Hidden Agendas: What We Need to Know about the TPPA

Bridget Williams Books
1
Free sample

‘Forget the label “free trade agreement”. The TPPA, under
negotiation between New Zealand, the USA and ten other countries, is a
direct assault on our right to decide our own future.’

In
this hard-hitting BWB Text, Professor Jane Kelsey picks apart the
current negotiations surrounding the proposed Trans-Pacific Partnership
Agreement (TPPA) and comes to some disturbing conclusions.

Such a
treaty, she says in this new work, has little credible economic
rationale but could have potentially dangerous effects on our ability to
decide for ourselves how we address the economic, environmental, social
and Treaty challenges of the twenty-first century. At a time of
constitutional review, the secrecy surrounding the TPPA negotiations
raises hard questions about the future shape of New Zealand.

 

Read more

About the author

Jane Kelsey is one of New Zealand’s most acute social commentators. Professor of Law at the University of Auckland, she is actively committed to social justice in her teaching, her work on Māori sovereignty, and her international research and advocacy on the crisis in globalisation. For several decades her work has centred on the interface between globalisation and domestic neoliberalism, with particular reference to free trade and investment agreements. Jane is currently researching national and international techniques for embedding neoliberalism as barriers to transformation to a post-neoliberal era.

Professor Kelsey is committed to socio-legal scholarship which brings law into contact with politics, economics, social justice, colonisation and international relations. She has written a number of books and many articles critical of the neoliberal restructuring of the New Zealand state, Treaty of Waitangi policy and international economic regulation. A committed public intellectual, Jane is a frequent media commentator, public speaker and participant in international forums on globalisation and structural adjustment.

Professor Kelsey travels extensively, talking on globalisation, free trade agreements and lessons for other countries from New Zealand’s neoliberal experiment to a wide range of audiences. She is frequently invited to deliver international lectures and conference addresses, provides intellectual leadership in international policy debates, is commissioned to write expert reports, and advises governments and international NGOs.

 

Read more
5.0
1 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Bridget Williams Books
Read more
Published on
May 1, 2013
Read more
Pages
84
Read more
ISBN
9781927131909
Read more
Language
English
Read more
Genres
Political Science / International Relations / General
Read more
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY
The New York Times Book Review • The Economist • The Christian Science Monitor • Bloomberg Businessweek • The Globe and Mail

From the bestselling and award-winning author of Paris 1919 comes a masterpiece of narrative nonfiction, a fascinating portrait of Europe from 1900 up to the outbreak of World War I.
 
The century since the end of the Napoleonic wars had been the most peaceful era Europe had known since the fall of the Roman Empire. In the first years of the twentieth century, Europe believed it was marching to a golden, happy, and prosperous future. But instead, complex personalities and rivalries, colonialism and ethnic nationalisms, and shifting alliances helped to bring about the failure of the long peace and the outbreak of a war that transformed Europe and the world.
 
The War That Ended Peace brings vividly to life the military leaders, politicians, diplomats, bankers, and the extended, interrelated family of crowned heads across Europe who failed to stop the descent into war: in Germany, the mercurial Kaiser Wilhelm II and the chief of the German general staff, Von Moltke the Younger; in Austria-Hungary, Emperor Franz Joseph, a man who tried, through sheer hard work, to stave off the coming chaos in his empire; in Russia, Tsar Nicholas II and his wife; in Britain, King Edward VII, Prime Minister Herbert Asquith, and British admiral Jacky Fisher, the fierce advocate of naval reform who entered into the arms race with Germany that pushed the continent toward confrontation on land and sea.
 
There are the would-be peacemakers as well, among them prophets of the horrors of future wars whose warnings went unheeded: Alfred Nobel, who donated his fortune to the cause of international understanding, and Bertha von Suttner, a writer and activist who was the first woman awarded Nobel’s new Peace Prize. Here too we meet the urbane and cosmopolitan Count Harry Kessler, who noticed many of the early signs that something was stirring in Europe; the young Winston Churchill, then First Lord of the Admiralty and a rising figure in British politics; Madame Caillaux, who shot a man who might have been a force for peace; and more. With indelible portraits, MacMillan shows how the fateful decisions of a few powerful people changed the course of history.
 
Taut, suspenseful, and impossible to put down, The War That Ended Peace is also a wise cautionary reminder of how wars happen in spite of the near-universal desire to keep the peace. Destined to become a classic in the tradition of Barbara Tuchman’s The Guns of August, The War That Ended Peace enriches our understanding of one of the defining periods and events of the twentieth century.
 
Praise for The War That Ended Peace
 
“Magnificent . . . The War That Ended Peace will certainly rank among the best books of the centennial crop.”—The Economist
 
“Superb.”—The New York Times Book Review
 
“Masterly . . . marvelous . . . Those looking to understand why World War I happened will have a hard time finding a better place to start.”—The Christian Science Monitor
 
“The debate over the war’s origins has raged for years. Ms. MacMillan’s explanation goes straight to the heart of political fallibility. . . . Elegantly written, with wonderful character sketches of the key players, this is a book to be treasured.”—The Wall Street Journal

“A magisterial 600-page panorama.”—Christopher Clark, London Review of Books
'This valuable volume of essays shines the light on the secretive process of free trade negotiations and demonstrates the urgent need for greater public and parliamentary scrutiny.' - Senator Bob Brown, Australian Greens

'The USA is driving a Pacific trading agreement that deserves much more critical attention than the authorities want us to give it. This book shows why the agreement matters and why it should be resisted.' - Professor Frank Stilwell, Department of Political Economy, University of Sydney

The Trans-Pacific Partnership is no ordinary free trade deal. It has been billed as an agreement fit for the 21st century, but no-one is sure what that means.

The US sells this eight-country deal as the key to jobs and economic recovery, while protecting home markets. Australia hails it as a foundation stone for an APEC-wide free trade agreement. New Zealand sees it as a magic bullet to open the US dairy market. None of these arguments stack up.

Experts from Australia, New Zealand, the US and Chile examine the geopolitics and security context of the negotiations and set out the costs of making concessions to the US simply to achieve a deal. They argue its obligations will intrude into core areas of domestic government policy which have nothing to do with imports and exports, including foreign investment, financial regulation, access to affordable medicines, food standards, services and government procurement. These are the issues that caused the majority of the public opposition to the US-Australia Free Trade Agreement in 2004. Above all, No Ordinary Deal exposes the contradictions of locking our countries even deeper into a neoliberal model of global free markets - when even political leaders admit that this has failed.

©2018 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.