.
eReaders and other devices
To read on e-ink devices like Kobo eReaders, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Follow the detailed Help Center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.