Knowing You

Canelo
2
Free sample

An abrupt change; a new friendship; a dark secret...

Kind-hearted Violet has never fitted in, but despite being bullied at school is now content. She is dating ambitious Lenny, has her dream job in publishing and runs a book club at the local retirement home.

However, when her relationship with Lenny begins to falter, Violet, hurt and alone, seeks the advice of her new flatmate, Bella. She changes her image and with her head held high aims to show that she doesn’t need Lenny in her life to be happy and successful.

Her long-term friends Kath and Farah worry about Bella’s influence and slowly Violet starts to distance herself from them. When she was a child, her closest confidant and companion was a boy called Flint. Her mother didn’t approve of their closeness and he suffered a terrible end. She won’t let the same thing happen to Bella, no matter what anyone says...

Knowing You is about friendship and knowing who to trust with your deepest secrets; it’s about taking control of your life and not being afraid to stand out. Perfect for fans of Ruth Hogan, Gail Honeyman and Amanda Prowse

Praise for Knowing You

'It delves into incredibly difficult subjects with class and sensitivity in a truly spectacular way' Laurie Ellingham, author of One Endless Summer

‘An emotionally-resonant and warm read which is also completely gripping. I read this in one sitting, unable to stop turning the pages’ Sarah Painter, author of The Language of Spells

Read more
Collapse

About the author

Samantha Tonge's passion, second to spending time with her husband and children, is writing. She has travelled widely. When not writing she passes her days cycling, baking and drinking coffee. Her bestselling debut novel, Doubting Abbey, was shortlisted for the Festival of Romantic Fiction best Ebook award. Her novel Game of Scones won the Love Stories Awards Best Romantic Ebook category. She lives in Manchester.

Read more
Collapse
4.5
2 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Canelo
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Mar 14, 2019
Read more
Collapse
Pages
268
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9781788632218
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Action & Adventure
Fiction / Coming of Age
Fiction / Family Life / General
Fiction / Friendship
Fiction / Romance / Contemporary
Fiction / Romance / General
Fiction / Thrillers / Domestic
Fiction / Thrillers / Psychological
Fiction / Thrillers / Suspense
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM free.
Read more
Collapse
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
A touching coming-of-age novel featuring a protagonist who’s the kind of girl every woman wishes she’d had as a best friend growing up

Billie Weinstein sees things most people don’t see. Her sister, Cassie, has always been her touchstone, the person she turns to for advice and guidance, the person whose opinion means the most to her. But ever since Cassie left for college, she’s seemed different—withdrawn, obsessed with studying, and she barely eats. Billie can’t talk to her parents about it; they act as if nothing is wrong, refusing to see the changes in their older daughter.

Now Billie has become Cassie’s confidante, the only one Cassie trusts enough to tell the truth to, and Billie is suddenly thrust into an unfamiliar—and disturbing—role; one that drives her to make choices that will forever change the way she looks at the world.

A poignant story of self-discovery, My Sister’s Bones explores the shifting landscape of family, friendship, and love through the eyes of a young girl possessed of a wisdom far beyond her years. In Billie Weinstein we meet a character as funny, vivid, and endearing as any in recent memory, and watch her transformation as she achieves freedom from the seemingly unbreakable web of family ties.

Praise for My Sister’s Bones

“A poignant but also lively and humorous novel, with characters so believable you expect them to rise up off the page.”—New York Times bestselling author Elizabeth Berg

“My Sister’s Bones works a miracle. . . . Funny and idiosyncratic, elegant and simple . . . [Cathi] Hanauer gives power and dignity to the subject of anorexia.”—The Village Voice

“A persuasive, well-rendered, and rich first novel about family.”—Kirkus Reviews

“Beautifully written . . . Hanauer paints a disturbing picture of the horrific effects of anorexia on patient and family.”—Library Journal
Forgiveness can be hard to come by... An unputdownable new novel from bestseller Samantha Tonge

How far would you go to make amends?

When Emma fled her home at Foxglove Farm, she’d let down and hurt those who cared for her most. But now, two years later, she’s ready to face up to her past; she’s ready to go back.

But Emma’s unannounced return causes more problems than she could have foreseen. The people she knew and loved aren’t ready to forget, let alone forgive. And the one person she wants to reconnect with the most, her mother, can’t remember who she is.

Just as Emma starts to rebuild trust, an uncovered family secret and a shocking past crime threaten her newly forged future...

Sometimes simply saying sorry isn’t enough.

Perfect for readers of Ruth Hogan or Amanda Prowse, this is an extraordinary and unforgettable novel about running away from yourself – and finding a way back.

‘A compelling read, utterly unputdownable; prepare to have your heartstrings pulled and your perceptions challenged.’ Fiona Collins, author of The Sister Swap

'Forgive Me Not is a brave and beautiful book that tackles difficult themes with grace and compassion. It portrays the cruelty and fallibility of human nature against the backdrop of the powerful dual forces of forgiveness and hope, to tell a story that will stay with me for some time. Highly recommended.' Rachel Burton, author of The Many Colours of Us

'Samantha Tonge has created something unique and magical in Forgive Me Not. It’s a one-of-a-kind read!’ Laurie Ellingham, author of One Endless Summer

'A poignant, bittersweet story of finding forgiveness in the hardest of places—home.' Kate Hewitt, author of A Mother's Goodbye

'A touching, poignant read with real heart about the choices we make, the second chances we hope for and the power of forgiveness' - Annie Lyons, author of The Happiness List

'Both touching and thought-provoking with its real-life issues. Emma's story - especially her experiences of rough sleeping - will stay with me for a long time’ – Jennifer Joyce, author of The Bed and Breakfast by the Sea

'Thought-provoking and emotional, Forgive Me Not is a brave and sensitively handled story about one woman's journey home from addiction. There's an honesty in Samantha Tonge's writing that resonated with me, and I cried more than once reading this book' - Fiona Harper, author of The Memory Collector

‘Easily one of the best books I've read this year’ Rachel’s Random Reads


©2019 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.