The Shahnameh: The Book of Kings

The Floating Press
11
Free sample

Immerse yourself in the distant past with this epic poem from the Persian tradition. Penned more than one thousand years ago by the famed poet Ferdowsi, The Shahnameh weaves history and myth into a lyrical, action-packed work of art that you won't be able to put down. This book is a must-read for folklore connoisseurs.
Read more

Reviews

5.0
11 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
The Floating Press
Read more
Published on
Jul 1, 2012
Read more
Pages
465
Read more
ISBN
9781775458210
Read more
Features
Read more
Language
English
Read more
Genres
History / General
Poetry / General
Social Science / Folklore & Mythology
Read more
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
Mike Wells
Readers of Tom Clancy, Brad Thor, Stephen Hunter, John Le Carre will enjoy this fast-paced, international spy thriller.

5 STARS! “Fast paced and suspenseful, it features a surprising range of highly likable characters…a thoroughly well-researched book by a person in the know.” - Claude Forthomme,  former United Nations worker

5 STARS! “Suspense, intrigue, and betrayal -  the game of spy versus spy where corruption, espionage and the quest for the ultimate power rule, governments have their ways, and Iran is no exception.” - Dii, Top 500 Super Reviewer

5 STARS! “I found it impossible to put down. Thrilling, suspenseful as it dove into the world of espionage among world powers. Fast paced and based loosely on world events of WMD’s.” - Jeff Mattice, Book Reviewer

5 STARS! “Masterpiece!  Timely, fast paced and hard to put down.  Would make a helluva movie!” - Fred Bowditch, Book Reviewer

5 STARS! “What interests me more is the depth of his knowledge (clearly the author has a passion for it) about nuclear technology and how people can use it to destroy things. In addition to that, we have many big players in the book: MOIS, Mossad, US and Russia, all in it for various reasons.” -  Ailyn Koay, Book Reviewer 

BOOK DESCRIPTION

The BLIND SCORPION is a Top Secret computer program for simulating nuclear weapons explosions and the catastrophic havoc they wreak. Dr. Ross Shaheen, the developer of the software, is living the American dream. Between his internationally-recognized nuclear weapons research career at the prestigious Berkeley Lab and his picture-perfect family in the San Francisco suburbs, it's a good life that can only get better...until he is lured into lecturing before an elite group of scientists in the country of his birth: Iran. 

The seven thousand mile trip takes Shaheen back to the land of the lion and the sun, yet it also delivers to Iran's very doorstep an important American citizen with a Top Secret security clearance. It soon becomes clear what the Iranians are really after: the BLIND SCORPION. The coveted software is the key to advancing their clandestine nuclear weapons program without the rest of the world being able to prove its existence. Shaheen becomes entangled in a twisted web of espionage, corruption and survival, putting to the test not only his secret knowledge but also the very core of his allegiance to the land he now calls home. 

If he lives, Ross Shaheen could walk away a hero. 

The question is, for which country?

Fans of Tom Clancy and Brad Thor will enjoy this book. 

Abolqasem Ferdowsi
The definitive translation by Dick Davis of the great national epic of Iran—now newly revised and expanded to be the most complete English-language edition
 
Dick Davis—“our pre-eminent translator from the Persian” (The Washington Post)—has revised and expanded his acclaimed translation of Ferdowsi’s masterpiece, adding more than 100 pages of newly translated text. Davis’s elegant combination of prose and verse allows the poetry of the Shahnameh to sing its own tales directly, interspersed sparingly with clearly marked explanations to ease along modern readers.
 
Originally composed for the Samanid princes of Khorasan in the tenth century, the Shahnameh is among the greatest works of world literature. This prodigious narrative tells the story of pre-Islamic Persia, from the mythical creation of the world and the dawn of Persian civilization through the seventh-century Arab conquest. The stories of the Shahnameh are deeply embedded in Persian culture and beyond, as attested by their appearance in such works as The Kite Runner and the love poems of Rumi and Hafez.
 
For more than sixty-five years, Penguin has been the leading publisher of classic literature in the English-speaking world. With more than 1,500 titles, Penguin Classics represents a global bookshelf of the best works throughout history and across genres and disciplines. Readers trust the series to provide authoritative texts enhanced by introductions and notes by distinguished scholars and contemporary authors, as well as up-to-date translations by award-winning translators.


From the Trade Paperback edition.
Book 3
Readers of Tom Clancy, Brad Thor, Stephen Hunter, John Le Carre will enjoy this fast-paced, international spy thriller.

5 STARS! “Fast paced and suspenseful, it features a surprising range of highly likable characters…a thoroughly well-researched book by a person in the know.” - Claude Forthomme,  former United Nations worker

5 STARS! “Suspense, intrigue, and betrayal -  the game of spy versus spy where corruption, espionage and the quest for the ultimate power rule, governments have their ways, and Iran is no exception.” - Dii, Top 500 Super Reviewer

5 STARS! “I found it impossible to put down. Thrilling, suspenseful as it dove into the world of espionage among world powers. Fast paced and based loosely on world events of WMD’s.” - Jeff Mattice, Book Reviewer

5 STARS! “Masterpiece!  Timely, fast paced and hard to put down.  Would make a helluva movie!” - Fred Bowditch, Book Reviewer

5 STARS! “What interests me more is the depth of his knowledge (clearly the author has a passion for it) about nuclear technology and how people can use it to destroy things. In addition to that, we have many big players in the book: MOIS, Mossad, US and Russia, all in it for various reasons.” -  Ailyn Koay, Book Reviewer 

BOOK DESCRIPTION

The BLIND SCORPION is a Top Secret computer program for simulating nuclear weapons explosions and the catastrophic havoc they wreak. Dr. Ross Shaheen, the developer of the software, is living the American dream. Between his internationally-recognized nuclear weapons research career at the prestigious Berkeley Lab and his picture-perfect family in the San Francisco suburbs, it's a good life that can only get better...until he is lured into lecturing before an elite group of scientists in the country of his birth: Iran. 

The seven thousand mile trip takes Shaheen back to the land of the lion and the sun, yet it also delivers to Iran's very doorstep an important American citizen with a Top Secret security clearance. It soon becomes clear what the Iranians are really after: the BLIND SCORPION. The coveted software is the key to advancing their clandestine nuclear weapons program without the rest of the world being able to prove its existence. Shaheen becomes entangled in a twisted web of espionage, corruption and survival, putting to the test not only his secret knowledge but also the very core of his allegiance to the land he now calls home. 

If he lives, Ross Shaheen could walk away a hero. 

The question is, for which country?

Fans of James Rollins and Robert Ludlum will like this book.

©2017 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.