Dictionary for Air Travel and Tourism Activities: Over 7,100 Terms on Airlines, Tourism, Hospitality, Cruises, Car Rentals, Gds, Geography, Climate, Ecology, Business, Customs, and Organizations Subjects

iUniverse
1
Free sample

Travel and Tourism are wide and multifaceted systems whose complexity is reflected in the terminology employed to describe them or to operate them. Their communication language appears at times secretive; but there is no secrecy, in fact. Travel activities are bound to a vehicle distinguished by its velocity. Operating such activities demands, therefore, a communication system able to match such rapidity. It is required that all performers are fluent in travel terminology, including students, airlines staff, travel agents, and other service providers. The Dictionary for Travel and Tourism Activities has been designed to solve the need to learn, understand and succeed with the most common terms and expressions used by these so-called Industries. It is an educational tool for students and professionals, but is also an understanding means for travelers.
Read more
Collapse

About the author

Homero Martinez is involved in travel business for over 30 years, while working for Air France, Lufthansa, and Japan Airlines; teaching at universities and conducting accreditation seminars for travel agents. He is an Air Law attorney and author of many papers and books.

Read more
Collapse
5.0
1 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
iUniverse
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Oct 22, 2008
Read more
Collapse
Pages
628
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9780595627622
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Best For
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Business & Economics / Industries / Hospitality, Travel & Tourism
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
In the tradition of Kitchen Confidential and Waiter Rant, a rollicking, eye-opening, fantastically indiscreet memoir of a life spent (and misspent) in the hotel industry.

Jacob Tomsky never intended to go into the hotel business. As a new college graduate, armed only with a philosophy degree and a singular lack of career direction, he became a valet parker for a large luxury hotel in New Orleans. Yet, rising fast through the ranks, he ended up working in “hospitality” for more than a decade, doing everything from supervising the housekeeping department to manning the front desk at an upscale Manhattan hotel. He’s checked you in, checked you out, separated your white panties from the white bed sheets, parked your car, tasted your room-service meals, cleaned your toilet, denied you a late checkout, given you a wake-up call, eaten M&Ms out of your minibar, laughed at your jokes, and taken your money. In Heads in Beds he pulls back the curtain to expose the crazy and compelling reality of a multi-billion-dollar industry we think we know.

Heads in Beds is a funny, authentic, and irreverent chronicle of the highs and lows of hotel life, told by a keenly observant insider who’s seen it all. Prepare to be amused, shocked, and amazed as he spills the unwritten code of the bellhops, the antics that go on in the valet parking garage, the housekeeping department’s dirty little secrets—not to mention the shameless activities of the guests, who are rarely on their best behavior. Prepare to be moved, too, by his candor about what it’s like to toil in a highly demanding service industry at the luxury level, where people expect to get what they pay for (and often a whole lot more). Employees are poorly paid and frequently abused by coworkers and guests alike, and maintaining a semblance of sanity is a daily challenge.

Along his journey Tomsky also reveals the secrets of the industry, offering easy ways to get what you need from your hotel without any hassle. This book (and a timely proffered twenty-dollar bill) will help you score late checkouts and upgrades, get free stuff galore, and make that pay-per-view charge magically disappear. Thanks to him you’ll know how to get the very best service from any business that makes its money from putting heads in beds. Or, at the very least, you will keep the bellmen from taking your luggage into the camera-free back office and bashing it against the wall repeatedly.

From the New York Times bestselling author of Evidence of Harm and Animal Factory—a groundbreaking scientific thriller that exposes the dark side of SeaWorld, America's most beloved marine mammal park

Death at SeaWorld centers on the battle with the multimillion-dollar marine park industry over the controversial and even lethal ramifications of keeping killer whales in captivity. Following the story of marine biologist and animal advocate at the Humane Society of the US, Naomi Rose, Kirby tells the gripping story of the two-decade fight against PR-savvy SeaWorld, which came to a head with the tragic death of trainer Dawn Brancheau in 2010. Kirby puts that horrific animal-on-human attack in context. Brancheau's death was the most publicized among several brutal attacks that have occurred at Sea World and other marine mammal theme parks.

Death at SeaWorld introduces real people taking part in this debate, from former trainers turned animal rights activists to the men and women that champion SeaWorld and the captivity of whales. In section two the orcas act out. And as the story progresses and orca attacks on trainers become increasingly violent, the warnings of Naomi Rose and other scientists fall on deaf ears, only to be realized with the death of Dawn Brancheau. Finally he covers the media backlash, the eyewitnesses who come forward to challenge SeaWorld's glossy image, and the groundbreaking OSHA case that
challenges the very idea of keeping killer whales in captivity and may spell the end of having trainers in the water with the ocean's top predators.

Get insider details on how to operate a successful bar

Running a Bar For Dummies, 2nd Edition shows established and future bar owners how to establish and maintain a successful business. Using clear, concise language, this For Dummies guide contains all the information you need to start your bar off on the right foot. From grand opening to last call, you'll discover the insider tricks that keep the business end running smoothly and the customers happily engaged. With updated information on marketing and social media, the book walks you step by step through the entire process, revealing the nitty-gritty details most new bar owners only discover after starting.

The bar business continues to grow; however, securing running capital and having knowledge about the business are cited as the two biggest reasons new bars fail. Running a Bar For Dummies, 2nd Edition shines a light on these issues to help bar owners prepare properly. The book helps you find your way through the maze of licensing and permits, developing a business plan, and preparing for your grand opening, plus offers clear, no-nonsense guidance on dealing with tough customers. Every step of the way, Running a Bar For Dummies, 2nd Edition is a reference you can count on.

Understand the bar business and important legal issues Stock the necessities, including equipment and inventory Promote your business using marketing and social media Manage expenses and control cash flow

When run correctly, a bar can be an extremely profitable business, but the key to success is knowing exactly what you're getting into. By recognizing common problems and teach you how to adapt quickly to changing conditions, Running a Bar For Dummies, 2nd Edition provides the information you need to develop those skills, and get your bar started.

©2019 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.