Hush Little Girl: An absolutely gripping mystery and suspense thriller

· Detective Josie Quinn Book 11 · Bookouture
4.6
59 reviews
Ebook
350
Pages
Eligible

About this ebook

Dressed in pajamas covered with stars, the little girl’s body is perfectly still, her arms folded neatly over her chest. The wildflowers decorating her hair scatter across the grass in the sharp breeze. Her lips are parted slightly, as if to whisper goodnight for the very last time…


When twelve-year-old Holly Mitchell’s fragile little body is found on the steps of a mountainside church in the small town of Denton, a doll made from pine cones clasped tightly to her chest, Detective Josie Quinn rushes to attend the scene. She knows this little girl’s angelic face, her mother had offered Josie help when she’d needed it most.


Searching the girl’s house, Josie is devastated to find that Holly’s mother is dead too, and her little sister is missing. But why has this family home been stripped of all sharp objects? Re-tracing her steps, Josie finally finds a secret hiding place with Holly’s sister inside, terrified, but alive. Moments later, another doll made of twigs turns up.


Certain the killer is close by, Josie holds the little girl tight and tries to coax answers from her, but it’s clear the pile of burnt photographs and letters found in the greenhouse is her only lead. No one is safe until Josie can figure out the dangerous secret that has escaped this remote family home.


Just when Josie is finally closing in on the killer, the unthinkable happens, a tragedy that shakes her to her very core. And on the windshield of her car: a third wooden doll. Could stopping this twisted monster from taking more innocent lives come at the ultimate price for Josie?


An absolutely gripping rollercoaster ride of a crime thriller from an Amazon, USA Today and Wall Street Journal bestselling author. Perfect for fans of Angela Marsons, Robert Dugoni and Rachel Caine.


Readers love Lisa Regan:


Absolutely brilliant!!!! One hell of a rollercoaster ride, with so many twists and turns it'll make you dizzy!! It's energetic, exciting, thrilling and nerve-wracking!!… will have you shouting O.M.G. at every page!!’ Stardust Book Reviews, 5 stars


Brilliant, nail-biting, rollercoaster of a ride… There were times I gasped "Oh No!" and shed a few tears… a super novel.’ NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars


Wow! Great story. There was one moment where I completely froze in shock… Can’t wait for the next one!’ Rachel Owl Books, 5 stars


‘An absolutely brilliant book. I was totally gripped from the first page. Full of intrigue and psychological thrills. A really fast-paced book. The ending is a total wow!!’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars


Wow, what a rollercoaster of a thrill ride! Absolutely loved this book it had me hooked from page one… five stars.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars


Holy crap… The twist in this book is one I never saw coming.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars


Wow, wow, wow! blew me away… so much nail-biting actionI really thought I was going to have no nails left by the end of this book… Just loved it so much.’ Blue Moon Blogger, 5 stars

4.6
59 reviews
Cathy Geha
April 14, 2021
Hush Little Girl by Lisa Regan Detective Josie Quinn #11 Excellent, thought provoking, intricately woven story with twists, turns, red herrings and so many complications to overcome – this story grabbed my attention and kept it till the very end! What I liked: * The foreshadowing in the first scene * The wedding plans coming to fruition for Lisa and Noah * Josie: dedicated, empathetic, complicated, professional, loving, good leader, tenacious, perfect for Noah * Noah: stalwart, dependable, professional, dedicated, loving, loving, perfect for and with Josie * Seeing Josie’s family and the part some played in the story * The police procedural aspects of the story * Sawyer: I find him interesting and want to know how his story will play out * Emily: tough cookie, only eight, felt for her * Pax: more to him than his father and others gave him credit for * Rory: complicated character that I felt for but could also fear * The complexity of the case… * All the interwoven strands that had to be untangled and eventually were tied together * Being drawn in and feeling a part of the story * Josie’s team and getting to see how they were doing * All of it really except… What I didn’t like: * The person I was meant to dislike…easy to do and definitely found the person reprehensible * The choices Lorelei made that had, in my opinion, a negative impact on many * The loss of some lives that should have been able to live longer * Having to wait for the next book Did I enjoy this book? Yes Would I read more in this series? Definitely Thank you to NetGalley and Bookouture for the ARC – This is my honest review. 5 Stars
4 people found this review helpful
Did you find this helpful?
Alicia Toovey
April 14, 2021
I would like to thank Bookouture for the ARC of Hush Little Girl by Lisa Regan. This is the first book that I have read of Lisa Regan and I cannot believe I waited this long to read one of her books. Hush Little Girl is the eleventh novel of the Detective Josie Quinn series. When I requested this book I did not realize at first it was a part of a series and I was a little concerned that I would be completely lost. Lisa Regan did an impressive job of writing this book as its own story and has intrigued me to go back to the beginning of this series and read them all. Josie Quinn is a Detective in Denton, Pennsylvania. When a twelve-year-old girl is found, presumably murdered, on the front steps of a local church, Josie is there to investigate. Upon the girl's chest is an eerie doll made of pinecones. When Josie sees her face she is shocked and realizes that she recognizes this girl, Holly Mitchell. A few months prior, Holly's mom, Lorelei, had stopped to help Josie, who was stranded on the side of the road after hitting a deer. Josie heads to Lorelei's house to break the terrible news and it is apparent right away that something is wrong. Inside she discovers Lorelei is also dead, and Lorelei's youngest daughter Emily is missing. Emily is eventually found, hiding in a secret hideout in the wall. Soon enough they discover another pinecone doll. "It means he's sorry" Emily soon says. Josie attempts to get more information from Emily she refuses to tell Josie who it is she is referring to. As Josie continues to investigate a tragedy befalls her family. Stricken with grief Josie realizes that she is running out of time and tries to concentrate on solving this case. Will Josie discover the truth before the killer strikes again? Even though this was the eleventh book in the Detective Josie Quinn series I was pulled right into this intense and interesting story. Lisa Regan does a great job of writing in such a way that I was able to pick up this book and not feel lost or that I was missing big chunks from the past. The writing in itself was consistent and clear. I felt emotionally involved with the characters, especially Josie. Detective Josie Quinn was a strong and brave character. Even when the case became personal for her, she was able to hold her head high and persevere. She connected with Emily right away and was able to gain her trust. Because of her own traumatic past, she can relate to and connect with those around her. The little pine cone dolls being left added elements of mystery and suspense to the story. At first, they seemed kind of creepy but as we learn the symbolism behind them they don't seem so menacing. This book left me wanting more! I did not want it to end and lucky for me I can go back to the very beginning and read more! Lisa Regan has captured my attention and I can't wait to read her other books.
13 people found this review helpful
Did you find this helpful?
Jean Boylan
April 25, 2021
This book started with 25 0r more ,blank pages, then I read maybe 10 pages...then blank again, story is probably very good..but I stopped again ,more blank..any one else??
2 people found this review helpful
Did you find this helpful?

Rate this book

Tell us what you think.

Reading information

Smartphones and tablets
Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.
Laptops and computers
You can listen to audiobooks purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.
eReaders and other devices
To read on e-ink devices like Kobo eReaders, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Follow the detailed Help Center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.