The Reluctant Coroner

Fenway Stevenson Mysteries

Book 1
Pax Ardsen
Free sample

Blood is thicker than oil—until murder is involved.

Fenway Stevenson doesn't want to return to the coastal town where her estranged father is practically king. But the death of her mother draws her back home—and the murder of the county coroner draws her into a deepening conspiracy. As the body count rises and all signs seem to point toward her father's oil company, will Fenway uncover the truth before family bonds become deadly?


Keywords: Female detective, biracial sleuth, coroner mystery, female coroner, forensic science mystery, beach town murder investigation.


Perfect for fans of Sue Grafton, Patricia Cornwell, and NCIS.

Read more
Collapse

About the author

Paul Austin Ardoin is a California native and the author of the Fenway Stevenson Mysteries. A graduate of University of California at Santa Barbara with a B.A. in creative writing, Ardoin has published short fiction and humorous essays in the anthologies Bottomfish and Sweet Fancy Moses, and articles about computer security in California Computer News and European Communications. When he’s not writing novels or trying to save the world through better computer security, Paul plays keyboards in a dance rock band. He lives in the Sacramento area with his wife, two teenagers, and a menagerie of animals.

Read more
Collapse
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Pax Ardsen
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Oct 11, 2018
Read more
Collapse
Pages
348
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9781949082005
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / African American / Mystery & Detective
Fiction / Mystery & Detective / Hard-Boiled
Fiction / Mystery & Detective / Women Sleuths
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM free.
Read more
Collapse
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
In the South, the past can never be forgotten . . . or forgiven.

When Alain Darnay suddenly reappears on Hilton Head, Bay Tanner believes she and her former lover can finally settle into something resembling a normal life. But her tenuous peace is shattered by an innocent-looking boy with cold blue eyes who will force her to relive the nightmare of her husband's murder, to face that terrifying summer of treachery, deceit, and death.

Cart Anderson, a recently orphaned teenager burning with resentment, wants to know how and why his father, Geoffrey, died, and he's convinced Bay has the answers. But shortly after a confrontation with her in the parking lot of a glitzy resort hotel, the boy disappears. His empty car is found splattered with blood at an abandoned fort on nearby St. Helena Island, and suddenly Bay and her lover find themselves the chief suspects. When retired New York homicide detective Ben Wyler enters the case, the web of circumstantial evidence against them begins to pile up.

But what does the ancient black woman, whose ramshackle cottage sits next to the old fort, know about the boy's disappearance? And why is the entire county so willing to believe Bay is guilty? Enlisting the aid of her former partner, Erik Whiteside, and an ambitious local reporter, Bay begins to unravel a plot so intricate, so devious, it could shatter not only her own life but those of everyone she holds dear.

From the gated enclaves of the Southern aristocracy to the dusty, echoing passageways of an abandoned fort, from the secret vaults of an offshore bank to the twisted mind of a vengeful child, Resurrection Road speeds to a deadly confrontation that will alter Bay Tanner's world forever.

"The White House is a fast-paced thriller that doesn't disappoint."
--Urban Reviews

"White House by JaQuavis Coleman starts with a bang and will leave you wanting more."
--Book Referees

"Kidnapping, murder, and mayhem lead [Draya]--and the reader--through a harrowing and twisting plot to an explosive ending that no one sees coming."
--Reading in Black & White

"The White House is one of my most personal books ever. I took from a real-life situation and told a story that has been Detroit's secret for years. I'm bringing that to the forefront with my own twist. This venture with Infamous and Akashic feels right...It feels good. They are very in tune with my culture and style of writing which makes this a perfect situation for me."
--JaQuavis Coleman on The White House

The White House is based on true events, reimagining the dark chronicles of a notorious drug kingpin's death, and the unfortunate events that followed.

The young heroine Draya lives paycheck to paycheck, laboring as a maid in a luxurious white house. One day, in the course of performing her duties, she is presented with an irresistible opportunity for a quick--and risky--payday. What unfolds in the white house changes the course of her life. Kidnapping, murder, and mayhem lead her--and the reader--through a harrowing and twisting plot to an explosive ending that no one sees coming. Look through the eyes of this young woman and glimpse how a life can forever be altered due to an unfortunate series of events--all touched off in a legendary white house.

Infamous Books, curated by Albert "Prodigy" Johnson of the legendary hip-hop group Mobb Deep, is a revolutionary partnership that pairs the Infamous Records brand with Brooklyn-based independent publisher Akashic Books. Infamous Books' mission is to connect readers worldwide to crime fiction and street lit authors both familiar and new.
Selected for the Library Services for Youth in Custody 2015 In The Margins List

One of Library Journal's Best African American Fiction Books of 2014

"[A] heart-thumping thriller...K'wan does a masterful job of keeping readers on their toes right up to the very last page."
--Publishers Weekly

"Fans expecting another thug-in-the-street story will be pleasantly surprised at this rough police procedural."
--Library Journal

"K'wan steadily builds to a frantic, movie-worthy climax."
--Entertainment Weekly

Included in Written Magazine's "Publisher's Picks: 30-Books-in-90-Days" list

"Yet another heart-thumping thriller by this Hip Hop author who delivers."
--Library Services for Youth in Custody

"This book features the sublime story and character development that K'wan is known for."
--Urban Reviews

"One of hip-hop fiction's hottest authors."
--King

"The legacies of Iceberg Slim and Donald Goines are forever preserved."
--Upscale

"Black Lotus is an absolutely riveting read...an edge-of-the-seat nail-biter...you won't be disappointed."
--Zachary Mule

"Well-written at a fast pace...the suspense is cutting edge and cunning. Even if you are on top of your sleuth game, you will not figure out the game players or assassin until the end...Hats off to you K'wan."
--Ski-wee's Book Corner

Detective James Wolf earned the nickname Lone Wolf from his inability to work with a partner. He's a hard cop who doesn't mind bending the rules to the point of breaking them to make a case, which is why Internal Affairs is digging in his backyard, looking for buried bones. People are starting to wonder: Which side of the law is the Lone Wolf really hunting for? His career hanging on by a thread, he needs a major show of good faith to keep employed and out of prison. That's when he gets the call.

From the moment he arrives at the crime scene, Detective Wolf knows that he's in over his head. He's a narcotics detective, called in to consult on a homicide, but this is no ordinary homicide--a priest was butchered and left for dead inside his own church, with the promise of more bodies to follow. The only lead is the killer's calling card: a black lotus flower left at the crime scene. Detective Wolf now has the opportunity to quietly track and stop the Black Lotus before the next victim is claimed, in exchange for wiping his service record clean.

Accepting this case started as Detective Wolf's attempt to get Internal Affairs off his back. But when his hunt for the Black Lotus leads him to a cold case from his past, it becomes personal.

Infamous Books, curated by Albert "Prodigy" Johnson of the legendary hip-hop group Mobb Deep, is a revolutionary partnership that pairs the Infamous Records brand with Brooklyn-based independent publisher Akashic Books. Infamous Books' mission is to connect readers worldwide to crime fiction and street lit authors both familiar and new.
©2019 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.