The Living Grave: A Ukrainian Legend

Sova Books
Free sample

The Living Grave is a gothic folk tale from 1889 that reimagines life on the steppes of Ukraine centuries ago. It describes a romantic union that defies and suffers from barbarism and implacable hatreds, mirroring the nationalistic struggle experienced by the author Liudmyla Starytska-Cherniakhivska.
Read more

About the author

Liudmyla Starytska-Cherniakhivska was born in Kyiv in 1868. She wrote poetry, prose, drama and literary criticism for various publications including the Lviv almanac, Pershyi vinok. Her story Living Grave was first published in 1889 in the journal Kyivska Starina (Kyiv Antiquity). She married Oleksandr Chernyakhivsky, the professor of the Kiev Medical Institute. She supported Ukrainian nationalist causes, which led to her persecution by the Soviet government during the 20th century. In 1919 she was cofounder and deputy president of the National Council of Ukrainian Women. In her sixties Liudmyla was first arrested and convicted during a show-trial of the Union for the Liberation of Ukraine in 1930. She was imprisoned and exiled but released before the end of her five year sentence. A decade later her fate was sealed when she was arrested again, along with her sister. In June 1941 the 73-year-old woman was accused of carrying out anti-Soviet activities then tortured and put on a cattle train headed to exile in Kazakhstan, along with other prisoners from the Ukrainian intelligentsia. She died during the journey and her body was flung out of the train at a location still unknown; there would be no burial and no grave for the once celebrated author.

Read more
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Sova Books
Read more
Published on
May 31, 2015
Read more
Pages
55
Read more
ISBN
9780987594341
Read more
Language
English
Read more
Genres
Fiction / Gothic
Fiction / Romance / General
Young Adult Fiction / Legends, Myths, Fables / General
Read more
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
With five starred reviews, Tomi Adeyemi’s West African-inspired fantasy debut, and instant #1 New York Times Bestseller, conjures a world of magic and danger, perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Sabaa Tahir.

They killed my mother.
They took our magic.
They tried to bury us.

Now we rise.

Zélie Adebola remembers when the soil of Orïsha hummed with magic. Burners ignited flames, Tiders beckoned waves, and Zélie’s Reaper mother summoned forth souls.

But everything changed the night magic disappeared. Under the orders of a ruthless king, maji were killed, leaving Zélie without a mother and her people without hope.

Now Zélie has one chance to bring back magic and strike against the monarchy. With the help of a rogue princess, Zélie must outwit and outrun the crown prince, who is hell-bent on eradicating magic for good.

Danger lurks in Orïsha, where snow leoponaires prowl and vengeful spirits wait in the waters. Yet the greatest danger may be Zélie herself as she struggles to control her powers and her growing feelings for an enemy.

"A phenomenon." —Entertainment Weekly

“The epic I’ve been waiting for.” —New York Times-bestselling author Marie Lu

“You will be changed. You will be ready to rise up and reclaim your own magic!” —New York Times-bestselling author Dhonielle Clayton

“The next big thing in literature and film.” —Ebony

“One of the biggest young adult fiction debut book deals of theyear.” —Teen Vogue

This title has Common Core connections.

#1 New York Times bestseller, March 14, 2018

“I’m virtually speechless when it comes to this novel. I have not found an author that I adore the writing style of this much since Jennifer L. Armentrout. The world that this author created was amazing.” - Brittany's Book Reviews

Eighteen year old Myla Lewis is a girl who loves two things: kicking ass and kicking ass. She’s not your every day quasi-demon, part-demon and part-human, girl. For the past five years, Myla has lived for the days she gets to fight in Purgatory’s arena. When souls want a trial by combat for their right to enter Heaven or Hell, they go up against her, and she hasn’t lost a battle yet.

But as she starts her senior year at Purgatory High, the arena fights aren’t enough to keep her spirits up anymore. When the demons start to act weird, even for demons, and the King of the Demons, Armageddon, shows up at Myla’s school, she knows that things are changing and it’s not looking good for the quasi-demons.

Myla starts to question everything, and doesn’t like the answers she finds.

What happened seventeen years ago that turned the quasi-demons into slave labor? Why was her mom always so sad? And why won’t anyone tell her who her father is? Things heat up when Myla meets Lincoln, the High Prince of the Thrax, a super sexy part-human and part-angel demon hunter. But what’s a quasi-demon girl to do when she falls for a demon hunter? It’s a good thing that Myla’s not afraid of breaking a few rules. With a love worth fighting for, Myla’s going to shake up Purgatory.

"Wow, I loved this novel."- Koeur's Book Reviews

Ideal for readers who enjoy kick-ass chicks, gamma guys, paranormal romance, urban fantasy and happily ever afters.

Collected Works
Christina is the author of the bestselling Angelbound series about Heaven, Hell and Purgatory, and the angels, demons, dragons, ghouls and humans that call them home; the Beholder series, about a medieval farm girl turned necromancer who needs to save the world; the Fairy Tales of the Magicorum, which takes place in a world like our own but where fairies, shifters and wizards are real; and Dimension Drift, where one sassy teenage girl-slash-scientist plots to save the future from its dystopian fate.

