A Portion of Dragon and Chips

Dragon and Chips

Book 1
Bowman Press
3
Free sample

Dodge dragons, fight knights, help halflings ... it's tough being a robot in a medieval kingdom.
Worst of all, there's nowhere to recharge!


Welcome to the Old Kingdom!
Clunk, an elderly robot, just plunged into the sea off the coast of the Old Kingdom, and if he knew what was coming next he'd sit down on the ocean floor and wait for rescue.

Dragged onto the beach, coughing up seaweed, salty water and stray pieces of jellyfish, he's taken to the nearby city of Chatter's Reach, where he's given a sword and told to fight the Queen's Champion, Sur Loyne.

As if that wasn't bad enough, the locals still think the wheel is a pretty nifty idea, and Clunk's chances of finding spare parts - or his missing memory modules - are nil.

Still, Clunk is an optimist, and it's not long before he's embarking on a quest to find his way home.

Unfortunately it's going to be a very tough ask, given the lack of charging points in the medieval kingdom...

 This is the first novel in a three book series. Each book in the series continues plot lines and character arcs from the previous title, with everything wrapping up in book three. 


This parody is perfect for fans of Game of Thrones, Terry Pratchett's Discworld, Jasper Fforde and Tom Holt!

No sex, no swearing, just good clean fun suitable for adults and young adults alike. A humorous fantasy novel with dragons, wizards, elves, dwarves ... and a robot! Sure, there's a touch of dark humor, or humour, but it's all in the best possible taste.

 Keywords: Humorous fantasy novel, book one in a trilogy, fantasy comedy book, fantasy humour, clean fantasy novels, young adult fantasy, ya comedy, parody novel, fantasy comedy novels, medieval humour, wizard humor, robot books

Read more
Collapse

About the author

Simon Haynes is the british-born, australian author of the Hal Spacejock, Harriet Walsh, Robot vs Dragons and Hal Junior series, as well as a number of short stories. His work typically features an underdog fighting for survival against far stronger opponents.

Simon is a huge fan of Isaac Asimov's work, in particular the robot novels and the Foundation series. He also enjoys dry, witty comedy, and loves satire.


 

Read more
Collapse
4.7
3 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Bowman Press
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Aug 20, 2018
Read more
Collapse
Pages
350
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9781877034336
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Fantasy / Action & Adventure
Fiction / Fantasy / Dragons & Mythical Creatures
Fiction / Fantasy / Epic
Fiction / Fantasy / General
Fiction / Fantasy / Humorous
Fiction / Humorous / General
Young Adult Fiction / Fantasy / Epic
Young Adult Fiction / Fantasy / General
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM free.
Read more
Collapse
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
NOW A #1 BESTSELLER



His name is Farden.

They whisper that he’s dangerous.

Dangerous is only the half of it.



"Galley's imagination is a truly beautiful thing. The plot here is rich and intricate, and the characters are a delight... I believe Mr Galley may well be one to watch.”

– Fantasy Bytes


"Harry Potter meets Lord of the Rings."

– NottingHarp, Amazon Reviewer


"There are certain twists that will surprise the reader by genuinely coming out of the left field.”

– Fantasy Book Critic 


"Absolutely one of my most favorite series ever."

– Amie Eckelmann


"Ben Galley is not yet as good an author as Gemmell but the thing that I find exciting is that I honestly think that he could be.”

– Fantasy Book Review



--------------------



A spellbook has gone missing from the libraries of Arfell – a very old and extremely powerful spellbook from the time of dark elves and demons. Five scholars are dead, the magick council is running out of time and options, and the Arka is once again on the brink of war with the Siren dragon-riders. 


It falls to Farden the Written mage to keep the world from falling into chaos. Entangled in a web of lies and politics, Farden must recover the spellbook before an ancient enemy rises, even if it takes journeying halfway across icy Emaneska and back.



