No Secret Or Lies

White Star Press
Free sample

A Search for Answers Reveals a Mystery


The man Halla dreams of making a future with has questions about her past, but how can she tell him the answers when she doesn't know them herself? She never planned to confront her parents, but she is desperate to know what really happened . . .


Eleven years ago, Halla Jenkins climbed out a window at her parents' house, fell to the ground in a mangled heap, and fled. Eventually, she found Lily's House and a real family. Now as a successful online reporter and a blogger with a quarter million followers, she doesn't think much about her roots. But the man she's fallen for online and dreams of making a future with has questions, and how can she tell him the answers when she doesn't know them herself? She never planned to confront her parents, but she is desperate to know what really happened. The chance of meeting Oliver in person for first time makes it all worth the risk.


Elsie Reynolds has had the same best guy friend for ten years. Sure there were a few times when he forgot they were only friends, but setting him up with one of her foster sisters always fixed that problem. For the most part, being friends was all either of them ever needed. But now Payden is moving on, and Elsie isn't quite sure how she feels about losing him. Especially if it's to the sweet-looking new teacher at the school where he works. Maybe kissing him is just what she needs to get them back into the friend zone.


Kendall Brenwood was already an adult when she found Lily's House, but it changed the direction of her life, and she is finally living her dream, helping others as a nurse. Only sometimes does she grieve what she lost, even though she knows she made the right choice. When a new resident at the hospital catches her eye, she isn't sure she's ready to find love. Why won't he take no for an answer? Would he still want her if he knew her secret? She's about to find out.


Join these three roommates from Lily's House as they take the road less traveled and find . . . love.


Note: All the stories in the Lily's House series are complete stories without cliffhangers. Reading all of them will catch you up with characters in previous novels, but you do not have to read them in order. Enjoy!

Read more
Collapse

More by Rachel Branton

See more
Bugs are for the birds! 

Lisbon is hungry and it’s hard to wait for dinner. When her animal friends try to help her find something tasty to eat, the real the problems begin! Join Lisbon on her funny misadventures.

Each beautiful illustration is designed to inspire the imaginations of children. An activity page at the end of the book allows for more fun as they search for special items in the illustrations.

This version of I Don't Want to Eat Bugs has been designed specifically for ebook with a fixed layout and larger text for easy reading. While this is a great read-aloud book for parents, teachers, and other adults to share with children, we have chosen fonts that are similar to the way children form letters for easy recognition as they begin to read on their own. The print book is also available in 8.5” x 11” format.

Author’s Note: 

I Don't Want to Eat Bugs was written for my daughter, who was two when I wrote this story and didn’t like salad, but now she’s four and a half and loves it—if I give her plenty of salad dressing! (But don’t worry—this isn’t a book about eating salad.) Of course birds, cats, and dogs have a very different idea of what's good to eat, but through this fun adventure, Lisbon learns there is also food meant just for her—and it's good, especially compared with all the offerings from her animal friends.

My daughter and I privately call this book the "Ice Cream Story" (she LOVES ice cream so there had to be ice cream involved), and now whenever something funny happens, she says, "We should write a new ice cream story about that."

And we have! I Don't Want to Eat Bugs is the first book in a planned series called Lisbon’s Misadventures. I’ve written the next three books in the series, and Tim Petersen is hard at work creating the illustrations. Tim is obviously a fabulous artist, and I’m excited to be working with him. You can sign up on my website to learn when the next book comes out (http://teylarachelbranton.com/). Thank you and enjoy!

Her Dream Didn’t Include Falling in Love


Lily dreams of a big house, a place of refuge for runaway girls. She knows what it’s like to grow up feeling unloved, and she now fills every space in her tiny apartment with endangered teens. They don’t have everything they need, but together they have enough.


Or so she thinks—until she meets Jameson and glimpses the mysterious something between them that just might mean real love.


Jameson, who works as a teen counselor, believes the only way Lily can really help the girls is by certifying as a foster parent and going through the system. But becoming legitimate may mean losing some of the girls to the families who threw them away, and Lily hasn’t worked hard to save the teens only to abandon them now.


It seems Jameson will be one more entry on the very long list of things Lily has given up for the girls. What other choice is there when she is all they have?


When two of the teens’ fathers come looking for them, and another one’s mother plans to put her daughter in danger, Lily’s life spins out of control. They need a new home—and fast. A safe place. A house without lies.


Editorial note: House Without Lies is a clean, contemporary romance with a satisfying ending (no cliffhanger). Feel-good, romantic book that lifts while at the same time addressing serious issues and deeper family connections. You will love Lily and her girls! There are sequels that tell the stories of other characters connected with Lily’s House. As one reviewer says, these are "Ideal for fans of Robyn Carr, Mariah Stewart, Sherryl Woods and Susan Wiggs."


Editorial Review


"Readers seeking inspirational women's stories with a broader focus than relationship-building moments will find House Without Lies just the ticket. It's filled with many different characters and diverse circumstances, but the overall plot holds true to its intentions and presents a vivid story made all the more immediate by Rachel Branton's choice of using the first person to capture Lily's daily life and feelings.


Lily's accustomed to fighting for others: can she fight for herself, as well? An engrossing read, it's also a pleasure to add a note that while House Without Lies is part of a series, it's actually a fine stand-alone story that neatly concludes its plot. Readers will want more, but won't be required to hang off a cliff waiting for resolution – and that's a huge bonus to the first book in this series." –D. Donovan, Senior Reviewer, Midwest Book Review


Note: All the stories in the Lily's House series are complete stories without cliffhangers. Reading all of them will catch you up with characters in previous novels, but you do not have to read them in order. Enjoy!

Loading…

Additional Information

Publisher
White Star Press
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Oct 27, 2018
Read more
Collapse
Pages
302
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9781948982023
Read more
Collapse
Features
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / General
Fiction / Romance / General
Read more
Collapse
Content protection
This content is DRM free.
Read more
Collapse
Read aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
©2020 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.