By Blood and Magic: A fae and dragon shifter fantasy slow burn romance

· The Dragon Portal Book 2 · Hidden Realms Publishing
4.8
63 reviews
Ebook
423
Pages
Eligible

About this ebook

Read the new romantic fantasy series by award-winning author, Jamie A. Waters…


A priceless treasure is hidden within the ocean’s depths…


Sabine barely managed to escape from Akros with her life. 


But the ocean isn’t safe for someone whose power stems from the forests.


When their ship is attacked on the high seas and one of Sabine’s companions is taken hostage, only an agreement forged by blood and magic may save her friend’s life. 


The pearl of the sea is also the key to the gods’ revenge…


With the dragon portal failing and the gods’ magic threatening to destroy their world, Sabine must choose between following her heart or upholding a sacred oath.


The cost of ending a centuries-old feud may be higher than anyone expected.


All magic demands a sacrifice—even if it’s hers.


By Blood and Magic is the second novel in The Dragon Portal series, a slow-burn romantic fantasy featuring fae, dragons, and demons. This is an action-packed adventure that will keep you on the edge of your seat into all hours of the night. Perfect for fans of T.A. White, Ilona Andrews, Sarah J. Maas, and Jennifer L. Armentrout. Enjoy!

4.8
63 reviews
Keyla Damaer
May 15, 2020
By blood and Magic is the second instalment of a fantasy series. Sabine is travelling toa dwarven city on a special quest as a guest on Malek’s boat. Blossom the pixie and Bane the demon accompany her in this adventure to protect her from the dragon, but Sabine doesn’t need protection. Malek is deeply in love with her, something already clear from the end of the first book of the series. The last thing he wants is to harm her. And he happens to be a valid and brave companion. What I loved about this book, like the previous one, is the prose. Jamie Waters has the power to make me wanna read more and more even when some parts of the story keep repeating over and over the same concepts. Blossom is adorable, definitely my favourite character. Bane instead becomes the shadow of himself, and his sudden change of heart towards Malek seemed rather out of character. I read the first book for Readersfavorite but decided to buy this one because I wanted to see how the story proceeded. I intend to buy the next book too. I’m curious to see how this love story ends up.
3 people found this review helpful
Did you find this helpful?
Scherry Jenkins
March 3, 2020
Wow! Seriously WOW! I received an advance copy of this amazing book and now I can't wait for Book #3 in this series. From the very first page there was action and adventure and mystery and all things wonderful in a book. "By Blood and Magic" starts where "To Kill a Fae", Book #1 of this series left off, but with a whole new location and a whole new adventure. As much as I love to read, I don't tend to get this excited about a series. I'm so glad to see there are more upcoming books in the works! This Dragon Portal series is everything I want and love in a book series. The characters are amazing and there is magic, demons, dragons, merfolk, mystery, adventure, romance and a touch of humor with the pixie, Blossom. I love the worlds this author has created and how new alliances are being formed with each new adventure. And I loved how the different cultures were shown to the reader, and how these characters came to be as they are. Fascinating how I could visualize it all! The story starts off with the ship they are traveling on coming under attack with prisoners being taken and a trade being negotiated, all the while keeping the main objective to seal the portal in sight. Without giving away any spoilers, let me tell you that as soon as you think Sabine and Malek are safe, another danger is thrown at them. This book kept me on the edge of my seat and I couldn't wait to get to the end to find out what happens but at the same time not wanting it to end! I can't wait for more! Pre-ordering Book #3 now!
1 person found this review helpful
Did you find this helpful?
mute wonder
November 9, 2020
I was impressed by book 1, but this one tops it and I can't wait to read the next in the series! Riveting action from the start, and a straight continuation from the previous book; i know because i finished book 1 and IMMEDIATELY opened book 2! The same thing happened for book 3, but I'll save that for the appropriate review. So, we lose some main characters, but pick up new ones here. A LOT HAPPENS. Our protagonists have left the city on their quest(s) and visit several new locations. Some sea, some desert, and more. The world building is fantastic, and it's satisfying to meet the variety of peoples inhabiting this world. Some recurring themes are conflicting viewpoints and histories. Moving about this world, you visit much more xenophobic people, despite thriving travel and trade. Desert people hate demons and magic. Whoops.... I received a free copy of this book via Booksprout and am voluntarily leaving a review
Did you find this helpful?

About the author

Jamie A. Waters is an award-winning, fantasy and science-fiction writer. Her first novel was a winner of the Readers' Favorite Award in Science-Fiction/Fantasy Romance and the CIPA EVVY Award in Science-Fiction. 


Jamie currently resides in Florida with two neurotic dogs who enjoy stealing socks. When she's not pursuing her passion of writing, she's usually trying to learn new and interesting random things (like how to pick locks or use the self-cleaning feature of the oven without setting off the fire alarm). In her downtime, she enjoys reading on her Kindle, playing computer games, painting, or acting as a referee between the dragons and fairies currently at war inside her closet. 


You can learn more by visiting: www.jamieawaters.com

Rate this book

Tell us what you think.

Reading information

Smartphones and tablets
Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.
Laptops and computers
You can listen to audiobooks purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.
eReaders and other devices
To read on e-ink devices like Kobo eReaders, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Follow the detailed Help Center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.