The Pact: A gripping psychological thriller with heartstopping suspense

· Bookouture
3.9
31 reviews
Ebook
350
Pages
Eligible

About this ebook

You made a promise to your sister. It could destroy your daughter.

 

The Daughter 


15-year-old Rosie lies in hospital fighting for her life. She’s trying to tell her mother what happened to her, but she can’t speak the words out loud. 

The Mother


Toni is a doting and over-protective mother, terrified for her daughter’s life. Having lost her husband in a tragic accident, Toni has dedicated her life to keeping Rosie safe from harm. She needs to know what secrets Rosie has been keeping, and how she ended up in a hospital bed – but Toni has a secret of her own…

The Pact


Thirty years ago, Toni and her sister Bridget made each other a promise: never to speak of their childhood; to protect each other without asking for help from others, no matter what…

 

But in order to save Rosie, Toni may have to break her lifelong promise to her sister… and open doors to her past she hoped would remain closed forever. 

 

The Pact is a chilling psychological thriller about the lies we will tell to save our children. Perfect for fans of Gone GirlApple Tree Yard and The Sister.

 

What readers are saying about The Pact:

 

'Wow, wow, wow... I absolutely devoured this book. An absolute must read.' Into the Reading Corner


'Oh my! So many twists and turns in this book! I couldn’t stop reading just waiting to see what’s next! Then, oh my goodness, I didn’t see that coming! I literally couldn’t put it down... Exhilarating!' Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

'S.E. Lynes has become one of my must-read authors... Clear your diary and settle down with The Pact; once you start there's no stopping. Another belter of a book!Bibliophile Book Club, 5 stars

'WOW I can't stop thinking about The Pact. The author grabbed my attention at the very beginning and brilliantly kept me on the edge of my seat as I tried to figure out what was going on... I would definitely read more from S.E. Lynes and recommend The Pact to anyone who loves a good psychological thriller. Five out of five stars.' Lady J's Bookish Nook 

'A thrilling read, this book has twists and turns galore and I devoured it in one sitting!' Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

'A brilliant, beautiful book which leaves the reader simultaneously shattered and full of hope… Perfection.' Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

'Full of tension and shocks. The twists and turns were fired out like a salvo of ammunition and what happened was truly terrible and unthinkable... I loved the fast paced storytelling, the wonderfully crafted characters and the cleverly plotted all action, all guns blazing story. Lovers of modern psychological thrillers will lap up this novel.' Goodreads reviewer

 

‘An unnerving psychological thriller… had me on the very edge of my seat, whilst holding my duvet up covering one eye from the horrors I was reading, but at the same time not able to turn the pages quick enough.’ The Glass House, 5 stars

 

‘I found myself turning faster and faster as I had to find out what was going on… One brilliant book.’ Nicki’s Book Blog, 5 stars

 

‘I didn't want to put it down and by 80% I was knocking it back like tequila… pure genius I will be shouting it's praise from the rooftops for a long time to come.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

 

‘Wow! Another amazing, unputdownable, brilliantly written, fast paced and page turning story… One of the best thrillers I have read from an author to watch. Brilliant. Unforgettable.’ Renita D’Silva, 5 stars

Ratings and reviews

3.9
31 reviews
Linda Strong
December 13, 2018
When Rosie wakes up in the hospital, she tries to tell her mother what occurred ... but the words won't come. Toni is her mom... absolutely worried about her daughter. Mom wants to know why Rosie won't/can't tell her what happened. But is Toni any better? She has her own secrets. Toni and her sister, Bridget, made a pact thirty-some years ago to never, ever speak about their childhood, not under any circumstances. (Book Blurb) - But in order to save Rosie, Toni may have to break her lifelong promise to her sister… and open doors to her past she hoped would remain closed forever. There are four woman at the heart of this tale ... each speaking in alternate chapters... each has their own unique voice and their own perspective. This is not the first book of this author's I have read. I was a tad disappointed in that it felt like it took forever to get to the meat of the story. Usually this author's books start with a bang and never lets up. This one .. more like a little pop. That being said, about halfway through the book, things started looking up. The suspense was there, twists and turns kept me riveted to the pages. The characters finally sounded credible. The ending was an unexpected surprise. Many thanks to the author / Bookouture / Netgalley for the digital copy of this Psychological Thriller. Opinions expressed here are unbiased and entirely my own.
8 people found this review helpful
Did you find this helpful?
Cathy Ofenstein
July 14, 2018
The charcters were very believable, enough that I could imagine them as neighbors. There was enough suspense and unanswered questiins from the past for me to want to keep flipping pages. Even as the story wound down, there were yet more surprises.
6 people found this review helpful
Did you find this helpful?
Sandra Asare
April 28, 2019
I felt that this book took a long time to get moving, since it took me until around chapter thirty to really become truly hooked by the storyline, but from then on I found it to be absolutely thrilling and even though I guessed about Emily's true involvement in the family's life, I still found it a fascinating story.
Did you find this helpful?

Rate this book

Tell us what you think.

Reading information

Smartphones and tablets
Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.
Laptops and computers
You can listen to audiobooks purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.
eReaders and other devices
To read on e-ink devices like Kobo eReaders, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Follow the detailed Help Center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.