In his fight for answers, Farden will unearth a secret that not only shakes the foundations of his world, but threaten the entire future of Emaneska. Sorcery, death, drugs and the deepest of betrayals await.


Welcome to Emaneska.



--------------------



The Written is the first volume in The Emaneska Series and the debut book of dark and epic fantasy author Ben Galley. Packed with magic and monsters, gods and demons, The Written is perfect for fans of Brandon Sanderson, Robin Hobb, and George R.R. Martin.

The next books in the epic Emaneska Series – Pale Kings, Dead Stars - Part One, and Dead Stars - Part Two – are also now available in eBook and paperback. You can follow Ben on Twitter and YouTube @BenGalley, on Facebook and Instagram at @BenGalleyAuthor or find his other fantasy books at bengalley.com.

The sky is falling. 

The world trembles beneath it.

Emaneska is crying out for a saviour.


Somebody is hunting down the Written mages in the wilds. Murdering and skinning them alive. Who? A mere girl. A girl who was born to rip the stars from the sky and bring them crashing down to earth. The direst enemy Emaneska has ever faced.


In the wake of the Battle of Krauslung, the world has changed. For the darker. For the stranger. Magic swells like a storm, spilling from the stunned lips of farmboys and milkmaids, burning spell books to cinders at the lightest of touches.


As Krauslung unknowingly balances on a knife-edge, tension mounts. Insidious whispers have begun to spread, drawing new enemies to the surface. Discontent, fear, betrayal... it seems that the girl is not the only enemy Emaneska faces.


Who can stand in their way? Will it be a pair of struggling Arkmages, one blind, one Written? An Albion maid, on the cusp of her wedding day? Three shadows of gods? Or will it be a ghost, a bloody rumour, lost in a dark world of murder and bitter memories? One question above all lingers on their lips: where in Emaneska is Farden?


--------------------


Dead Stars - Part One is the third book in Ben Galley's epic Emaneska Series, and the first book of its brutal two-part finale. If you want to find out more about The Emaneska Series, you can follow Ben on Twitter and YouTube @BenGalley, on Facebook and Instagram at @BenGalleyAuthor, or find all his epic and dark fantasy books at bengalley.com.

Contains Hal Spacejock books 7-9 plus Albion.

Hal Spacejock 7: Big Bang

A house clearance job sounds like easy money, but rising floodwaters, an unstable landscape and a surprise find are going to make life very difficult for Hal and Clunk.

Hal Spacejock 8: Double Trouble

Hal Spacejock lands on planet Alteia, where he's so distracted by his own problems that he forgets to collect Clunk from the luggage rack. Not to worry, because a couple of old friends free Clunk from the spaceport ... only to reveal a great big ulterior motive: they want him to join their gang... er, group.

Meanwhile, Hal's remembered his trusty co-pilot at last ... but only because everyone's trying to kill him, and Clunk is big and metal and bulletproof-ish.

Hal Spacejock 9: Max Damage

Hal and Clunk answer a distress call, and they discover a fellow pilot stranded deep inside an asteroid field. Clunk is busy at the controls, dodging incoming rocks, so Hal dons a spacesuit, takes the jetbike and sets off on a heroic rescue mission.

If he'd only known the trouble he was getting himself into, he wouldn't have bothered...

Hal Spacejock: Albion

Hal takes an odd call from a team of scientists, and minutes later he and Clunk are boarding a shuttle for the nearby orbiter. Turns out the scientists need some vital information, and only Hal can help.

Before long he's embroiled in a new adventure, and this one's really dangerous.

Albion is a novella set in the Hal Spacejock universe. This story follows directly after Hal Spacejock 8: Double Trouble, and should be read after that novel.

Omnibus One and Omnibus Two are also available.

Keywords: scific, british scifi, funny science fiction novel, science fiction action adventure humor, science fiction comedy adventure, science fiction books, scifi ebooks, scifi bargain, science fiction omnibus, robot books, red dawrf, box set, boxed set

©2019 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.