A Letter to the Last House Before the Sea: An absolutely stunning page-turner filled with family secrets

· Heaven's Cove Book 2 · Bookouture
4.6
5 reviews
Ebook
350
Pages
Eligible

About this ebook

High on the clifftops, Lettie takes a deep breath of salty air and opens the letter. There is no signature, and the old-fashioned handwriting is faint against the yellowed paper. The message, and the tiny gold key inside, will turn her life upside down…

 

Lettie Starcross makes her way along the cobbled streets of Heaven’s Cove, clutching a little key and searching for answers about her kind, twinkly-eyed Great Aunt Iris, whom she misses terribly. With no job back home, and no-one in her family understanding how adrift she feels, Lettie wonders if her aunt was lonely just like her – is that why she fled this pretty seaside village years ago and never returned?

 

Staying at Driftwood House where Iris lived, now a cosy B&B, Lettie can almost hear Iris’s laughter on the breeze. And when she locks eyes with brooding fisherman Corey as he’s singing a haunting sea shanty in the local tavern, the sparks that fly between them are a welcome distraction from her grief.

 

But everything changes when Lettie meets Corey’s grandmother. Hearing the name ‘Iris Starcross’, her wrinkled face turns pale. Then she tells Lettie a devastating secret: seventy years ago, a choice Iris made tore apart this tight-knit community.

 

Heartbroken, Lettie questions if she ever really understood her beloved aunt – and if Corey knew about this shocking rift all along. So when her sister calls begging her to come home, Lettie is torn. If she stays to find what the key unlocks, can she discover the truth about what Iris did – and fight for her own fresh start? Or will she be the next Starcross woman to run from Heaven’s Cove forever?

 

This book can be enjoyed as a standalone.

 

An absolutely gorgeous read that will whisk you away to the stunning Devon coast, about family secrets, long-lost love and coming home. Perfect for fans of Debbie Macomber, Rosanna Ley and Sheila O’Flanagan.

 

Read what everyone’s saying about A Letter to the Last House Before the Sea:

 

WOWbrilliant… made me laugh, smile and cry… beautifully written… I was absolutely hooked from the beginning.’ Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

‘An excellent read… lots of drama, broken hearts, humour… I read it in one sitting and it was a blast from start to finish.’ Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

I was hooked from the outset and read it in one sitting… An absolute dream of a read that is adorable from start to finish.’ Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

Delightful… charming… gives you a nice fuzzy cozy feelingso beautiful… A perfect heart-warming summer beach or garden read!’ @jasminegalsreadinglog


Beautiful… I fell in love… I loved every page!Lu Reviews Books ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

‘What a fantastic read. Read in one sitting, loved the story… A jolly good read.’ NetGalley reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

I absolutely loved this book!... great, fun read that I enjoyed! I highly recommend this book!’ Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

‘A beautifully written novel full of twists and turns making it hard to put down.’ Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

‘Warm and uplifting… beautiful… filled with drama, tears, and secrets… heart-warming… stole my heart… I thoroughly enjoyed this book… not to be missed!’ Wordsopedia

Ratings and reviews

4.6
5 reviews
Chelsea Taylor
April 28, 2021
If youre a fan of Debbie Macomber's Cedar Cove series, then you must pick this one up! Told with tons of love and a lot of heart, you'll fall in love with Heaven's Cove on the first page. Just arriving in Heavens Cove, Lettie Starcross is on a mission to solve the mysterious message her aunt left her with upon her death. All she has is a letter, a key, and a mysterious sentence her aunt muttered before she passed. Having recently been let go from her boring customer care job, she plans on taking a few weeks to mourn her aunt, gather her bearings, and find a new job. She didn't bargain for falling in love with the area and the people in it. This is evidently the second book in a series about Heavens Cove but I assure you it reads perfectly as a stand alone as well. Ive never read the.first book and had no trouble at all getting into this story. The descriptions of the town and its residents are told so beautifully just close your eyes and you'll hear the ocean. Primarily a romance, there's also a little mystery as well. ⭐⭐⭐⭐ This was such a sweet curl up on the couch and read away an afternoon love story. Even secondary characters are well described and add to the story and not just used as page filler. The only parts of the.book I couldn't get into were when Lettie was a doormat where her family was.concerned. She couldn't seem to stand up for herself at all for the vast majority of the book. She was such an interesting and adventurous character but the fact she couldn't stand up for herself in basic things where her family was concerned was honestly annoying. I've never had the pleasure of reading any of Liz Eeles books before but Ill definitely add her to my TBR list after this. Thank you to NetGalley, Liz Eeles, and Bookouture for an ARC in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own.
Did you find this helpful?
Kirsty Whitlock
May 19, 2021
BLOG TOUR REVIEW Review for 'A Letter To The Last House Before The Sea' by Liz Eeles . Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Liz Eeles, Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous Publication date 19th May 2021. This is the second book I have read by this author and it is the second book in the 'Heaven's Cove' series but can be read as a standalone. I have previously read the first book in this series 'Secrets At The Last House Before The Sea' which I would highly recommend. I was originally drawn to this book by its eye catching cover and its intriguing synopsis and title. The synopsis stated that this book is 'Perfect for fans of Debbie Macomber, Rosanna Ley and Sheila O’Flanagan'. I am a fan of Debbie Macomber so am looking forward to seeing if this lives up to this statement. I am also a fan of Liz and if this is half as good as 'Secrets At The Last House Before The Sea' it is sure to be a great read. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture.
Did you find this helpful?
Wendy Williams
May 19, 2021
I really did enjoy this book! It has everything, humor, drama, lost love, adorable village and complex characters. Lettie Starcross is still grieving her great aunt’s death when she was fired from a job she didn’t much like anyway. She decides to go to the small village of Heaven’s Cove in Devon to find answers to her great aunt’s past. Away from her needy family, she finds herself in the quaint little village, complete with quirky characters and picturesque views. From the very beginning I was drawn into the story. The mystery of Great Aunt Iris’s key necklace, and her last words to Lettie telling her to “Go find out for me, darling girl.” She also finds a letter addressed to Iris sewn into the purses lining. Without a job, Lettie finds she has the time to go back to Iris’s childhood home and find out what happened to her that forced Iris to leave and never return. What Lettie didn’t expect was to be drawn into the village and find it to be charming, welcoming and full of unforgettable characters. This book was fun, sad, happy, charming, heartwarming, and emotional. I was rooting for all the characters and felt like I lived in Heaven’s Cove along with them all. This book pulled me in and made me feel for each of the characters and root for them all to find their own happiness. Long lost love, reconciliation, new love, and overcoming the past are all themes in this wonderful book. I highly recommend this book to everyone.
Did you find this helpful?

Rate this book

Tell us what you think.

Reading information

Smartphones and tablets
Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.
Laptops and computers
You can listen to audiobooks purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.
eReaders and other devices
To read on e-ink devices like Kobo eReaders, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Follow the detailed Help Center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.