The Apocalypse Fire

Canelo
10
Free sample

The stakes don’t get any higher...

When the Turin Shroud is stolen in a violent assault, archaeologist and former spy Ava Curzon is plunged into a desperate struggle against the leader of an apocalyptic Russian cult

Recruited by the UK’s clandestine MI13 intelligence agency – and aided by the Vatican’s security division and her former colleague Ferguson – Ava is sucked into a world of dark extremism and Biblical secrets.

As the chase catapults her around Europe, she must unravel the mysteries of an ancient icon belonging to the shadowy Order of Malta. With time running out, and cataclysmic war in the Middle East the price of failure, the world stands on the brink...

Perfect for readers of Dan Brown and Scott Mariani, this crypto-thriller from the masterful Dominic Selwood will keep you gripped until the very end.

Praise for The Apocalypse Fire

'Imagine the best of James Bond and the Da Vinci Code rolled into one, and that is what you get with this book.' Soldier Magazine

'Keeps the tension ratcheted up ... Selwood breathes life into the conspiracy thriller by knowing his history and deploying it well.' The Catholic Herald

'A fantastic book ... a rip-roaring page-turner ... among the cream of the crop in its genre.' Barnsey's Books

'Expertly paced and filled with explosive action.' A Literary Vacation

'The fast pace of the story continues throughout ... Selwood is one to watch.' Quench Magazine

Read more
Collapse

About the author

Dominic Selwood is a fan of everything historical, the quirkier the better. He writes on history for the UK’s Daily Telegraph, and contributes to a range of other newspapers and magazines. He appears regularly on television and radio. He is the author of Knights of the Cloister on the Knights Templar, and also writes ghost stories. He has a doctorate from the University of Oxford, and degrees from the Sorbonne, London, Poitiers, and Wales. He has taught and lectured in the UK and Europe on warfare, religion, the crusades, Templars, heresy, law, and all the fun stuff. He is an elected Fellow of the Royal Historical Society, and lives in London with his wife and their two children. www.dominicselwood.com

Read more
Collapse
4.5
10 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Canelo
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Oct 31, 2016
Read more
Collapse
Pages
500
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9781911420163
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Action & Adventure
Fiction / Mystery & Detective / Historical
Fiction / Mystery & Detective / Women Sleuths
Fiction / Thrillers / Supernatural
Fiction / Thrillers / Suspense
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM free.
Read more
Collapse
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
An evocative tale of intrigue, romance, and treachery, Carol Goodman’s spellbinding new novel, The Night Villa, follows the fascinating lives of two remarkable women centuries apart.

The eruption of Italy’s Mount Vesuvius in A.D. 79 buried a city and its people, their treasures and secrets. Centuries later, echoes of this disaster resonate with profound consequences in the life of classics professor Sophie Chase.

In the aftermath of a tragic shooting on the University of Texas campus, Sophie seeks sanctuary on the isle of Capri, immersing herself in her latest scholarly project alongside her colleagues, her star pupil, and their benefactor, the compelling yet enigmatic business mogul John Lyros.

Beneath layers of volcanic ash lies the Villa della Notte–the Night Villa–home to first-century nobles, as well as to the captivating slave girl at the heart of an ancient controversy. And secreted in a subterranean labyrinth rests a cache of antique documents believed lost to the ages: a prize too tantalizing for Sophie to resist. But suspicion, fear, and danger roam the long-untrodden tunnels and chambers beneath the once sumptuous estate–especially after Sophie sees the face of her former lover in the darkness, leaving her to wonder if she is chasing shadows or succumbing to the siren song of the Night Villa. Whatever shocking events transpired in the face of Vesuvius’s fury have led to deeper, darker machinations that inexorably draw Sophie into their vortex, rich in stunning revelations and laden with unseen menace.

Praise for The Night Villa

“Visit The Night Villa: Carol Goodman’ s luminous prose and superb storytelling will keep you entertained into the late hours.”—Nancy Pickard

“The pleasure of a Carol Goodman novel is in her enviable command of the classical canon–and the deft way she [writes] a book that’s light enough for a weekend on the beach but literary enough for a weekend in the Hamptons.”—Chicago Tribune
"A brilliantly fun and informative read. Dominic Selwood has taken the juiciest bits of history from the past two thousand years and put them together in one marvellous volume. Selwood is a rare blend of insightful historian and thrilling writer. Cracking along at a breakneck pace reminiscent of Dan Brown,Spies, Sadists and Sorcerers is as perfect for the beach as it is for serious historical background reading."   

Claudia Gold author of The King's Mistress: The True and Scandalous Story of the Woman Who Stole the Heart of George I and Women Who Ruled: History's 50 Most Remarkable Women 


Spies, Sadists and Sorcerers unveils the history you were never taught at school. With a breath-taking sweep spanning Rome to the modern day, popular historian and author Dominic Selwood challenges the traditional version of some of the best-known events of the past. From ancient Christianity to the voyages of Columbus, and from the medieval Crusades to ISIS and the modern Middle East, this book debunks dozens of historical myths. 

You will learn that: 

– Magna Carta was an infamous failure in medieval times 
– Richard the Lionheart was a cruel and dreadful king 
– The Knights Templar were heretical, and have left a genuinely baffling mystery
– The painter of the Turin Shroud was found in the 1300s 
– Christopher Columbus never saw America 
– The first computer coder was a woman, a century before Alan Turing 
– The man who unleashed mustard gas in the World War One trenches won the Nobel Prize for chemistry 
– One incredible Spanish spy saved D-Day 

... and lots more. This book will challenge everything you think you know about history!
NOW THE ACCLAIMED HBO SERIES GAME OF THRONES—THE MASTERPIECE THAT BECAME A CULTURAL PHENOMENON
 
Winter is coming. Such is the stern motto of House Stark, the northernmost of the fiefdoms that owe allegiance to King Robert Baratheon in far-off King’s Landing. There Eddard Stark of Winterfell rules in Robert’s name. There his family dwells in peace and comfort: his proud wife, Catelyn; his sons Robb, Brandon, and Rickon; his daughters Sansa and Arya; and his bastard son, Jon Snow. Far to the north, behind the towering Wall, lie savage Wildings and worse—unnatural things relegated to myth during the centuries-long summer, but proving all too real and all too deadly in the turning of the season.
 
Yet a more immediate threat lurks to the south, where Jon Arryn, the Hand of the King, has died under mysterious circumstances. Now Robert is riding north to Winterfell, bringing his queen, the lovely but cold Cersei, his son, the cruel, vainglorious Prince Joffrey, and the queen’s brothers Jaime and Tyrion of the powerful and wealthy House Lannister—the first a swordsman without equal, the second a dwarf whose stunted stature belies a brilliant mind. All are heading for Winterfell and a fateful encounter that will change the course of kingdoms.
 
Meanwhile, across the Narrow Sea, Prince Viserys, heir of the fallen House Targaryen, which once ruled all of Westeros, schemes to reclaim the throne with an army of barbarian Dothraki—whose loyalty he will purchase in the only coin left to him: his beautiful yet innocent sister, Daenerys.
©2019 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.