Angelbound Origins
.5 Duty Bound
1. Angelbound
1.5 Betrothed (Spring 2019)
2. Scala
3. Acca
4. Thrax
5. The Dark Lands (Fall 2018)
6. Armageddon (already here, long story!)

Angelbound Offspring
1. Maxon
1. Portia
3. Zinnia (Fall 2019)
4. Kaps (Fall 2020)
5. Huntress (Fall 2021)

Beholder
1. Cursed
2. Concealed
3. Cherished
4. Crowned
5. Cradled (Summer 2018)

Fairy Tales of the Magicorum
1. Wolves and Roses
1.5 Moonlight and Midtown
2. Shifters and Glyphs (Fall 2018)
2.5. Fairies and Frosting (Spring 2019)
3. Slippers And Thieves (Fall 2020)

Dimension Drift
1. Dimension Drift
2. UMBRA
3. Alien Minds
4. ECHO Academy

Don’t miss out: Get your FREE copy of Christina’s novella, BEVERLY HILLS VAMPIRE, when you sign up for her personal newsletter: https://tinyurl.com/bauersbooks ***Not available in stores*** “I’m virtually speechless when it comes to this novel. I have not found an author that I adore the writing style of this much since Jennifer L. Armentrout. The world that this author created was amazing.” - Brittany's Book Reviews

Eighteen year old Myla Lewis is a girl who loves two things: kicking ass and kicking ass. She’s not your every day quasi-demon, part-demon and part-human, girl. For the past five years, Myla has lived for the days she gets to fight in Purgatory’s arena. When souls want a trial by combat for their right to enter Heaven or Hell, they go up against her, and she hasn’t lost a battle yet.

But as she starts her senior year at Purgatory High, the arena fights aren’t enough to keep her spirits up anymore. When the demons start to act weird, even for demons, and the King of the Demons, Armageddon, shows up at Myla’s school, she knows that things are changing and it’s not looking good for the quasi-demons.

Myla starts to question everything, and doesn’t like the answers she finds.

What happened seventeen years ago that turned the quasi-demons into slave labor? Why was her mom always so sad? And why won’t anyone tell her who her father is? Things heat up when Myla meets Lincoln, the High Prince of the Thrax, a super sexy part-human and part-angel demon hunter. But what’s a quasi-demon girl to do when she falls for a demon hunter? It’s a good thing that Myla’s not afraid of breaking a few rules. With a love worth fighting for, Myla’s going to shake up Purgatory.

"Wow, I loved this novel."- Koeur's Book Reviews

Ideal for readers who enjoy kick-ass chicks, gamma guys, paranormal romance, urban fantasy and happily ever afters.

Collected Works
Christina is the author of the bestselling Angelbound series about Heaven, Hell and Purgatory, and the angels, demons, dragons, ghouls and humans that call them home; the Beholder series, about a medieval farm girl turned necromancer who needs to save the world; the Fairy Tales of the Magicorum, which takes place in a world like our own but where fairies, shifters and wizards are real; and Dimension Drift, where one sassy teenage girl-slash-scientist plots to save the future from its dystopian fate.

Angelbound Origins
.5 Duty Bound
1. Angelbound
1.5 Betrothed (Spring 2019)
2. Scala
3. Acca
4. Thrax
5. The Dark Lands (Fall 2018)
6. Armageddon (already here, long story!)

Angelbound Offspring
1. Maxon
1. Portia
3. Zinnia (Fall 2019)
4. Kaps (Fall 2020)
5. Huntress (Fall 2021)

Don’t miss out: Get your FREE copy of Christina’s novella, BEVERLY HILLS VAMPIRE, when you sign up for her personal newsletter: https://tinyurl.com/bauersbooks ***Not available in stores***
Nicholas Flamel appeared in J.K. Rowling’s Harry Potter—but did you know he really lived? And he might still be alive today! Discover the truth in Michael Scott’s New York Times bestselling series the Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel with The Alchemyst, book one.
 
The truth: Nicholas Flamel was born in Paris on September 28, 1330.
 
The legend: Nicholas Flamel discovered the secret of eternal life.
 
   The records show that he died in 1418.
   But his tomb is empty.
   Nicholas Flamel lives. But only because he has been making the elixir of life for centuries.
    The secret of eternal life is hidden within the book he protects—the Book of Abraham the Mage. It's the most powerful book that has ever existed. In the wrong hands, it will destroy the world. That's exactly what Dr. John Dee plans to do when he steals it.    Humankind won't know what's happening until it's too late. And if the prophecy is right, Sophie and Josh Newman are the only ones with the power to save the world as we know it.
    Sometimes legends are true. And Sophie and Josh Newman are about to find themselves in the middle of the greatest legend of all time.
 
“[A] A riveting fantasy…While there is plenty here to send readers rushing to their encyclopedias…those who read the book at face value will simply be caught up in the enthralling story. A fabulous read.”—SLJ, Starred
 
Read the whole series!
The Alchemyst
The Magician
The Sorceress
The Necromancer
The Warlock
The Enchantress
©2018 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.