The Secretary: An addictive page turner of school-run revenge

Hachette UK
1
Free sample

The teachers thought they knew her. They were wrong...

A page-turning and deeply compulsive psychological thriller about a school secretary and how dangerous it can be to make enemies at the school gates. For fans of Big Little Lies by Liane Moriarty and The Rumour by Lesley Kara.

When single mum Ruth has a brief fling with Rob, she's mortified to discover that he lied to her. He lied to her, because he's married. Worse still, he's the husband of Janine, head of the PTA at the primary school where Ruth works as secretary, and when the truth of their fling is discovered, Ruth suddenly has a lot of enemies at the school gates.

Threatening texts begin to arrive, rumours abound and the staff room becomes hostile. But when it also starts to affect her son, a student at the school, Ruth realises you can do anything if you convince yourself it's for the sake of your child.

Even murder.

'An addictive page-turner . . . Highly recommended!' Samantha Tonge

'Mind blown! The end was a triumph, absolutely brilliant!' Rona Halsall

'Gripping and powerful! A fantastic read!' Lauren North

'Fast paced and intriguing. I loved The Secretary' Victoria Selman

'School run revenge at its best' Jacqueline Ward

'I couldn't put it down - a gripping read' Mary-Jane Riley

'A well-plotted, twisty-turns tale . . . [A] page turner' Barbara Copperthwaite

'So clever. Reading it as a mother, you can't help but question yourself throughout: Would I do that? Would I go that far?' Laura Pearson

Read more
Collapse

About the author

Zoe Lea lives in the Lake District, UK with her husband, two children, dogs and peregrine falcons. As well as writing, she helps manage an animal tracking company used for raptors and other wildlife. She's previously worked as a teacher, photographer and in the television industry, but writing has always been her passion. The Secretary is her first novel for Little, Brown.
Read more
Collapse
4.0
1 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Hachette UK
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Jun 4, 2019
Read more
Collapse
Pages
368
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9780349422664
Read more
Collapse
Features
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Thrillers / Domestic
Fiction / Thrillers / Suspense
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse
Seller
Google Commerce Ltd
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
You can always trust your best friend... can’t you?

When Rachel discovers a Twitter message arranging a romantic liaison she assumes her husband is having an affair, and follows him. What she witnesses is so much worse: a hit and run using his car.

Meanwhile, Rachel’s friend and business partner Suzie is increasingly worried about her fiancé, who’s not been in touch for days. When Suzie learns of huge debts racked up in her name she fears he has run out on her, but then the threatening calls start and she thinks something terrible has happened.

Rachel and Suzie are both about to learn shocking things about the men they love, worse than they could ever imagine... Can their friendship survive?

Praise for If He Wakes:

'A tense, pulse-quickening tale. If you read the first chapter, you can’t help but read the second. I flew through this perfect summer read of best friends in turmoil in one feverish session.' Paula Daly

'I loved this book. So well written. I found this book unputdownable!!' Reader review

‘Fan Flipping tastic thriller! I was completely hooked from page 1 and could not put this book down!’ 4* Reader review

‘What can I say about this book?!!!!... it was so good. I read it in one day... I couldn't put it down.’ Reader review

‘Amazing book!!!!’ Reader review

‘I raced through this book in a desperate attempt to discover the answers which became darker and more horrific than I could imagine’ Reader review

'I really enjoyed this book from the off!... A real page turner with a twist that will keep you hooked.' Reader review

‘12 stars is possible... This was a brilliant debut novel that had be shocked, surprised, and dumbfounded page after page’ Reader review

‘It was a great storyline and I loved the way that it developed, it was fast flowing and I soon discovered that I was at the end. Well worth a read’ My Love of Reading

‘What a great debut novel and totally great main characters’ 4* Reader review

‘This book needs to be read’ BRMaycock Blog

A deeply compulsive psychological suspense novel about the dangers lurking beneath the world of social media, for fans of Lesley Kara and Cara Hunter.

Fiona Hart is a social media queen. She makes her living by posting images of her 'perfect' life to her fans, but Fiona's life is a sham. She's in debt, her relationship is sour, and the upkeep of her fake world is exhausting.

In a desperate attempt to change, Fiona reaches out to Danielle Farley, a once famous actress and the founder of a missing children's charity. Danielle's own teenage daughter, Samantha, disappeared five years ago, but with no leads the high profile case was soon forgotten.

With Fiona's influence, Samantha's case is soon back in the public eye, and as the success of her campaign builds, so does Fiona's obsession with uncovering the truth. But Fiona is haunted by events in her own past, and as her demons start to surface, Fiona begins to question just what exactly is her influence being used for.

Praise for Zoe Lea:

'An addictive page-turner . . . Highly recommended!' Samantha Tonge

'Mind blown! The end was a triumph, absolutely brilliant!' Rona Halsall

'So clever. Reading it as a mother, you can't help but question yourself throughout: Would I do that? Would I go that far?' Laura Pearson

'Gripping and powerful! A fantastic read!' Lauren North

'Fast paced and intriguing. I loved The Secretary' Victoria Selman

'School run revenge at its best' Jacqueline Ward

'I couldn't put it down - a gripping read' Mary-Jane Riley

'A well-plotted, twisty-turns tale . . . [A] page turner' Barbara Copperthwaite

________________________

"Simon Kernick is an absolute master of the adrenaline-fuelled ride" - PETER JAMES

The new high-octane thriller from Sunday Times bestselling author Simon Kernick
________________________

Alastair Sheridan has it all. Wealth, good looks, a beautiful wife and children and, in the chaotic world of British politics, a real chance of becoming Prime Minister.

But Alastair also has a secret. He’s a serial killer with a taste for young women.

Only a handful of people know what kind of monster he is, and disgraced detective Ray Mason is one of them.

Awaiting trial for murder, Ray is unexpectedly broken free by armed men and given an offer: assassinate Alastair Sheridan and begin a new life abroad with a new identity. The men claim to be from MI6. They say that Sheridan is a threat to national security and needs to be neutralised. Ray knows they are not who they say they are, and that their real motives are far darker.

The only person Ray trusts is ex-cop and former lover Tina Boyd, who’s keen to settle her own scores with Sheridan.

With enemies on every side, only one thing is certain.

No one wants them to get out alive.
________________________
"Simon Kernick is one of the most reliable purveyors of the edge-of-your-seat thriller... a more powerful adrenaline rush than an EpiPen" - JAKE KERRIDGE, SUNDAY EXPRESS

"An emotionally punchy domestic noir blended with the pace and action of a high-octane thriller, WE CAN SEE YOU will keep you breathlessly on the edge of your seat, wondering which character you can trust, if any at all, until the final brilliant twist! A #WTFthatending indeed!" - SARAH PINBOROUGH, author of BEHIND HER EYES and CROSS HER HEART

"A pacy thriller, with a body count that rises along with the tension levels" – SUNDAY MIRROR

"Simon Kernick manages to ring fresh changes (and revelations) at every point... He remains one of the most consistently suspenseful and ingenious writers in the field" – FINANCIAL TIMES

"Thriller-meister Simon Kernick’s standalone books are always worth picking up – and his latest is no exception" – SUNDAY SPORT

©2020 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United KingdomLanguage: English (United States)All prices include VAT.
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.