When the Shoe Won't Fit: A Fantasy Short Story

TTO Publishing
Free sample

An unusual fairy tale for all ages.

Just because it’s always been that way doesn’t make it right.

Teased by the young fairies for her clumsiness and large feet, Tiptoe believes she's a failure as a fairy. She's confined to the creche where only the babies can see her, and every time she leaves it, it's all Tiptoe can do to avoid damaging the fairy village.

Then a human prince is added to her charges, and she starts to wonder if her differences are more than just flaws. In helping an innocent baby, a new world is opened to her.

When the Shoe Won't Fit originally appeared in the online magazine, Aurora Wolf, and the related anthology, Aurora in the Dawn.

This is an updated version available in eBook format.

Read more

About the author

 Margaret McGaffey Fisk is a storyteller whose tales often cross genres and worlds to bring events and characters to life. She currently writes science fiction, steampunk, fantasy, and romance,  but will go wherever the story takes her. Foreign Service brat, data entry clerk, veterinary tech, editor, manager, and freelancer are among the roles she’s lived, giving depth to the cultures and people that form the heart of her works. As her website is titled, she offers tales to tide you over.


Read more
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
TTO Publishing
Read more
Published on
Jun 16, 2016
Read more
Pages
42
Read more
ISBN
9781631390210
Read more
Features
Read more
Language
English
Read more
Genres
Fiction / Fairy Tales, Folk Tales, Legends & Mythology
Fiction / Fantasy / General
Juvenile Fiction / Fairy Tales & Folklore / General
Young Adult Fiction / Fantasy / General
Read more
Content Protection
This content is DRM free.
Read more
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
With five starred reviews, Tomi Adeyemi’s West African-inspired fantasy debut, and instant #1 New York Times Bestseller, conjures a world of magic and danger, perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Sabaa Tahir.

They killed my mother.
They took our magic.
They tried to bury us.

Now we rise.

Zélie Adebola remembers when the soil of Orïsha hummed with magic. Burners ignited flames, Tiders beckoned waves, and Zélie’s Reaper mother summoned forth souls.

But everything changed the night magic disappeared. Under the orders of a ruthless king, maji were killed, leaving Zélie without a mother and her people without hope.

Now Zélie has one chance to bring back magic and strike against the monarchy. With the help of a rogue princess, Zélie must outwit and outrun the crown prince, who is hell-bent on eradicating magic for good.

Danger lurks in Orïsha, where snow leoponaires prowl and vengeful spirits wait in the waters. Yet the greatest danger may be Zélie herself as she struggles to control her powers and her growing feelings for an enemy.

"A phenomenon." —Entertainment Weekly

“The epic I’ve been waiting for.” —New York Times-bestselling author Marie Lu

“You will be changed. You will be ready to rise up and reclaim your own magic!” —New York Times-bestselling author Dhonielle Clayton

“The next big thing in literature and film.” —Ebony

“One of the biggest young adult fiction debut book deals of theyear.” —Teen Vogue

This title has Common Core connections.

#1 New York Times bestseller, March 14, 2018

A Steampunk Alternate History set in the Victorian Era with sentient machines only a select few can hear, and for that they're considered monsters.

To protect his family, Henry will change the law itself.

The Natural laws declare anyone with the knack to transform machinery an inhuman criminal regardless of their actions. Henry has railed against this Act of Parliament in private, but finally he has the chance to fight back.

Lily’s health has suffered under the constant strain of sheltering a fugitive Natural, and an untimely word would have condemned every person on the estate. Henry had hoped sending his wife’s sister to safety on the Continent would bring relief from the threat that has been hanging over the manor and ease his wife’s suffering. Instead, disaster struck. Sam is missing with no word beyond vague rumors, and Lily grows ever worse.

If Henry can overturn the law that brands all Naturals as monsters and condemns those who help them, he’ll be able to search for Sam openly. He will bring her home and make their family whole again, drawing Lily out of her decline.

He has only to sway his peers in Parliament, a daunting task when his moral appeal fails. Nor does fate keep its hands out of the striving, choosing to send more complications the way of Lily and the manor in his absence.

His wife is dying and her sister is lost. Who better than Henry to take on all of England in their cause?


This is the fourth book in The Steamship Chronicles.

Suggestion: While the first and second volumes of The Steamship Chronicles can be read in either order, reading Book 1, Secrets, which is free in eBook, will allow you to see firsthand what drives both Henry and Lily.

Pick up your copy of Life and Law, and join Henry as he attempts to right a great wrong and win freedom for all Naturals in England.

A Steampunk Alternate History set in the Victorian Era with sentient machines only a select few can hear, and for that they're considered monsters.

To protect his family, Henry will change the law itself.

The Natural laws declare anyone with the knack to transform machinery an inhuman criminal regardless of their actions. Henry has railed against this Act of Parliament in private, but finally he has the chance to fight back.

Lily’s health has suffered under the constant strain of sheltering a fugitive Natural, and an untimely word would have condemned every person on the estate. Henry had hoped sending his wife’s sister to safety on the Continent would bring relief from the threat that has been hanging over the manor and ease his wife’s suffering. Instead, disaster struck. Sam is missing with no word beyond vague rumors, and Lily grows ever worse.

If Henry can overturn the law that brands all Naturals as monsters and condemns those who help them, he’ll be able to search for Sam openly. He will bring her home and make their family whole again, drawing Lily out of her decline.

He has only to sway his peers in Parliament, a daunting task when his moral appeal fails. Nor does fate keep its hands out of the striving, choosing to send more complications the way of Lily and the manor in his absence.

His wife is dying and her sister is lost. Who better than Henry to take on all of England in their cause?


This is the fourth book in The Steamship Chronicles.

Suggestion: While the first and second volumes of The Steamship Chronicles can be read in either order, reading Book 1, Secrets, which is free in eBook, will allow you to see firsthand what drives both Henry and Lily.

Pick up your copy of Life and Law, and join Henry as he attempts to right a great wrong and win freedom for all Naturals in England.

©2018 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.