This Is Not the Jess Show: Volume 1

· This is Not the Jess Show Book 1 · Sold by Quirk Books
3.2
6 reviews
Ebook
304
Pages
Eligible

About this ebook

“A fantastically smart, funny, and thoughtful thriller.”—Nicola Yoon, #1 New York Times best-selling author of Everything, Everything and The Sun Is Also a Star

The year is 1998: Titanic just won six Oscars, boy bands are dominating MTV’s airwaves, and like any other teenager Jess Flynn is just trying to survive high school. Between a crush on her childhood best friend, overprotective parents, and her sister’s worsening health, the only constant is her hometown of Swickley, which feels smaller by the day.

Jess is resigned to her small-town life, until the day she discovers a mysterious device with an apple logo, causing her to question everything and everyone she’s ever known. As more cracks appear in Jess’s world, she faces a choice: can she live the rest of her life knowing it’s a lie, or should she risk everything for the truth?
 
A fast-paced, mind-bending YA thriller packed with ’90s pop culture references and perfect for fans of Riverdale, This Is Not the Jess Show will keep readers guessing until the very end.

Now with an excerpt from the explosive and thrilling conclusion, This Is Not the Real World!
3.2
6 reviews
Joelle Egan
August 31, 2020
This is Not the Jess Show by Anna Carey will probably become quickly popular with its intended young adult audience. It includes some romance and teen angst while addressing current Youtube/Tok Tok culture, throwing in a touch of reality television as well. The combination of these hot buttons might have wide-spread appeal, but its premise and execution here are not terribly original. Reminiscent of the “Truman Show” and some episodes of “Black Mirror,”, the plot of Carey’s book is already well-worn by better versions. Jess is a teen who is a protype child of the 1990’s and references to that era abound in the novel. She has her core group of friends, one of whom is a boy who she is beginning to have deeper feelings toward. Her life is relatively easy and uncomplicated, except for some typical conflict with her parents and a younger sister whose terminal illness envelops the family’s every moment. Things take a strange turn, however, when Jess starts noticing some weird coincidences and unexplainable happenings popping up around her. When she questions others about what she is experiencing, everyone seems to be covering up a secret of some sort. She soon discovers that everything that she remembers growing up in the town of Swickley is not as she has been led to believe. The story has some thrilling moments and interesting twists, but there are some major non-sequiturs and inconsistencies that will hopefully be corrected prior to the books’ final publication. Light and topically relevant, This is Not the Jess Show is far from great literature, but will still undoubtedly draw in those young readers who avidly follow the current digital zeitgeist. Thanks to the author, Quirk Books and Library Thing for an advance copy of this book in exchange for an unbiased review.
Did you find this helpful?
Third-party review
Very unique concept, but it opens itself up to some major loose threads, but I cannot say more because there is one major twist.
Third-party review
To start, the characters in this book have very limited development, read like a teenybopper CW network television show, and have such boring plain drama going on in their lives that it makes you ...

About the author

Anna Carey is the author of BlackbirdDeadfall, and the Eve trilogy. She lives in Los Angeles.

Rate this book

Tell us what you think.

Reading information

Smartphones and tablets
Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.
Laptops and computers
You can listen to audiobooks purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.
eReaders and other devices
To read on e-ink devices like Kobo eReaders, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Follow the detailed Help Center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.