How to Write a Novel: Advice and tips from a full-time novelist

Bowman Press
2
Free sample

Do any of these sound familiar? • You want to write your first novel, but you don't know how to begin.
• You've started writing several novels, but you never finish them.
• You've written a novel or two, but you want to increase your output and publish more often.

If you answered yes to any of the above, this book might just be what you're looking for!

I'm Simon Haynes, and I've been writing and publishing novels and short fiction for almost twenty years. This guide contains everything I've learned about writing a novel, both as an indie and as a trade-published author.

Maybe you want to write a novel which has been on your mind for years. You don't care how long it takes, you just want to see it through to the end.

Or maybe you see yourself as a career novelist - there's a real challenge - and you want to write books quickly and efficiently.

I've done both, and I cover both approaches in How to Write a Novel.

Keywords: How to Write a Book ASAP, How to Write a Book, How to Write a novel, writing books, writing a novel, How to write a E book ?, fiction writing, write a novel quickly

Read more
Collapse

About the author

In 2004 Simon was writing his fourth novel when Fremantle Press, an Australian trade publisher, offered a contract for his first three books. They were published over a five-year period, along with the fourth title, and were distributed by Penguin across Australia and New Zealand.

Simon now has eight Hal Spacejock novels, three Harriet Walsh novels, three Hal Junior novels and a couple of dozen short stories in print. Several of his works are available in translation, including German editions of Hal 1 and 2, an Italian edition of Hal Junior 1, and French editions of Hal Spacejock and Loss Leader.

Read more
Collapse
4.5
2 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Bowman Press
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Jun 15, 2018
Read more
Collapse
Pages
114
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Language Arts & Disciplines / Authorship
Language Arts & Disciplines / Composition & Creative Writing
Young Adult Nonfiction / Language Arts / Composition & Creative Writing
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
Get three books in one! Set in the distant future, where humanity spans the galaxy and robots are second-class citizens, Hal Spacejock will strike a chord with fans of Red Dwarf and Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy, while simultaneously forging its own wacky, off-beat path through the cosmos.

Hal Spacejock Omnibus One contains the first three books in the Hal Spacejock series (A Robot Named Clunk, Second Course, and Just Desserts) PLUS a bonus short story: Hal Spacejock Visit.

Hal Spacejock 1: A Robot Named Clunk Clunk's grateful when his boss sends him off for a refit, because old robots are usually junked instead.

Since the upgrade centre is on the next planet, Clunk's asked to perform a trivial little task while he's there: help a freelancer pick up some cargo.

It's a simple job, straight in and out ... but don't be late.

How can he refuse? Clunk's a certified co-pilot, so landing in a deserted field under cover of darkness, avoiding customs ships, orbital lasers and trigger-happy warships along the way, is not a problem.

Unfortunately the freelance pilot is a much bigger challenge, because Hal Spacejock is obstinate, over-confident, and woefully under-skilled, and yet he refuses to cede control of his ship to a mere robot.

Worse, Hal's only got 24 hours to pay off his debts, or he'll lose his ship ... and his life.

Can the two of them sort out their differences and deliver the cargo, or will they still be wrestling over the controls when both deadlines expire?

A Robot Named Clunk is one part buddy movie, two parts laughter and three parts madcap adventure.

Hal Spacejock 2: Second Course Hal Spacejock’s cargo business is going so well he’s considering getting into passengers ... especially the beautiful and mysterious Sonya Polarov.
Meanwhile, Rex Curtis runs the galaxy’s biggest freight company, and he’s sick of independent pilots stealing his cargo jobs. He’s determined to make a statement by destroying the biggest nuisance of them all: Hal Spacejock. And all he has to do is ensure Hal’s latest cargo job ends in disaster.
Unaware of the threat and distracted by Sonya, Hal’s time-sensitive cargo sits aboard his ship while the deadline looms ever closer. If he doesn’t get a move on, the late fees will ruin him ... and cost him his life into the bargain.

Hal Spacejock 3: Just Desserts Cargo pilot Hal Spacejock has a problem: his hold is stuffed full of expensive food, and the cheap freezer equipment he bought from Bent Jimmy has just failed ... exactly as Clunk predicted.
Hal needs replacement parts before his cargo rots, and he's forced to abandon his precious ship at the spaceport to go looking for them. Which is a pity, because an secret agent has just decided Hal's ship is ideal for an urgent mission.
Can Hal find the new parts and return before it's too late, or will he lose his ship, his cargo and his livelihood ... again?

Hal Spacejock Visit Hal returns to his ship after a shopping expedition and finds Clunk in a right old state. Break out the crayons and colouring sheets ... they're booked in for a school visit!

