Insurmountable Odds: Book One of When Stars Fall

Mak Studios Limited
Free sample

The Sulranian Empire is the largest, and most stable ruling body every to grace the Dominium globular cluster. Spread across 30,000 star systems, it is benevolent, largely peaceful, and has reigned supreme for millennia. 

When they lose contact with a system at the edge of the Empire, they quickly realise nothing will ever be the same again.

Nelsen Rybek, a Captain of Imperial Naval Intelligence, finds himself an unwitting companion to Andreya, a woman with no idea who she is, both caught up in the pivotal moment which threatens to push this mighty Empire into a war it cannot possibly hope to win.

Together with their formidable stealth ship, the Valkyr Sneak Thief, somehow they have to unravel the mystery of this implacable foe, whose numbers defy all odds, and whose actions defy all logic. There are no threats, no parley, do demands, just devastation and ruin.

As the Empire strives to contain the escalating destruction, they find every single technological advancement they can bring to bear against this new enemy is rendered futile, and virtually worthless as the enemy seize control of their fleets, and slaughter their crews without pause.

Insurmountable Odds is part one of the trilogy, When Stars Fall - an epic saga set in the Dominium computer game universe - and is the culmination of a 20,000 year long backstory that will change the nature and shape of the Dominium Globular Cluster forever.

They have no idea what's coming...

Read more

About the author

 Born in 1972, Martin grew up in the first era of Personal Computing, when storage media was largely spools of magnetic tape, and has been addicted since the Sinclair ZX81. The seminal Star Wars Trilogy (IV, V & VI) figured highly in drawing him into the realm of science fiction, something he has been as passionate about ever since. He often cites that 'games are in my blood', if so, then the plasma that carries the games is made from science-fiction.

Exceedingly happily married, with two step-children, numerous step-grand-children, and three pseudo-children (dogs), Martin is content to let others populate the Earth with future generations, whilst he selfishly concentrates on his love of creating games and writing books, which - he hopes - will entertain some of the growing population of Earth, for a while at least, and earn a few shekles if he's lucky. He enjoys thinking about hiking, mountain climbing, flying aircraft, and doing lots of exciting things that require money to risk death.

To sum up Martin's outlook on Life, the Universe and Everything - he strongly believes the answer may well indeed be 42, though possibly with a large degree of error.

Read more


2 total

Additional Information

Mak Studios Limited
Read more
Published on
Sep 18, 2015
Read more
Read more
Read more
Read more
Fiction / Science Fiction / Space Opera
Read more
Content Protection
This content is DRM free.
Read more
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
Ernest Cline
Douglas Adams
In one complete volume, here are the five classic novels from Douglas Adams’s beloved Hitchhiker series.

The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy
Seconds before the Earth is demolished for a galactic freeway, Arthur Dent is saved by Ford Prefect, a researcher for the revised Guide. Together they stick out their thumbs to the stars and begin a wild journey through time and space.

The Restaurant at the End of the Universe
The moment before annihilation at the hands of warmongers is a curious time to crave tea. It could only happen to the cosmically displaced Arthur Dent and his comrades as they hurtle across the galaxy in a desperate search for a place to eat.

Life, the Universe and Everything
The unhappy inhabitants of planet Krikkit are sick of looking at the night sky– so they plan to destroy it. The universe, that is. Now only five individuals can avert Armageddon: mild-mannered Arthur Dent and his stalwart crew.

So Long, and Thanks for All the Fish
Back on Earth, Arthur Dent is ready to believe that the past eight years were all just a figment of his stressed-out imagination. But a gift-wrapped fishbowl with a cryptic inscription thrusts him back to reality. So to speak.

Mostly Harmless
Just when Arthur Dent makes the terrible mistake of starting to enjoy life, all hell breaks loose. Can he save the Earth from total obliteration? Can he save the Guide from a hostile alien takeover? Can he save his daughter from herself?

Includes the bonus story “Young Zaphod Plays It Safe”

“With droll wit, a keen eye for detail and heavy doses of insight . . . Adams makes us laugh until we cry.”—San Diego Union-Tribune

“Lively, sharply satirical, brilliantly written . . . ranks with the best set pieces in Mark Twain.”—The Atlantic
©2018 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.