Called On

Quid Pro Books
Free sample

Libby Behl and Connie Shun are both at Warren Law because they want to make the world better. First-year student Libby’s got a lot to learn about law—not to mention love, long nights, and low-grade coffee. Through a difficult year, her professor Connie starts to question what she knows about how law—and justice—work. Witty and insightful, Called On is an insider’s peek into the struggles of learning law and the satisfaction of finding a new path in life.

“In Called On, Lisa McElroy deftly chronicles the stories of law professor Connie Shun and first year law student Libby Behl, each of whom is trying to move past tragedy and forge a new path for herself. The intersection of their lives is both humorous and heartbreaking. In this thoughtful and thought-provoking commentary on life, love, and the law, McElroy demonstrates the rare gift to simultaneously entertain, educate, uplift, and inspire.” — Pam Jenoff, bestselling author of The Kommandant’s Girl

“Lisa McElroy perfectly captures the pressures, challenges, and triumphs of both teaching and studying the law. Filled with big, memorable personalities, Called On is an utterly charming depiction of the 1L experience.” — Alafair Burke, New York Times bestselling author of The Ex

“Lisa McElroy nails law school—from first-day jitters to gunners and back-benchers—in a funny, perceptive, and poignant (but never predictable) first novel. Grab a Diet Coke and a handful of M&Ms and settle in; once you start reading, you won't want to stop.” — Amy Howe, co-founder & editor, SCOTUSblog 

“This remarkable book showcases all the traits that make Lisa McElroy such an amazing teacher: a deep understanding of legal issues, a superb ability to connect them to the real world, and a wry, compassionate understanding of her fellow humans in all their flawed splendor. Plus, she can flat-out tell a story. If you never made it to law school—and even if you never wanted to—don’t miss the chance to get Called On.” — Kermit Roosevelt, bestselling author of Allegiance and In the Shadow of the Law 

“If you’re thinking of going to law school, read this book. If you never miss The Good Wife, read this book. If you’re looking for a novel that’s smartly observed and filled with female characters who jump off the page, read Called On—twice as real as Legally Blonde but just as much fun.” Sally Koslow, author of The Widow Waltz 

“Lisa McElroy has provided us with a fresh and modern take on life in law school. The story is told through the eyes of an idealist, who enters law school with the best of intentions only to find that law can be as messy as love. This book is a must read for anyone thinking about taking the plunge into law school.” — Shon Hopwood, author of Law Man

Called On is Legally Blonde—kicked up a notch. This hilarious first novel follows the heroine through the first year of law school and her encounters with law, justice, first love, and loss. Set aside a rainy weekend to devour this fun read, perfect for fans of Jennifer Weiner and Elin Hildenbrand.” — Paula Froelich, Yahoo Travel Editor-in Chief and host of A Broad Abroad; New York Times bestselling author of Mercury in Retrograde and former deputy editor of the New York Post’s “Page Six”

“I didn't go to law school, but author Lisa McElroy did, and that's a great thing for readers of fiction. McElroy uses her personal experience as both a law student and law professor to create a world of high stakes studies, complex personal relationships, and meaningful discussions of themes like liberty and justice. Called On is a complete first novel, expertly conceived and skillfully written. Memorable, vivid, and true—the story of two women, one student and one prof, who find themselves in the law.” — Lian Dolan, bestselling author of Helen of Pasadena and Elizabeth the First Wife 

Called On may be this generation’s One L, narrating the modern law school experience with all its stress, cut-throat competitiveness, inflated egos, flaws, and triumphs. Early on, the main character observes, ‘From what I hear, law school is full of surprises.’ Author Lisa McElroy turns that into an understatement, with plot twists that make Called On a true page-turner. Anyone who has been to law school, teaches there, or knows lawyers will instantly recognize one or more of McElroy’s vivid characters.” — Tony Mauro, Supreme Court Correspondent for The National Law Journal

Read more

About the author

Lisa McElroy is an associate professor of law at Drexel University. Her writing has been featured in the New York Times, the Washington Post, the Los Angeles Times, Redbook, and many other publications. A long-time law teacher, she is also the author of eleven children’s books. She lives with her family in the Philadelphia suburbs.

