Light After Dark (Gansett Island Series, Book 16): A Gansett Island Novel

· HTJB, Inc.
40 reviews

About this ebook

It’s a summer of new beginnings and maybe even love.

"Light After Dark is a welcome return to the island. We get real life family issues as well as believable characters and the must have - Happily Ever After." —Lisa at Comfy Chair Reviews

Mallory Vaughn is at a crossroads in her life. A year after learning that Big Mac McCarthy is her father, she’s spending more and more time on Gansett Island, surrounded by the large and boisterous McCarthy family. When she’s laid off from her longtime job, Mallory goes to visit her family on Gansett and tries to figure out the next chapter. An unexpected job offer will have her packing up her home in Providence to move to the island for at least the summer, if not longer. She decides to make this the “Summer of Mallory,” full of new adventures, new people and new opportunities. Will a new love also be part of the Summer of Mallory? Anything is possible on Gansett Island, especially true love. 

Take the ferry back to Gansett to catch up with the McCarthy family and their friends. Be on hand as Laura and Owen welcome their twins and the family comes back together for another summer of love and adventure on Gansett Island. 

Book 16 in the Gansett Island Series

The Gansett Island Series

Book 1: Maid for Love (Mac & Maddie)

Book 2: Fool for Love (Joe & Janey)

Book 3: Ready for Love (Luke & Sydney)

Book 4: Falling for Love (Grant & Stephanie)

Book 5: Hoping for Love (Evan & Grace)

Book 6: Season for Love (Owen & Laura)

Book 7: Longing for Love (Blaine & Tiffany)

Book 8: Waiting for Love (Adam & Abby)

Book 9: Time for Love (Daisy & David)

Book 10: Meant for Love (Jenny & Alex)

Book 10.5: Chance for Love, A Gansett Island Novella (Jared & Lizzie)

Book 11: Gansett After Dark (Owen & Laura)

Book 12: Kisses After Dark (Shane & Katie)

Book 13: Love After Dark (Paul & Hope)

Book 14: Celebration After Dark (Big Mac & Linda)

Book 15: Desire After Dark (Slim & Erin)

Book 16: Light After Dark (Mallory & Quinn)

Book 17: Episode 1: Victoria & Shannon

Book 18: Episode 2: Kevin & Chelsea

Book 19: Mine After Dark (Riley & Nikki)

Book 20: Yours After Dark (Finn & Chloe)

Book 21: Trouble After Dark (Deacon & Julia)

Book 22: Rescue After Dark (Mason & Jordan)

Book 23: Blackout After Dark (Full Cast)

40 reviews
Tammy Payne (Book Nook Nuts)
December 14, 2016
Mallory is finding things a bit difficult after learning who her father is, after losing her mother who hid this from her for almost 40 years. She has decided after life through her yet another curve-ball to spend the summer on Gansett Island. Mallory finds a lot more than herself and he needs her it seems as much as she needs him. This is such a sweet story. We do get tons of hot but to me it's all pure romance. I have to say I haven't gotten to read many of the books yet in this series but I hope someday soon. Can't wait to see what the next book holds in store for us as many of the families have exciting things going on.
Heather Fueger
December 13, 2016
Marie Force books are always such a joy for me to pick up and read, especially if we are visiting Gansett Island! Not only do we get the story of Mallory and we get to go on the adventure that is "The Summer of Mallory", but we also get to catch up with some of our other favorite island residents. After a year full of change, Mallory is back on Gansett trying to figure out what is next for her. She's lost her mom and her job and found her father and a huge extended family that she can't be happier to have. She's trying to figure out what is best for her as she moves forward, all with a secret that she hasn't let her new family in on. Mallory ends up meeting a couple of very nice men during a meeting she attends on the island. Mason is the fire chief and Quinn is the new doctor that is going to be running the new extended care facility on the island. She's intrigued by both men, but which one will she choose? As Mallory and one of the men get to really know one another, they realize they have much more in common than they initially realized. They both have had struggles, kept secrets and are working on coming out stronger on the other end and together they realize they could be stronger as a unit. I really enjoyed the story! Marie does a fantastic job of making you feel like you are friends with all of the people that are on the island and that you're dropping in to check in on everyone. I'm looking forward to the stories that are still to come from this awesome island!
1 person found this review helpful
Elizabeth H.
January 15, 2017
Marie Force always delivers! Whether it’s a short novella or a full-length story. LIGHT AFTER DARK is no exception. Mallory is a brilliant heroine. She’s smart, loving and dedicated to her craft. But she’s got a lot of resentment and hurt in her heart. I loved that she was flawed and strong enough to recognize when she needed help. I enjoyed watching her grow and rediscover herself. The hero is equally flawed but so very endearing. He and Mallory worked well together and I also enjoyed their courtship! Ms. Force wanted the hero to be a surprise so I won’t mention his name in the review, but I do love her sense of humor! As the story begins, she introduced not one but two different men and it’s still a while before we know who the hero is! This is my first read of the series and because it’s Book 16, I wasn’t privy to many of the relationships in the story. There are many couples and I found myself wanting to know more about them, how they met and all the follies that ensued during their own courtships! You can definitely read this as a standalone, but to get the full Gansett Island experience, I’d start at the beginning. And the first book, MAID FOR LOVE is currently a FREE eBook! The writing was great, the story even greater. I’d recommend any of her books (The Green Mountain series is my favorite). You’ll always get a quality read full of heart! ***I voluntarily read an early copy of the book offered to me by the publisher. All conclusions reached are my own***

About the author

Marie Force is the New York Times bestselling author of contemporary romance, romantic suspense, historical romance and erotic romance. Her series include the indie-published Gansett Island, Treading Water, Butler, Vermont and Quantum Series as well as the Fatal Series from Harlequin Books. 

Her books have sold more than 9 million copies worldwide, have been translated into more than a dozen languages and have appeared on the New York Times bestseller list 30 times. She is also a USA Today and Wall Street Journal bestseller, a Speigel bestseller in Germany, a frequent speaker and publishing workshop presenter. 

Her goals in life are simple—to finish raising two happy, healthy, productive young adults, to keep writing books for as long as she possibly can and to never be on a flight that makes the news. 

Join Marie's mailing list for news about new books and upcoming appearances in your area. Follow her on Facebook and on Instagram. Join one of Marie's many reader groups. Contact Marie at

Reading information

Smartphones and tablets
Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.
Laptops and computers
You can listen to audiobooks purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.
eReaders and other devices
To read on e-ink devices like Kobo eReaders, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Follow the detailed Help Center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.