The Secret Signal

Hal Junior

Book 1
Bowman Press
Free sample

The Secret Signal is the first book in a thrilling new series by award-winning author, Simon Haynes.

No swearing and no adult concepts ... just good clean fun.

Ten-year-old Hal Junior lives with his mum and dad aboard a space station orbiting planet Gyris, along with a large crew of scientists and his best mate, Stephen "Stinky" Binn.

Hal's way smarter than the adults on board, but instead of flying spaceships or inventing killer robots, what do they have him doing? Chores!

Worse, someone thought it would be a great idea if Hal attended school!

Chores and homework. Could life get any duller?

Not today! Hal's class is set to tour a visiting spaceship. He's disappointed it doesn't have guns, missiles, torpedoes and space mines... but it's still an excursion!

Aboard the visiting ship, Hal uncovers a secret plot. A plot involving kidnappings, sabotage and more. He tries to warn the scientists aboard the space station he calls home — but as usual, nobody believes him!
Well, Hal's not giving up that easily.

He decides the only way to save everyone is to deal with the evil plotters himself — using a giant, home-made space cannon!


Keywords: funny books for boys 9-12, kids books for age 9 and up, scifi for kids, children's sci fi

Read more

About the author

Australian author Simon Haynes is best known for the Hal Spacejock series, originally published by Fremantle Press and distributed by Penguin Australia. He was working on the fifth Spacejock title when he decided to write a science fiction series for younger readers.

The Hal Junior series is written in a similar style to the adult Hal Spacejock books, except the Hal Junior titles are shorter and feature a younger protagonist. In other words, most adults will enjoy these books too!

Read more
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Bowman Press
Read more
Published on
Oct 1, 2011
Read more
Pages
200
Read more
Language
English
Read more
Genres
Juvenile Fiction / Action & Adventure / General
Juvenile Fiction / Science Fiction
Read more
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
Strange new planets, ancient civilisations, teleporters, killer robots, super computers, jet bikes and subterfuge galore!

Hal Spacejock’s cargo business is going so well he’s considering getting into passengers ... especially the beautiful and mysterious Sonya Polarov.
Meanwhile, Rex Curtis runs the galaxy’s biggest freight company, and he’s sick of independent pilots stealing his cargo jobs. He’s determined to make a statement by destroying the biggest nuisance of them all: Hal Spacejock. And all he has to do is ensure Hal’s latest cargo job ends in disaster.
Unaware of the threat and distracted by Sonya, Hal’s time-sensitive cargo sits aboard his ship while the deadline looms ever closer. If he doesn’t get a move on, the late fees will ruin him ... and cost him his life into the bargain.

Set in the distant future, where humanity spans the galaxy and robots are second-class citizens, Second Course is the second novel in the Hal Spacejock series.

This title is also available in Omnibus One, a collection of the first three Hal Spacejock novels. That's usually a better deal than buying the books individually.
 

Hal Spacejock novels are self-contained, with a beginning, a middle and a proper ending. They're not sequels, they don't end on a cliffhanger, and you could start or end your journey with any book in the series. (Some events from earlier books are referenced in later ones, so it makes sense to read them in order, but it's not essential.)

These comedy scifi novels are perfect for fans of Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy, Doctor Who, Space Team, Space Police, and Red Dwarf.

Keywords: sci fi book, sci fi books, lost civilization, alien teleporter network, lost city, space books, robot books

Madeleine L'Engle's ground-breaking science fiction and fantasy classic, soon to be a major motion picture.

It was a dark and stormy night; Meg Murry, her small brother Charles Wallace, and her mother had come down to the kitchen for a midnight snack when they were upset by the arrival of a most disturbing stranger.

"Wild nights are my glory," the unearthly stranger told them. "I just got caught in a downdraft and blown off course. Let me sit down for a moment, and then I'll be on my way. Speaking of ways, by the way, there is such a thing as a tesseract."

A tesseract (in case the reader doesn't know) is a wrinkle in time. To tell more would rob the reader of the enjoyment of Miss L'Engle's unusual book. A Wrinkle in Time, winner of the Newbery Medal in 1963, is the story of the adventures in space and time of Meg, Charles Wallace, and Calvin O'Keefe (athlete, student, and one of the most popular boys in high school). They are in search of Meg's father, a scientist who disappeared while engaged in secret work for the government on the tesseract problem.

A Wrinkle in Time is the winner of the 1963 Newbery Medal. It is the first book in The Time Quintet, which consists of A Wrinkle in Time, A Wind in the Door, A Swiftly Tilting Planet, Many Waters, and An Acceptable Time.

A Wrinkle in Time is soon to be a movie from Disney, directed by Ava DuVernay, starring Storm Reid, Oprah Winfrey, Reese Witherspoon and Mindy Kaling.

This title has Common Core connections.

Books by Madeleine L'Engle

A Wrinkle in Time Quintet
A Wrinkle in Time
A Wind in the Door
A Swiftly Tilting Planet
Many Waters
An Acceptable Time

A Wrinkle in Time: The Graphic Novel by Madeleine L'Engle; adapted & illustrated by Hope Larson

Intergalactic P.S. 3 by Madeleine L'Engle; illustrated by Hope Larson: A standalone story set in the world of A Wrinkle in Time.

The Austin Family Chronicles
Meet the Austins (Volume 1)
The Moon by Night (Volume 2)
The Young Unicorns (Volume 3)
A Ring of Endless Light (Volume 4) A Newbery Honor book!
Troubling a Star (Volume 5)

The Polly O'Keefe books
The Arm of the Starfish
Dragons in the Waters
A House Like a Lotus

And Both Were Young

Camilla

The Joys of Love

Full of sarcasm, wit, paybacks and humorous dialog. A fun-filled read for all ages!

Hal Spacejock has a problem. His cargo hold is packed with expensive food, and the freezer equipment he bought from Bent Jimmy's bargain bin has just failed ... exactly as Clunk predicted.

Hal needs replacement parts before the cargo rots, and he's forced to abandon his precious ship at the spaceport to go looking for them.

Which is a pity, because a secret agent has just decided Hal's ship will be ideal for her mission ... with or without his permission.

Can Hal find the new parts and return before it's too late, or will he lose his ship, his cargo and his livelihood ... again?

Set in the distant future, where humanity spans the galaxy and robots are second-class citizens, Just Desserts is the third novel in the Hal Spacejock series. Book four, No Free Lunch, is also available.

This title is also available in Omnibus One, a collection of the first three Hal Spacejock novels. That's usually a better deal than buying the books individually.


Hal Spacejock novels are self-contained, with a beginning, a middle and a proper ending. They're not sequels, they don't end on a cliffhanger, and you could start or end your journey with any book in the series. (Some events from earlier books are referenced in later ones, so it makes sense to read them in order, but it's not essential.)

These comedy scifi novels are perfect for fans of Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy, Doctor Who, Space Team, Space Police, and Red Dwarf.
 

Keywords: funny scifi series

©2018 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.