Gingerbread Girl

Gingerbread Girl

Sold by Top Shelf Productions
6

"Complex and engaging... I found this graphic novel to be enthralling." -- Mark Frauenfelder, Boing Boing "An engaging, breezy read... Gingerbread Girl captures the romance of being young and kooky in a hip city, while acknowledging that sometimes what seems like conscious eccentricity masks deeper issues."-- Noel Murray, The AV Club "A delight to read on every page... It has charm to burn."-- Hillary Brown, Paste Magazine "A tasty delight."-- Jonathan Rigby, Page 45 "Thought provoking, interesting and fun... The story examines psychology, imagination, human behaviour, childhood, fantasy, interaction between people, friendship, and love all in 104 pages and yet it never feels heavy or brooding, but always light, interesting and cheerful."-- Phil Oldham, Comic Buzz "I'm absolutely in love with Gingerbread Girl, and I'm already dying for another Tobin and Coover collaboration."-- Greg McElhatton, Read About Comics "The pictures are pretty! There's a talking pigeon!"-- Carolyn Yates, Autostraddle There are many verifiable facts concerning 26-year-old Annah Billips. She likes sushi and mountains and piglets, but hates paper cuts and beer breath. She flirts with girls and boys, and loves to travel. She might have a missing sister... or she might be totally insane. Did Annah invent an imaginary sister named Ginger during her parents' traumatic divorce? Or did her mad scientist father extract part of her brain and transform it into a living twin? In this whimsical, thought-provoking graphic novel, a host of narrators (including boyfriends, girlfriends, neighbors, bystanders, magicians, and passing animals) try their best to unlock the mystery of Annah... and the Gingerbread Girl.
Read more
Collapse
3.2
6 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Top Shelf Productions
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Dec 31, 2011
Read more
Collapse
Pages
115
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9781603091800
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Comics & Graphic Novels / General
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
Named one of the best graphic novels of the year by The AV Club, Comic Book Resources, Complex, and Graphic Novel Reporter! "The most prodigiously talented graphic novelist of his [generation] ... Powell's exceptional visual-storytelling gift transforms a potentially obvious antiwar parable into a ravishingly beautiful, emotionally resonant, thoughtful, and provocative work of art."-- Booklist (starred review) "Vivid and imaginative... The timely, innovative storytelling and captivating artwork should particularly appeal to fans of Craig Thompson's Blankets and David Small's Stitches. Highly recommended for both adults and young adults."-- Library Journal (starred review) "Any Empire by Nate Powell is everything a graphic novel should be, and few are. Spare, to the point dialog, fluid and effortless visual storytelling devoid of pretensions, and a story with characters that stick with you. I very rarely read graphic novels because I usually can't get past the first few pages. but Any Empire drew me in from the start and didn't let up."-- Larry Hama, author of GI Joe comics since 1982 "At times poignant, at at others surreal, Any Empire is an engaging, never preachy work about childhood, centering on those secret currents that define our youthful rivalries and the games we play."-- MTV Geek "We've all experienced the world's endless cycle of innocence shattered, and Powell renders it all in lovely chiaroscuro... he crafts memorable and heartfelt characters that linger in the mind and scar the heart."-- Under the Radar Nate Powell, hailed by the London Times as "a writer-artist of genius,"is back. His new book, Any Empire, is a vivid examination of war and violence, and their trickle-down effects on middle America. First, a group of small-town kids find themselves bound together by geography, boredom, and a string of mysterious turtle mutilations. Years later, with Army tanks rolling through the streets of their hometown, these young adults are forced to confront painful questions of privilege, duty, betrayal, and courage. Any Empire recalls aimless summers of Nancy Drew and GI Joe, treehouses and army surplus stores... but when fantasy starts to bleed into reality, whose mission will be accomplished?
©2019 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.