The Greatest Gift: A Small Town Grayson Family Holiday Story

· Rustic Studio Publishing
8 reviews

About this ebook

A true holiday treat with a tender, heartwarming story that “sets a tone for living the Christmas spirit.”


Experience the wonder of a Grayson family Christmas... 

When Adam Grayson and his sweetheart Rebecca discover two orphans hiding in his sister’s greenhouse on a frigid winter night, they promise to help the boys find a warm, loving home. Adam never suspects that home might be his own. Torn between his desire to help the two orphans and his reluctance to share his new-found family, Adam struggles to become a man of integrity like his father and uncles. If he fails to become an honorable Grayson man or learn the painful life lessons about the true spirit of giving, he risks losing his best friend, his budding romance with Rebecca, and his self-respect. 

“Another fabulous addition to the Grayson Brothers series. How I love these characters and their world. Such a beautiful Christmas story. Loved it!”—Mmoore


*New Cover—same great book! The Greatest Gift is the Clean & Wholesome edition of Sleigh of Hope (Grayson series)

Completely and professionally re-edited for your reading pleasure.

Ratings and reviews

8 reviews
Nancy Stopper
October 8, 2015
A Christmas Promise is a quick easy-read novella that is the "sweet" edition of Sleigh of Hope by Wendy Lindstrom. It's primary focus is on Adam, the adopted son of Duke Grayson. Adam is a sweet boy who has settled in with his new family as Duke's son. He struggles with jealousy and fear of losing the hold on his family when new orphans come to town. I enjoyed seeing the struggles that Adam faces with jealousy and guilt - afraid to lose his family but feeling terrible for not wanting the new kids to live with him. The feelings Adam experiences are real feelings of losing a person's place in their family and with their parents - trying to forge their unique identity in their world. It is really refreshing to watch as he struggles to figure out how to do the right thing while trying not to lose what's important to him. This story also shows how a small town can come together to support their own - from rebuilding a home that burnt down, to delivering wood to families who couldn't heat their houses, and to providing food for those who were hungry. Adam sees the needs in his neighbors, and feeling guilty that he didn't help Leo in the best way possible, turns that into an opportunity to help many people. Adam draws on his experiences of being hungry and and his feelings of being alone to determine how to help his neighbors in Fredonia, and ultimately uses that experience to draw Leo into a closer relationship. I love that Adam is already in love with Rebecca and has decided that he'll marry her. That confidence in his feelings and his future isn't often seen in modern day men and is a refreshing look at how love can be so simple when the complications of life and adulthood can be removed. That said, the author has created children who are as wonderfully-complex, caring, and loving as the adults that support and love them. If children today had even a small amount of the fortitude, honor, and drive that Adam, Rebecca, Leo, and the rest of Fredonia have, our world would be a much better place.
Sheila peterson
October 20, 2015
Good story line with a lesson for us all
1 person found this review helpful

About the author

Wendy Lindstrom is the RITA award-winning and New York Times bestselling author of the Grayson family saga, a captivating series of unforgettable, heartwarming stories about enduring friendships, family bonds, and romantic relationships between strong, complex characters living in a charming small town in America.

Fans of uplifting, binge-worthy historical romance will love Ms. Lindstrom’s popular Grayson series, a #1 storewide bestseller on Barnes and Noble, and a New York Times and USA Today bestselling series. Romantic Times has dubbed her "one of romance's finest writers," and readers rave about her enthralling characters and the "awesome underlying emotional power" of her work. The Grayson series is a must-read for those who love feel-good stories that uplift and warm the heart. Her Second Chance Brides series is for the reader who prefers a sweet and clean read (same books as the Grayson series without the love scenes).

For more information about the author, her books, and to get the behind-the-scenes scoop at her Rustic Studio visit her website at and subscribe to her wonderfully engaging newsletter where she shares photos and personal stories about her beautiful water garden and the magnificent wildlife at her rustic studio, along with her insights on writing, her passion for great books, and other fun topics.

Reading information

Smartphones and tablets
Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.
Laptops and computers
You can listen to audiobooks purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.
eReaders and other devices
To read on e-ink devices like Kobo eReaders, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Follow the detailed Help Center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.