Read more
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Quid Pro Books
Read more
Published on
Sep 18, 2015
Read more
Pages
260
Read more
ISBN
9781610273244
Read more
Language
English
Read more
Genres
Fiction / Contemporary Women
Fiction / General
Fiction / Legal
Fiction / Literary
Read more
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • A high-stakes thrill ride through the darkest corners of the Sunshine State, from the author hailed as “the best thriller writer alive” by Ken Follett

We expect our judges to be honest and wise. Their integrity is the bedrock of the entire judicial system. We trust them to ensure fair trials, to protect the rights of all litigants, to punish those who do wrong, and to oversee the flow of justice. But what happens when a judge bends the law or takes a bribe?
   
Lacy Stoltz is an investigator for the Florida Board on Judicial Conduct. It is her job to respond to complaints dealing with judicial misconduct. After nine years with the Board, she knows that most problems are caused by incompetence, not corruption.

But a corruption case eventually crosses her desk. A previously disbarred lawyer is back in business, and he claims to know of a Florida judge who has stolen more money than all other crooked judges combined. And not just crooked judges in Florida. All judges, from all states, and throughout United States history. And now he wants to put a stop to it. His only client is a person who knows the truth and wants to blow the whistle and collect millions under Florida law. When the case is assigned to Lacy, she immediately suspects that this one could be dangerous. Dangerous is one thing. Deadly is something else.

Praise for The Whistler

“[A] main character [who’s] a seriously appealing woman . . . a whistle-blower who secretly calls attention to corruption . . . a strong and frightening sense of place . . . [John Grisham’s] on his game.”—Janet Maslin, The New York Times
 
“[John Grisham is] our guide to the byways and backwaters of our legal system, superb in particular at ferreting out its vulnerabilities and dramatizing their abuse in gripping style.”—USA Today
 
“Riveting . . . an elaborate conspiracy.”—The New York Times Book Review
#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

Don’t miss an original essay by John Grisham in the back of the book.

John Grisham takes you back to where it all began. One of the most popular novels of our time, A Time to Kill established John Grisham as the master of the legal thriller. Now we return to Ford County as Jake Brigance finds himself embroiled in a fiercely controversial trial that exposes a tortured history of racial tension.
 
Seth Hubbard is a wealthy man dying of lung cancer. He trusts no one. Before he hangs himself from a sycamore tree, Hubbard leaves a new, handwritten will. It is an act that drags his adult children, his black maid, and Jake into a conflict as riveting and dramatic as the murder trial that made Brigance one of Ford County’s most notorious citizens, just three years earlier. The second will raises many more questions than it answers. Why would Hubbard leave nearly all of his fortune to his maid? Had chemotherapy and painkillers affected his ability to think clearly? And what does it all have to do with a piece of land once known as Sycamore Row?

Look for special features inside. Join the Random House Reader’s Circle for author chats and more.
 
Praise for Sycamore Row
 
“Powerful . . . immensely readable . . . the best of his books.”—The Washington Post
 
“Welcome back, Jake. . . . [Brigance] is one of the most fully developed and engaging characters in all of Grisham’s novels.”—USA Today
 
“One of [Grisham’s] finest . . . Sycamore Row is a true literary event.”—The New York Times Book Review


From the Trade Paperback edition.
#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY THE WASHINGTON POST AND NPR • Featuring one of John Grisham’s most colorful, outrageous, and vividly drawn characters yet, Rogue Lawyer showcases the master of the legal thriller at his very best.
 
On the right side of the law—sort of—Sebastian Rudd is not your typical street lawyer. His office is a customized bulletproof van, complete with Wi-Fi, a bar, a small fridge, and fine leather chairs. He has no firm, no partners, and only one employee: his heavily armed driver, who also so happens to be his bodyguard, law clerk, confidant, and golf caddie. Sebastian drinks small-batch bourbon and carries a gun. He defends people other lawyers won’t go near: a drug-addled, tattooed kid rumored to be in a satanic cult; a vicious crime lord on death row; a homeowner arrested for shooting at a SWAT team that mistakenly invaded his house. Why these clients? Because Sebastian believes everyone is entitled to a fair trial—even if he has to bend the law to secure one.
 
Praise for Rogue Lawyer
 
“Terrific . . . inventive . . . Grisham still makes it look easy.”—Maureen Corrigan, The Washington Post
 
“Sebastian Rudd is . . . a kind of twenty-first-century Philip Marlowe . . . with a blunt, rude, gravelly poetic wiseguy voice.”—Benjamin Percy, The New York Times Book Review
 
“Deeply engaging and entertaining . . . [Grisham finds] intense drama in the little skirmishes that play out across our legal system every day.”—Charles Finch, USA Today
 
“Grisham has taken a step in an intriguing new direction.”—Janet Maslin, The New York Times


From the Paperback edition.
©2018 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.