This Star Shall Abide

Sylvia Engdahl

(This book is known in the UK as Heritage of the Star.)

Noren knew that his world was not as it should be -- it was wrong that only the Scholars, and their representatives the Technicians, could use metal tools and Machines. It was wrong that only they had access to the mysterious City, which he had always longed to enter. Above all, it was wrong for the Scholars to have sole power over the distribution of knowledge. The High Law imposed these restrictions and many others, though the Prophecy promised that someday knowledge and Machines would be available to everyone. Noren was a heretic. He defied the High Law and had no faith in the Prophecy's fulfillment. But was defiance enough, or could some way be found to make it come true?

Now available separately again, this classic science fiction novel -- Book One of the Children of the Star trilogy -- is enjoyed by readers age 12 and up as well as by older teens and adults who go on to read the other two books (Beyond the Tomorrow Mountains and The Doors of the Universe. It was the winner of a Christopher Award, given for "affirmation of the highest values of the human spirit."

This book was originally published in hardcover by Atheneum in the US as Young Adult fiction, and by Gollancz in the UK (the UK edition appeared under the title Heritage of the Star). In 2000 the entire trilogy Children of the Star was republished as adult science fiction in one volume, in both hardcover and softcover editions, by Meisha Merlin. A new paperback edition was published under the author's personal imprint Ad Stellae Books, plus paperback and audiobook editions of This Star Shall Abide alone. For more reader reviews of this book, be sure to look at those for the trilogy as a whole under the title Children of the Star.

Read more

About the author

Sylvia Engdahl is the author of ten science fiction novels. Though best known for her Young Adult novels, which are also enjoyed by many adult readers, most recently she has written four novels for adults: the Hidden Flame series and the RIsing Flame series.

Read more

Additional Information

Sylvia Engdahl
Read more
Published on
Jan 25, 2010
Read more
Read more
Read more
Read more
Read more
Fiction / Science Fiction / General
Juvenile Fiction / Science Fiction
Read more
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
©2018 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.