When Light Shatters

Crimson Tree Publishing
Free sample

Harlow's parents are dead. So is her brother. So is Tenley.

Probably.

Hopefully.

She's like… ninety-five percent sure about that last one.

Seventeen and orphaned, Harlow is eager to leave her past behind when she moves in with her guardians. But in her new environment, she's drawn to Brighton, a senior in her art class who is haunted by ghosts similar to her own. It's not long before Harlow realizes their friendship has turned into something deeper—something that Brighton would have to sacrifice everything to pursue.

And Brighton does.

Their secret romance is perfect…until the precarious life Harlow has built crumbles beneath her. In the collapse, they both come face to face with Tenley.

Who, it turns out, is far from dead.

Perfect for fans of The Kiss Thief and The Book of Essie, Laney Wylde's coming-of-age, bisexual romance When Light Shatters is a heady and gripping read. With a touch of irreverence and suspense, Wylde's most vulnerable work yet will keep you guessing from the first page to the last.


Read more
Collapse

About the author

Laney Wylde is enamored with all things southern California––the traffic, smog, surprise earthquakes, and nonindigenous palm trees. Consequently, it’s the landscape her strong and sometimes lovable female leads paint their stories on. Her New Adult novels Never Touched and the After Twelve series are bright with provocative themes, steamy romance, and inappropriately timed humor.

When Laney isn’t writing, she’s singing Taylor Swift with her little boy or asking her husband not to tell her about his work as a surgical resident while she’s eating. She daydreams about using her math degree to get into law school, then realizes that would be too much work and that she should just play pretend court on paper instead. While she loves a good book, nothing beats 30 Rock with a bag of popcorn and M&Ms.

Read more
Collapse
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Crimson Tree Publishing
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Aug 26, 2019
Read more
Collapse
Pages
331
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9781634223782
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Coming of Age
Fiction / Romance / Contemporary
Fiction / Romance / LGBT / Bisexual
Fiction / Romance / New Adult
Fiction / Thrillers / Psychological
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
“Riveting, heart-wrenching, and full of Old Hollywood glamour, The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo is one of the most captivating reads of 2017.” –BuzzFeed

“The epic adventures Evelyn creates over the course of a lifetime will leave every reader mesmerized. This wildly addictive journey of a reclusive Hollywood starlet and her tumultuous Tinseltown journey comes with unexpected twists and the most satisfying of drama.” —PopSugar

From the author of Daisy Jones & The Six—an entrancing novel “that speaks to the Marilyn Monroe and Elizabeth Taylor in us all” (Kirkus Reviews), in which a legendary film actress reflects on her relentless rise to the top and the risks she took, the loves she lost, and the long-held secrets the public could never imagine.

Aging and reclusive Hollywood movie icon Evelyn Hugo is finally ready to tell the truth about her glamorous and scandalous life. But when she chooses unknown magazine reporter Monique Grant for the job, no one is more astounded than Monique herself. Why her? Why now?

Monique is not exactly on top of the world. Her husband has left her, and her professional life is going nowhere. Regardless of why Evelyn has selected her to write her biography, Monique is determined to use this opportunity to jumpstart her career.

Summoned to Evelyn’s luxurious apartment, Monique listens in fascination as the actress tells her story. From making her way to Los Angeles in the 1950s to her decision to leave show business in the ‘80s, and, of course, the seven husbands along the way, Evelyn unspools a tale of ruthless ambition, unexpected friendship, and a great forbidden love. Monique begins to feel a very real connection to the legendary star, but as Evelyn’s story near its conclusion, it becomes clear that her life intersects with Monique’s own in tragic and irreversible ways.

“Heartbreaking, yet beautiful” (Jamie Blynn, Us Weekly), The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo is “Tinseltown drama at its finest” (Redbook): a mesmerizing journey through the splendor of old Hollywood into the harsh realities of the present day as two women struggle with what it means—and what it costs—to face the truth.
If She Were Blind is the first book in the engaging New Adult series After Twelve by author Laney Wylde. Perfect for fans of television shows like Revenge, Scandal, and Veronica Mars, the After Twelve Series is a gritty social-issue drama that delivers steamy romance, intrigue, and the most bittersweet revenge plots. Estlyn's determination to right every wrong is sure to quench your thirst for justice, yet leave you wanting more.

Not everyone can get justice the traditional way—that’s where Estlyn Collins comes in. A young lawyer in Santa Monica, her "legal" service, After Twelve, works outside the courtroom to tip the scales when the justice system has failed.

For a price.

Thanks to her powerful underground network, Estlyn's success rate is stellar, and her inbox stays filled with inquires from the desperate and vengeful. But when one of those names is a ghost from her past seeking vengeance against her, she’s shaken to her core. Off balance and scared to be alone, she makes an impulsive move for a guy. He’s a complication she doesn’t have time for, but it turns out he may also be an unlikely—if unwitting—asset.

Treading the rapidly thinning line between personal and professional, Estlyn pursues her target while outrunning the one on her own back—only to find she may be running into a lot more than she bargained for.

If She Were Blind is a current award finalist for the 2018 Romance Writers of America Contest, winners announced in November 2018.

“Laney Wylde may just be a magician with her ability to conjure the perfect scenarios and the ways out that no one else can see.” —My Blissful Books Blog

"With plenty of believable drama, laugh out loud moments, and sexy situations and characters, If She Were Blind is well worthy of five out of five stars and my anxious hands long for its sequel." ~Emily Shore - Author of The Aviary

"If She Were Blind is a genre defying page turner. If She Were Blind feels like a suspense, mystery, and romance novel all mashed up into one." ~Reviewer

"If She Were Blind is the first in the new After Twelve series by author Laney Wylde, and it begs the question, what do you do when justice fails you, especially after what could be the worst moment of your life. The answer - if you can manage it, you hire After Twelve and let Estlyn issue her own brand of well-deserved justice." ~Melanie’s Muses

"I am so addicted to these characters. Estlyn is strong and totally a badass. And Cal is swoon worthy. I fell for him right away." ~Rabid Readers Book Blog

Novels inThe After Twelve Series by Laney Wylde:If She Were BlindIf She Plays His Game (Available December 10, 2018)


Also, check out Laney Wylde’s new stand alone contemporary drama Never Touched

Sawyer is a survivor—gritty, determined. But the struggle to put it all behind her is something that's with her every second of the day. Her abuser is in jail now, but he'll never truly let her go. When she tries to shelter in something good, the darkness inevitably follows. The effects of the abuse flow through her life in this coming of age drama about finding the courage to keep fighting.





Legal Thriller Romance

Interracial romance

Vigilante justice

New Adult Romance Novels

Crime Romance Novels

African American Romance Suspense

Strong Female Lead Romance

Women’s Adventure Fiction

Legal Thrillers

New Adult & College Romance

©2019 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.