This Poisoned Ground

Free sample

They say you hurt the ones you love most.

No one ever talks about when they hurt you back.

Just after dawn on the hottest day East Providence has endured in a hundred summers, Todd, a bit of a ladies’ man, finds his prized rose bush dead. This is only the first in an ever-more-ominous series of events, and someone…or something…is trying to invade his home.

In the tradition of The Fall of the House of Usher, Ligeia, and Aura comes a gripping tale of love, lust…and regret.

Read more
Collapse

About the author

Kristi Petersen Schoonover has never been a fan of roses. Her novel, Bad Apple, was nominated for a Pushcart Prize. Her short fiction has appeared in Carpe Articulum, The Adirondack Review, Barbaric Yawp, New Witch Magazine, Toasted Cheese, and others, including several anthologies such as Dark Opus Press’ In Poe’s Shadow, Great Old Ones Publishing’s Canopic Jars: Tales of Mummies and Mummification, and Western Legend Press’ Unnatural Tales of the Jackalope. She has received three Norman Mailer Writers Colony Residencies, has served as a judge for New York City Midnight’s short story competitions, and is a founding editor at Read Short Fiction. She lives with her husband, occult specialist Nathan Schoonover, in the haunted woods of Connecticut and still sleeps with the lights on. You can find out more at www.kristipetersenschoonover.com. 

Read more
Collapse
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Dark Alley Press
Read more
Collapse
Pages
38
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Best For
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Fantasy / Contemporary
Fiction / Fantasy / Dark Fantasy
Fiction / Horror
Fiction / Literary
Fiction / Occult & Supernatural
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
©2018 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.