Spurred To Murder: A Hurley Beach Mystery

Piddlepup, LLC
2
Free sample

The body of a local girl is found on the surf in a small North Carolina coastal town. Is it a suicide, a vacationer out for murder, or one of the colorful locals? As the clues reveal themselves, a young deputy and her retired cousin are tasked with solving the mystery. Suspects abound in this cozy southern mystery.
Read more

Reviews

4.0
2 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Piddlepup, LLC
Read more
Published on
May 8, 2015
Read more
Pages
130
Read more
ISBN
9781310836053
Read more
Language
English
Read more
Genres
Fiction / Mystery & Detective / Cozy
Fiction / Mystery & Detective / Traditional
Fiction / Mystery & Detective / Women Sleuths
Read more
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
Book 46
Lieutenant Eve Dallas returns in Dark in Death, by J.D. Robb, the #1 New York Times bestselling master of suspense, and takes on a case of death imitating art...

It was a stab in the dark.

On a chilly February night, during a screening of Psycho in midtown, someone sunk an ice pick into the back of Chanel Rylan’s neck, then disappeared quietly into the crowds of drunks and tourists in Times Square. To Chanel’s best friend, who had just slipped out of the theater for a moment to take a call, it felt as unreal as the ancient black-and-white movie up on the screen. But Chanel’s blood ran red, and her death was anything but fictional.

Then, as Eve Dallas puzzles over a homicide that seems carefully planned and yet oddly personal, she receives a tip from an unexpected source: an author of police thrillers who recognizes the crime—from the pages of her own book. Dallas doesn’t think it’s coincidence, since a recent strangulation of a sex worker resembles a scene from her writing as well. Cops look for patterns of behavior: similar weapons, similar MOs. But this killer seems to find inspiration in someone else’s imagination, and if the theory holds, this may be only the second of a long-running series.

The good news is that Eve and her billionaire husband Roarke have an excuse to curl up in front of the fireplace with their cat, Galahad, reading mystery stories for research. The bad news is that time is running out before the next victim plays an unwitting role in a murderer’s deranged private drama—and only Eve can put a stop to a creative impulse gone horribly, destructively wrong.

From the author of Echoes in Death, this is the latest of the edgy, phenomenally popular police procedurals that Publishers Weekly calls “inventive, entertaining, and clever.”

Jess Ryder
‘I was hooked in from the very first page of this gripping, fast-paced story of secrets, relationships and betrayals.’ Nicki’s Life of Crime

Three minutes. That’s all it takes for Meredith’s entire world to fall apart when she watches the videotape of her four-year-old self with Becca, the mother who abandoned her.

Meredith can’t believe what her eyes have seen. Yet what if her memory has locked away the painful reality of her childhood? Can there be any truth in the strange and dangerous story her mother forced her to tell on camera? 

The search for answers leads Meredith to Darkwater Pool, the scene of the murder of a young woman, Cara, over 30 years ago. What could possibly be the link between her mother and the victim?

To find the truth Meredith must search through a past that is not her own. The problem is, she’s not the only one looking…

A dark, compulsive psychological thriller that will keep you up all night. Perfect for fans of Paula Hawkins and Louise Jensen.

What readers are saying about Lie to Me:


‘This is without a doubt the best psychological thriller I have read this year.’ Chelle’s Book Reviews 5*

‘OMG this book is so damn good!… And to think this is a debut novel. This is one incredible story which totally blew me away… Just one more chapter I kept telling myself, then before I knew it I had devoured it in one day. If you are looking for a fast-paced engaging read this is the book I highly recommend giving it 5 massive stars.’ Chelle’s Book Reviews 5*

‘Wow!! Couldn't put this book down. Great storyline and full of suspense. I was hooked from the first chapter… Lie to Me kept me on tenterhooks some of the twists took me completely by surprise. Read this book and enjoy.' Goodreads 5*

‘I really enjoyed this thrilling debut and would have given it more than five stars if I could. I look forward to reading more book by this author in the future.’ Nicki’s Life of Crime

‘A twisty tale of lost memories and dark truths.’ Cayo Costa

‘Secrets, lies, betrayal, jealousy, deception, and everything in between. I simply loved this story… I would definitely recommend this book to anyone looking for an enthralling story with fascinating characters and I personally will be looking forward to reading more of this author’s work!’ Bookishly Ever After

‘WOW, page turner! You have to finish the book BECAUSE YOU NEED TO KNOW WHO LIED!’ Goodreads

‘This novel grabbed me instantly and was wonderfully suspenseful until the very end… Lie to Me is suspenseful, surprising, interesting, and creepy all wrapped up in one novel. I cannot recommend this novel enough to any lovers of this genre and promise that you will not be disappointed!’ Dandelions Inspired 5*

‘What a ride. Best thriller I've read!’ Goodreads

‘I flew through the pages of this book. It grabbed my attention and kept pulling me back, time and time again. So much so that I finished it in two short days (that's quick for me). The author's writing style was very much to my taste and I wouldn't hesitate to read another book by Jess Ryder… A tale of family secrets, lies and betrayal which I found hard to put down.’ Damp Pebbles

‘I was completely hooked from the very first page of this thriller of a read… A fantastic debut novel from Jess and I look forward to her next book.’ Goodreads 5*

‘Jess Ryder knows how to write a mesmerizing story that will hook your attention from the first chapter and pull you across the emotional spectrum as the story and characters unfold.’ Artistic Bent 

‘Unpredictable and addictive… Lie to Me is an excellent and suspenseful read.’ Goodreads 5*

©2018 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.