Omnibus Two, containing Hal Spacejock books 4-6, is also available.

 Keywords: scific, british scifi, funny science fiction novel, science fiction action adventure humor, science fiction comedy adventure, science fiction books, scifi ebooks, scifi bargain, science fiction omnibus, robot books, red dawrf

Clunk, a clapped-out robot, is convinced he's about to be junked. Instead, his penny-pinching boss is sending him off to be refurbished.

Being old and wise, Clunk knows there's a catch, but at first it doesn't seem too bad. He just has to help a freelancer pick up some cargo.

Unfortunately, Hal Spacejock - the freelancer - is obstinate, over-confident, and woefully under-skilled, and he's never going to let a lowly robot fly his precious ship.

Is there any chance this pair of misfits can lift off, collect the cargo and deliver it in one piece? Or will they fly straight into the nearest star, still bickering and fighting over the controls?



Set in the distant future, where humanity spans the galaxy and robots are second-class citizens, A Robot Named Clunk is the first novel in the Hal Spacejock series. (The first three novels are available in a boxed set called Hal Spacejock Omnibus One, which is cheaper than buying them individually. Hal Spacejock Omnibus Two is also available.)

These novels are self-contained, with a beginning, a middle and a proper ending. They're not sequels, they don't end on a cliffhanger, and you could start or end your journey with any book in the series. Some events from earlier books are referenced in later ones, so it makes sense to read them in order, but it's not essential.

If you get a smile or two out of Hal and Clunk's first outing, you will love the rest of the series.

These comedy scifi novels are perfect for fans of Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy, Doctor Who, Space Team, Space Police, and Red Dwarf.

Keywords: scific, british scifi, funny science fiction novel, science fiction action adventure humor, science fiction comedy adventure, robot books, robots and empire, Galactic Empires, hhgttg

 

Get three books in one! Set in the distant future, where humanity spans the galaxy and robots are second-class citizens, Hal Spacejock will strike a chord with fans of Red Dwarf and Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy, while simultaneously forging its own wacky, off-beat path through the cosmos.

Hal Spacejock Omnibus Two contains books 4-6 in the Hal Spacejock series (No Free Lunch, Baker's Dough and Safe Art) PLUS a bonus short story: Hal Spacejock Framed.

Hal Spacejock 4: No Free Lunch A cunning rival determined to ruin Hal's business, a Peace Force officer facing a dangerous investigation and a planet with more bugs than a new operating system ... When Hal and Clunk set out to make a fresh start, this wasn't exactly what they had in mind.
Now Hal must choose: take on the rival to save his own business, or help the officer with her first - and possibly last - investigation? Whatever he decides, it's No Free Lunch for Hal Spacejock!

Hal Spacejock 5: Baker's Dough A broken-down fugitive with nothing to lose, an arms dealer hiding a deadly secret and an elderly robot set to inherit a vast fortune ... it's a typical cargo job for freighter pilot Hal Spacejock and his offsider, Clunk.
Baker's Dough features intense rivalry, sublime double-crosses and more greed than a free buffet.

Hal Spacejock 6: Safe Art A wealthy patron is sponsoring a series of art exhibitions, and Hal Spacejock has been employed to transport the valuable pieces from one venue to the next. Meanwhile, Hal's got himself in a tangle with two different women, each of whom despises the other.
So, which will last longer ... Hal or the artworks?

Hal Spacejock: Framed A straightforward cargo delivery takes a left turn when Hal Spacejock gets sidetracked. But with 200 shares in a worthless company on offer, who wouldn't step into a makeshift teleporter which has already claimed one victim? Hal and Clunk, stars of the Hal Spacejock comedy series, feature in this brand new 8000-word short story. 'Framed' slots into the series any time after Hal Spacejock Second Course, but can be read and enjoyed as a stand-alone.

Omnibus One, containing Hal Spacejock books 1-3, is also available.

 

Hal Spacejock novels are self-contained, with a beginning, a middle and a proper ending. They're not sequels, they don't end on a cliffhanger, and you could start or end your journey with any book in the series. (Some events from earlier books are referenced in later ones, so it makes sense to read them in order, but it's not essential.)

These comedy scifi novels are perfect for fans of Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy, Doctor Who, Space Team, Space Police, and Red Dwarf.

Keywords: boxed scifi, space travel science fiction, scific, british scifi, funny science fiction novel, science fiction action adventure humor, science fiction comedy adventure, science fiction books, scifi ebooks, scifi bargain, science fiction omnibus, scifi collection

©2019 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.