The Last to See Me: A Novel

Skyhorse Publishing Inc.
2

Book Pipeline 2017 Grand Prize Winner
Winner of the Audiofile Magazine 2018 Earphones Award for Fiction


For fans of Lauren Oliver and Kazuo Ishiguro, The Last to See Me is a spellbinding American ghost story deftly weaving past and present into an unforgettable narrative about a young woman's fight for a life of her own—long after her life is over.

Over one hundred years ago, Emma Rose Finnis was born and died in the remote northern California town she now haunts. When she was alive, she was a lowly chambermaid and worse, a Finnis. Now, no one remembers her hardworking life and her grand dreams—because there are none left to remember. In a world where phantoms are considered "unclean," the spirits of her town have already been swept away. All except Emma Rose.

But when a determined hunter arrives with instructions to extinguish her once and for all, Emma Rose refuses to be hounded from her haunt, the stately Lambry Mansion. She's earned her place and she’ll keep it—even if it means waging a war on the living. After all, she's got nothing left to lose. The same might not be said for those who still enjoy the luxury of a breath . . .
Read more
Collapse

About the author

M Dressler’s work has been praised by the New York Times as “splendid” and by Library Journal as the writing of a “natural-born storyteller.” She is the critically-acclaimed author of novels, novellas, and essays, and her stories and nonfiction have appeared in the Kenyon Review, Creative Nonfiction, and Lit Hub, among others. Her honors include the Fulbright Fellowship and the Paisano Fellowship in Literature, as well as writing residencies at Hedgebrook and the Carson McCullers Center. She is a professor and current writer-in-residence at Guilford College in North Carolina. She lives in Greensboro, North Carolina and in Moab, Utah.
Read more
Collapse
4.0
2 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Skyhorse Publishing Inc.
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Sep 5, 2017
Read more
Collapse
Pages
304
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9781510720688
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Ghost
Fiction / Historical / General
Fiction / Literary
Fiction / Occult & Supernatural
Fiction / Psychological
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
©2019 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.