Amethyst Witch: A Stacy Justice Mystery Book, #0

Dane House LLC

(PREVIOUSLY PUBLISHED as Witch Way To Amethyst)

Stacy Justice is a young reporter who lives in Chicago, far away from the kooky small town of Amethyst, Illinois, where she was raised by a family of witches. She's perfectly content with her career, her cat, and her lack of a love life until her cousin informs her that their grandfather is deathly ill. Stacy road-trips home only to discover that her grandfather was poisoned, her grandmother has confessed to the crime, and there's a new chief in town who is easy on the eyes, but tough on witches.

Now, the reluctant witch must prove her grandmother's innocence, save her grandfather from meeting an untimely end, and fight the killer that's bent on destroying them all.

This is the prequel novel to the Stacy Justice Witch Mysteries—where secrets only lead to more secrets and being the member of a family means that you make sacrifices that can lead to murder.

Read more

About the author

Barbra Annino writes about kick-ass women with a flair for humor and a penchant for trouble. Her bestselling Stacy Justice mystery books have hit the top ten in the Amazon charts multiple times, with Opal Fire claiming the #1 slot. Check out her Everafter series if you like grown up fairy tales, and Sin City Goddess for a steamy paranormal romance. Never miss a release date or freebie by signing up for the Justice Files at

Connect with Barbra Annino at:

Read more
34 total

Additional Information

Dane House LLC
Read more
Published on
Oct 21, 2018
Read more
Read more
Read more
Read more
Read more
Read more
Fiction / Fantasy / Humorous
Fiction / Fantasy / Paranormal
Fiction / Magical Realism
Fiction / Mystery & Detective / Women Sleuths
Fiction / Occult & Supernatural
Read more
Content Protection
This content is DRM free.
Read more
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.

Cover Flap

This is the first book in the Maya's Aura Series.

Young Maya hated the name that her aging hippie mother had saddled her with. She hated her dead-end job in a San Francisco coffee shop that didn't pay enough to allow her to rent her own apartment. She hated trying to make do with clothes from the thrift shops that never quite fit her, and always smelled musty. She hated that she was allowed only one week's vacation, and she could only save enough money to couch surf with friends.

During her one week vacation couch surfing in Vancouver, Canada and spending days on the university's beach, something happened that she could not explain. She felt someone's aura, or at least that is what she thought had happened. Curiosity made her try to feel it again and again. Slowly she began to realize that this aura thing was more than just a good feeling.

Much more, powerfully more, dangerously more, and she ceased to be the mousy young girl that cleaned tables in a coffee shop.

About the Author

Skye Smith is my pen name. My family convinced me not to use my real name because my stories are so critical of predator males. You'll understand and forgive me this as you fall in love with sweet Maya, my main character.

For those of you who like stories about vampires, witches, and magic, you won’t be disappointed by my very different, more realistic take on it all. My vampires are parasites wearing business suits. My witches are healers ignored by the modern world. My magic is based on aura’s, and everyone has felt or seen an aura at least once in their lives.

Other Novels By The Same Author:

The Hoodsman – 12 historical adventures set in the Norman conquest.

Knut – many historical adventures set in the Viking Era.

The Pistoleer – 9 historical adventures set in the English Civil War.

Maya’s Aura – 8 new age adventures while tripping around the world.

1. “The Awakening” - She discovers her strange aura.
2. “The Refining” - She learns how to use her aura.
3. “The Ashram” - She searches for answers in India
4. “Goa to Nepal” - She follows a quest into the Himalayas
5. “The Charred Coven” - She fights black craft in England.
6. “The Crystal Witch” - She learns psychic craft in England
7. “The Redemptioner” - Psychic dreams of her ancestor Britta.
8. “Destroy the Tea Party - Britta’s adventures in Boston in 1773.


You think you know these women, but you don't. They are nothing like the gentle, fearful maidens in the fairytales you have read. The faces they show to the world—bright eyes, fresh skin, cherubic cheeks—reflect not what is deep inside their hearts. Their hearts are darker than their skin, heavier than their laughter, even sharper than their tongues, and I can attest that all of them possess tongues chiseled into dagger points—one lashing by which would have a man checking that his genitals were still intact.

But it takes more than words to lead a kingdom.

Should a ruler grow too trusting or complacent in her role as princess, she just might wake up one day to discover that her story has been altered, without a trace of the original in her memoryscape. She could find herself living another life in a place that seems vaguely familiar, but isn't exactly where she belongs. Her days may seem...shadowed somehow. Her mind fragmented, as if she were trapped in a nightmare from which she will never awaken. Although the princess may not be able to put her finger directly on the mark, she knows deep inside that something is askew.

You might be wondering how I know all this. It's simple, really. I'm the one who wrote their stories. Every word, from the very first drop of ink to the last—every line, every bit of dialogue—spilled from my quill.

It might surprise you to know that I was also the one who changed their stories. Not of my own accord, of course. A scribe has not the power to alter the path of a princess, nor would I ever want to. I loathe editing. I say tell the tale once and be done with it. That's how the best work emerges. But, alas, these orders came from above my head.

The messenger who stood before my cottage door smelled of onions and rain clouds, with a pumpkin shaped head too large for his neck. He handed me a scroll which I unrolled and read. My orders were to change only one thing in each of the original five manuscripts I wrote. One word, really. I was to add the word "in" to the very last line—the line that concluded each of the princesses' stories. I wouldn't have to revise any other part of the books, nor would I have to add the dreaded epilogue. I loathe epilogues even more than editing. I say if you need to add to the story, then pen a sequel.

But for the purposes of our story, all you need to know is that once upon a time five beautiful princesses ruled the United Kingdoms of Enchantment. Five princesses who presently have no recollection of the royalty they once were, nor the harshness the world imposed on them when they were so very young.

Now, they live far, far away. In a town called Everafter.

~Jacob Grimm

The Scribe

©2019 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.