The Swimmers

Canelo

‘Something of Kafka, something of Lynch, something of Auster’ Diario de León

Jonás Ager is disappearing: a recent separation has left him aimless, his once promising photography career has ground to a halt, and his assignments at the newspaper are drying up. And an ever-deepening mystery is threatening to engulf him. His mother disappeared without a trace two weeks ago; his gallerist can’t locate his fellow photographer Oliver; and every time he and his best friend Sergio visit the pool for their regular swim, another lane is empty. An entire city seems to be evaporating into thin air.

For readers of The New York Trilogy and The Trial, The Swimmers is an unsettling journey through modern city life: a detective story without a detective, and an investigation into a mystery that defies explanation.

Joaquín Pérez Azaústre is a Spanish writer. He has published several novels, including La suite Manolete, for which he was awarded IX Premio Fundación Unicaja Fernando Quiñones in 2007, as well as a number of poetry collections and a collection of short stories. A journalist and columnist, he has also won the Premio Adonáis de Poesía, the Premio Loewe and the Premio Loewe a la Creación Joven, among other prizes.

‘This is an excellent novel, reminiscent of the work of Verlaine, Proust, and Kafka. Immerse yourself in this book (if you dare).’ Mobile Perceptions

‘So if I say that Azaústre's The Swimmers makes me think an awful lot of Kundera's Immortality, you must understand that I intend to pay it a compliment of high order.’ Davey Jones, Amazon.com

‘Joaquín Pérez Azaústre displays a mesmerizing command over language ... his journey through a twisted maze of societal fears and personal demons is eye-opening.’ Typographical Era

Read more
Collapse
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Canelo
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Jun 13, 2016
Read more
Collapse
Pages
277
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9781911420774
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / General
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
©2019 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.