The Incredible Journey

Delacorte Books for Young Readers
24

Fans of Old Yeller, Where the Red Fern Grows, and Shiloh will love this timeless classic about two dogs and a cat that embark on a journey to return to their owner and inspired the movie Homeward Bound.

   An inquisitive Labrador retriever, friendly bull terrier, and courageous Siamese cat set out through the Canadian wilderness to find their owner in this truly “incredible” adventure.
    Instinct tells them that the way home lies to the west and together the three house pets face hunger, the natural elements, and wild forest animals as they make their way home to the family they love.
    This beloved classic that inspired the movie Homeward Bound has captured the hearts of generations of readers. The lengths to which these three animals will go for each other and for their owner make for a thrilling and thoroughly unforgettable tale.
 
Captivating! A tale of charm [and] high drama.”—The New York Times
 
A classic.”—The Atlantic

“From the youngest child…to the oldest grown-up, there is something here for everyone.”—The Horn Book
 
"An incredible book! A beautiful story so moving that it stays in the mind constantly. It is a gem to be treasured."—The St. Louis Post-Dispatch

"I have read The Incredible Journey with much enjoyment. Obviously the author has a great knowledge of animals and a great love for them."—Joy Adamson, author of Born Free
 
A clever story and evocative writing will keep animal lovers and adventure fans turning the pages.”—Common Sense Media
 
Pacific Northwest Young Reader’s Choice Award Winner
 
William Allen White Award Winner
 
Dorothy Canfield Fisher Award Winner
Read more

About the author

Sheila Burnford was born in Scotland and lived much of her life in Canada until she passed away in 1984. She wrote books of fiction and nonfiction for both children and adults. In World War II, she was an ambulance driver. The Incredible Journey was hir first book.

Carl Burger  was an American illustrator and author of children’s books before he passed away in 1967. He is best known for illustrating The Incredible Journey and Old Yeller.
Read more

Reviews

4.0
24 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Delacorte Books for Young Readers
Read more
Published on
Jan 5, 2011
Read more
Pages
160
Read more
ISBN
9780307778345
Read more
Features
Read more
Read more
Language
English
Read more
Genres
Juvenile Fiction / Action & Adventure / Survival Stories
Juvenile Fiction / Animals / Pets
Juvenile Fiction / Nature & the Natural World / General
Read more
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
Sheila Burnford
Fans of Old Yeller, Where the Red Fern Grows, and Shiloh will love this timeless classic about two dogs and a cat that embark on a journey to return to their owner and inspired the movie Homeward Bound.

   An inquisitive Labrador retriever, friendly bull terrier, and courageous Siamese cat set out through the Canadian wilderness to find their owner in this truly “incredible” adventure.
    Instinct tells them that the way home lies to the west and together the three house pets face hunger, the natural elements, and wild forest animals as they make their way home to the family they love.
    This beloved classic that inspired the movie Homeward Bound has captured the hearts of generations of readers. The lengths to which these three animals will go for each other and for their owner make for a thrilling and thoroughly unforgettable tale.
 
“Captivating! A tale of charm [and] high drama.”—The New York Times
 
“A classic.”—The Atlantic

“From the youngest child…to the oldest grown-up, there is something here for everyone.”—The Horn Book
 
"An incredible book! A beautiful story so moving that it stays in the mind constantly. It is a gem to be treasured."—The St. Louis Post-Dispatch

"I have read The Incredible Journey with much enjoyment. Obviously the author has a great knowledge of animals and a great love for them."—Joy Adamson, author of Born Free
 
“A clever story and evocative writing will keep animal lovers and adventure fans turning the pages.”—Common Sense Media
 
Pacific Northwest Young Reader’s Choice Award Winner
 
William Allen White Award Winner
 
Dorothy Canfield Fisher Award Winner
©2018 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.