The Apocalypse Fire

Canelo
7
Free sample

The stakes don’t get any higher...

The explosive and brilliant new thriller from bestseller Dominic Selwood

The Turin Shroud has been stolen in a violent assault. Why? And by whom?

Drawn into the investigation, archaeologist and former spy Ava Curzon finds herself plunged into a desperate struggle against an apocalyptic Russian cult. Recruited by the UK’s clandestine MI13 intelligence agency – and aided by the Vatican’s security division and her former colleague Ferguson – Ava is sucked into a world of dark extremism and Biblical secrets.

As the chase catapults her around Europe, she must unravel the mysteries of an ancient icon belonging to the shadowy Order of Malta.

With time running out, and cataclysmic war in the Middle East the price of failure, the world stands on the brink...

Perfect for readers of Dan Brown and Scott Mariani, this crypto-thriller from the masterful Dominic Selwood will keep you gripped until the very end.

The Ava Curzon Thrillers
  • The Sword of Moses
  • The Apocalypse Fire
  • Book 3 coming soon
Praise for The Apocalypse Fire

'Imagine the best of James Bond and the Da Vinci Code rolled into one, and that is what you get with this book.' Soldier Magazine

'Keeps the tension ratcheted up ... Selwood breathes life into the conspiracy thriller by knowing his history and deploying it well.' The Catholic Herald

'A fantastic book ... a rip-roaring page-turner ... among the cream of the crop in its genre.' Barnsey's Books

'Expertly paced and filled with explosive action.' A Literary Vacation

'The fast pace of the story continues throughout ... Selwood is one to watch.' Quench Magazine

What everyone is saying about Dominic Selwood

‘The plot moves so quickly the reader is at times left gasping for breath ... combines the daring and resolve of the Hollywood archaeologist with the razor-sharp mental agility of a Conan Doyle super sleuth’ Oxford Times

Rollercoaster crypto-thriller ... move over Lara Croft! (Five stars)’ Daily Express

‘A fast-paced Biblical thriller backed by impeccable research. Fans of The Da Vinci Code will love this!’ JF Penn, bestselling author of the Arkane series

I did not get much sleep ... page-turning ... ’ Nancy Bilyeau, bestselling author of The Crown, The Chalice, The Tapestry

‘This book burns ... grabs one’s attention at page one and won’t let go until the very end ... excitement, drama, action ... breathless ... riveting read’ The Square Magazine

Read more
Collapse

About the author

Dominic Selwood is a fan of everything historical, the quirkier the better. He writes on history for the UK’s Daily Telegraph, and contributes to a range of other newspapers and magazines. He appears regularly on television and radio. He is the author of Knights of the Cloister on the Knights Templar, and also writes ghost stories. He has a doctorate from the University of Oxford, and degrees from the Sorbonne, London, Poitiers, and Wales. He has taught and lectured in the UK and Europe on warfare, religion, the crusades, Templars, heresy, law, and all the fun stuff. He is an elected Fellow of the Royal Historical Society, and lives in London with his wife and their two children. www.dominicselwood.com

Read more
Collapse
4.6
7 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Canelo
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Oct 31, 2016
Read more
Collapse
Pages
500
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9781911420163
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Action & Adventure
Fiction / Mystery & Detective / Historical
Fiction / Mystery & Detective / Women Sleuths
Fiction / Thrillers / Supernatural
Fiction / Thrillers / Suspense
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM free.
Read more
Collapse
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
An ancient evil has been unleashed. Someone must stop it.

The gripping and bestselling first Ava Curzon thriller that will keep you hooked until the very end

Dr Ava Curzon is Lara Croft meets Evelyn Salt – the first real challenger to Dan Brown's Robert Langdon.

“Rollercoaster crypto-thriller ... a ride that thrills and educates ... move over Lara Croft!” (Daily Express – Five Star – Pick of the Week)

“ONE OF THE TOP 5 RELIGIOUS THRILLERS OF ALL TIME” (BestThrillers.com)

When former MI6 agent turned archaeologist Dr Ava Curzon is engaged by American intelligence to track down an African militia claiming to hold the Ark of the Covenant, she is plunged into a world where nothing is what it seems.

Her breakneck descent into the shadowy realm of dark biblical magic hurls her across continents and into the opaque worlds of the Knights Templar, freemasons, occultists, and extremist neo-Nazis, pushing her mentally and physically to the limits.

As the plot twists and turns across the centuries, she requires all her skills to solve a trail of ancient clues leading her inexorably towards a terrifying ritual. Taking centre stage, she faces the ultimate battle against an age-old evil she must stop at all costs. For readers of Dan Brown and Kate Mosse, comes The Sword of Moses, an extraordinary and gripping adventure.

The Ava Curzon ThrillersThe Sword of MosesThe Apocalypse FireBook 3 coming 2017

Thriller - occult - bible - code - Templar - freemasonry - nazi - archaeology - ark of the covenant

"A brilliantly fun and informative read. Dominic Selwood has taken the juiciest bits of history from the past two thousand years and put them together in one marvellous volume. Selwood is a rare blend of insightful historian and thrilling writer. Cracking along at a breakneck pace reminiscent of Dan Brown,Spies, Sadists and Sorcerers is as perfect for the beach as it is for serious historical background reading."   

Claudia Gold author of The King's Mistress: The True and Scandalous Story of the Woman Who Stole the Heart of George I and Women Who Ruled: History's 50 Most Remarkable Women 


Spies, Sadists and Sorcerers unveils the history you were never taught at school. With a breath-taking sweep spanning Rome to the modern day, popular historian and author Dominic Selwood challenges the traditional version of some of the best-known events of the past. From ancient Christianity to the voyages of Columbus, and from the medieval Crusades to ISIS and the modern Middle East, this book debunks dozens of historical myths. 

You will learn that: 

– Magna Carta was an infamous failure in medieval times 
– Richard the Lionheart was a cruel and dreadful king 
– The Knights Templar were heretical, and have left a genuinely baffling mystery
– The painter of the Turin Shroud was found in the 1300s 
– Christopher Columbus never saw America 
– The first computer coder was a woman, a century before Alan Turing 
– The man who unleashed mustard gas in the World War One trenches won the Nobel Prize for chemistry 
– One incredible Spanish spy saved D-Day 

... and lots more. This book will challenge everything you think you know about history!
©2019 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.