The Alexandria Project, a Tale of Treachery and Technology: A Frank Adversego Thriller

Starboard Rock Press
38

Cybersecurity super-sleuth Frank Adversego finds himself trapped in a power play between the FBI and the CIA as the nation teeters on the brink of nuclear annihilation. Only by defeating the Alexandria Project can he clear himself. "One of the best action thrillers I've read in years!"

"THE ALEXANDRIA PROJECT is fiction that cuts close to the bone. But where George Orwell envisioned 1984 from the safety of thirty-five years out, the future that Updegrove describes may already be upon us. That's what makes it dangerous, and that's what makes THE ALEXANDRIA PROJECT an important as well as riveting read."
- Dan Geer, CHIEF INFORMATION SECURITY OFFICER, In-Q-Tel
Read more
Collapse

About the author

Andrew Updegrove, an attorney, has been representing technology companies for more than thirty years and works with many of the organizations seeking to thwart cyber-attacks before they occur. A graduate of Yale University and the Cornell University Law School, he lives in Marblehead, Massachusetts.

Read more
Collapse
4.4
38 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Starboard Rock Press
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Jan 9, 2016
Read more
Collapse
Pages
268
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9781457509285
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Thrillers / Espionage
Fiction / Thrillers / Political
Fiction / Thrillers / Suspense
Fiction / Thrillers / Technological
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM free.
Read more
Collapse
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
The man wasn't worried about attracting attention. Because he wasn't doing anything wrong. Oh, ultimately he was doing something very wrong. He smiled at the thought of it. But now he was just waiting and watching. Watching for a particular little girl....The man looked again at the photograph. The last piece was in place. Everything was a perfect match.

The town of Ripton Falls, where the Richardson family comes to settle, is idyllic: nestled in the Berkshires, it boasts a stunning village green, large old houses, and a breathtaking setting. It is perfect for Hal and Judy Richardson and their nine-year-old daughter, Annie. Recruited overnight fro a frustrating job in Los Angeles by the Hilliards, Ripton Falls' oldest family, they and several other families join the Hilliards' privately owned firm in what seems a stroke of good luck. They are happier than they have been in years.

But then the accidents begin. None is fatal, and some are so slight as to seem frivolous. It is Judy Richardson who first notices the disturbing and unmistakable pattern emerging as one by one the children of the new families are singled out. An obscure reference to a centuries-old legend begins to take on meaning for her--a legend about seven other children, children apparently so evil that the town had to erase from its history all record of their existence. As July and Hal's suspicions grow, speculation turns to realization and then to horror: Thy have been brought to Ripton Falls for a specific reason and for one reason and for one reason only: for their daughter, Annie.
A high tech space opera set in a dystopian future society where humanity faces its greatest challenge ever.

Exodus is the first installment of the Exodus Trilogy.


When mankind faces extinction, how can anyone survive?

In 2072, Earth faces the ultimate extinction event. In an America turned authoritarian, a race against time begins. To send a starship to a distant planet, where the remains of humanity can survive. Only a small number will be chosen for this final endeavor to save mankind from extinction, and among the contenders only the most resourceful will have a chance.

But while the government wants to choose loyal subjects in order to create another version of the society they have engineered, there are those who secretly conspire to let the starfarers choose their own destiny, free from the bonds of their mother world.

As mankind on Earth faces its final blow, the selected few set course for Aurora, more than 40 light years away!

Follow Tina Hammer, scramjet pilot and officer, Kenneth Taylor, Harvard professor and alienated by the nation he once held so dear, Maria Solis, daughter to one of the richest men in the world, a girl who would never have been chosen, except for her dad's money, on their various paths toward the greatest adventure in human history.

Accolades for Exodus:

"Wow! I was truly impressed by this book. I love when science fiction writers combine science, politics and psychology. For me the mix was just right"

"This book is science fiction in great form. It doesn't just make you think about the future, it really makes you think about the world around you today"

"A race through the end of the Earth - excellent SF"

The Exodus Trilogy:
Book 1, EXODUS (2012)
Book 2, AURORA (2013)
Book 3, GENESIS (2014)

Also related:
ALIVE, an Exodus companion novella (2013)

 David Ryan is the designer of ELOPe, an email language optimization program, that if successful, will make his career. But when the project is suddenly in danger of being canceled, David embeds a hidden directive in the software accidentally creating a runaway artificial intelligence.David and his team are initially thrilled when the project is allocated extra servers and programmers. But excitement turns to fear as the team realizes that they are being manipulated by an A.I. who is redirecting corporate funds, reassigning personnel and arming itself in pursuit of its own agenda.

WINNER SCIENCE FICTION DIY BOOK FESTIVAL 2011-2012

"Avogadro Corp is a tremendous book that every single person needs to read. In the vein of Daniel Suarez's Daemon and Freedom(TM), William's book shows that science fiction is becoming science fact. Avogadro Corp describes issues, in solid technical detail, that we are dealing with today that will impact us by 2015, if not sooner. Not enough people have read these books. It's a problem for them, but not for the [emergent] machines." -- Brad Feld, managing directory Foundry Group, co-founder Techstars

"Highly entertaining, gripping, thought inspiring book. Don’t start without the time to finish — it won’t let you go.” -- Gifford Pinchot III, founder Bainbridge Graduate Institute, author THE INTELLIGENT ORGANIZATION

"An alarming and jaw-dropping tale about how something as innocuous as email can subvert an entire organization.  I found myself reading with a sense of awe, and read it way too late into the night." -- Gene Kim, author of VISIBLE OPS

"A fictional world where Portland is the hub for the most exciting advancements in technology... [J]am packed with great references to deep Portland culture...and Portlandia-type references" -- SILICON FLORIST
©2019 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.