The Heartbeat Thief

Ash Krafton
2
Free sample

"A talented writer can convince a reader that fantasy is real; a gifted author makes it look easy from the opening scene. Such is Krafton's brilliance in The Heartbeat Thief."  --Rachel McClellan, Author
                              
Haunted by a crushing fear of death, a young Victorian woman discovers the secret of eternal youth--she must surrender her life to attain it, and steal heartbeats to keep it.

 In 1860 Surrey, a young woman has only one occupation: to marry. Senza Fyne is beautiful, intelligent, and lacks neither wealth nor connections. Finding a husband shouldn't be difficult, not when she has her entire life before her. But it's not life that preoccupies her thoughts. It's death--and that shadowy spectre haunts her every step.
 So does Mr. Knell. Heart-thumpingly attractive, obviously eligible--he'd be her perfect match if only he wasn't so macabre. All his talk about death, all that teasing about knowing how to avoid it...
 When her mother arranges a courtship with another man, Senza is desperate for escape from a dull prescripted destiny. Impulsively, she takes Knell up on his offer. He casts a spell that frees her from the cruelty of time and the threat of death--but at a steep price. In order to maintain eternal youth, she must feed on the heartbeats of others.
 From the posh London season to the back alleys of Whitechapel, across the Channel, across the Pond, across the seas of Time...
 How far will Senza Fyne go to avoid Death?
The latest in dark fantasy from Ash Krafton...It's a little bit Jane Austen, a little bit Edgar Allen Poe, and a whole lot of stealing heartbeats in order to stay young and beautiful forever... 
         
Read more
Collapse

About the author

Ash Krafton is a writer of all things spec fic. She believes spectacular endings make the best beginnings... Why not? One billion black holes can't be wrong.

The second bravest thing she's ever done was volunteering to go first when her Girl Scout troop visited a High Ropes challenge course somewhere back in the eighties. (Thankfully, few photos exist.) The third bravest thing was wearing her purple Colin Stuart boots with the extreme stiletto heel to her kids' school open house one year. (Three floors, all steps, no brakes.) The top of the Brave Things list, however, remains to be written.

Contact Ash through her website: www.ashkrafton.com
Facebook: www.Facebook.com/ashkraftonauthor
Twitter: www.twitter.com/ashkrafton

And don't forget to say hello to her alter ego, AJ Krafton, who writes New Adult speculative fiction. AJ's début book THE HEARTBEAT THIEF, can be found at most major online retailers.
Read more
Collapse
5.0
2 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Ash Krafton
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Oct 31, 2016
Read more
Collapse
Pages
317
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Best For
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
 "Fans of Urban Fantasy and Paranormal Romance need to add this one to their lists. Powerful stuff, people!" Sophia Rose ★★★★★
"I absolutely loved the story and can't wait to read the next book in the series to find out what happens next." Jeep Diva Reviews ★★★★★
________________________________________________________________________

From USA Today and international bestselling author, Ash Krafton, comes the award-winning first book in an urban fantasy series that put a twist on vampire lore and captured the hearts of readers around the world. Bleeding Hearts (Demimonde #1) will introduce you to Sophie Galen, the advice columnist-turned-oracle who is saving the world...one damned person at a time...
________________________________________________________________________

Enter the world of the Demimonde.

Look outside your window. Same old town, same streets, same people, same stories you've lived all your life. Or... are they?

Sophie Galen is an advice columnist from the suburbs of Philly. Like many sensitive women, she's done her best to create a shelter for herself in order to live in a safe, predictable world, protecting her vulnerable self: her mind, her heart, her soul. 

Then he came into her life and blew the walls in.

When Marek Thurzo arrived, he brought with him all the secrets she never wanted to know: the world outside was not what she thought. There were people and creatures and powers she'd never dared to believe exist and at the very center of this humongous supernatural web was one single person.

Her. The Sophia. The one hope for redemption for the Demivampire race.

Some days, she still can't wrap her head around the whole thing. Other days...

...she's ready to do whatever it takes to protect her demivamps, no matter the obstacle, no matter the enemy, no matter the personal cost.

While meeting her deadlines, natch. Who says a girl can't multitask while saving the world?
_______________________________________________________________________

"[Krafton] has done what very few authors have done for me to date: made all her books something I put on my urgent to-read pile." Long and Short Reviews
©2019 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.