The Body in the Mist

DCI Craig Gillard Crime Thrillers

Book 3
Canelo
Free sample

A brutal murder hints at a terrifying mystery, and this time it’s personal.

A body is found on a quiet lane in Exmoor, victim of a hit and run. He has no ID, no wallet, no phone, and – after being dragged along the road – no recognisable face.

Meanwhile, fresh from his last case, DCI Craig Gillard is unexpectedly called away to Devon on family business.

Gillard is soon embroiled when the car in question is traced to his aunt. As he delves deeper, a dark mystery reveals itself, haunted by family secrets, with repercussions Gillard could never have imagined.

The past has never been deadlier.

From master storyteller Nick Louth comes the third instalment in the DCI Craig Gillard series. Compelling, fast-paced and endlessly enjoyable, The Body in the Mist is a triumph, perfect for fans of Robert Bryndza, Angela Marsons and Faith Martin

What readers are saying about Nick Louth

‘An unputdownable, heart-thudder of a read’ Carol Wyer, author of Little Girl Lost

‘This was up there with the best thrillers I have ever read.’

‘Had me hooked from the start! I would definitely recommend this book.’

‘It grips you from the first page to the last. Excellent.’

Read more
Collapse

About the author

Nick Louth is a best-selling thriller writer, award-winning financial journalist and an investment commentator. A 1979 graduate of the London School of Economics, he went on to become a Reuters foreign correspondent in 1987. It was an experience at a medical conference in Amsterdam in 1992, while working for Reuters, that gave him the inspiration for Bite, which was self-published in 2007 and went on to become the UK No. 1 Kindle best-seller for several weeks in 2014 before being snapped up by Sphere. It has sold a third of a million copies, and been translated into six languages. The terrorism thriller Heartbreaker was published in June 2014 and received critical acclaim from Amazon readers, with a 4.6 out of 5 stars on over 100 reviews. The Body in the Marsh, a crime thriller, and the first in his DCI Craig Gillard series, was published by Canelo in 2017, to much critical acclaim. Freelance since 1998, he has been a regular contributor to the Financial Times, Investors Chronicle and Money Observer, and has published seven other books. Nick Louth is married and lives in Lincolnshire.

Read more
Collapse
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Canelo
Read more
Collapse
Published on
May 20, 2019
Read more
Collapse
Pages
330
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9781788632232
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Crime
Fiction / Mystery & Detective / General
Fiction / Mystery & Detective / Police Procedural
Fiction / Small Town & Rural
Fiction / Thrillers / Crime
Fiction / Thrillers / Suspense
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM free.
Read more
Collapse
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
When a woman goes missing, it gets personal for DCI Craig Gillard. But he could never imagine what happens next.

Criminologist Martin Knight lives a gilded life and is a thorn in the side of the police. But then his wife Liz goes missing. There is no good explanation and no sign of Martin...

To make things worse, Liz is the ex-girlfriend of DCI Craig Gillard who is drawn into the investigation. Is it just a missing person or something worse? And what relevance do the events around the shocking Girl F case, so taken up by Knight, have to do with the present?

The truth is darker than you could ever have imagined.

Utterly gripping and full of twists, this is a compulsive thriller from master Nick Louth for fans of Robert Bryndza, Patricia Gibney and Carole Wyer.

What readers are saying about Nick Louth

‘A fast-paced and explosive thriller about a subject that really matters.’

‘This was up there with the best thrillers I have ever read.’

‘Bite was a gripping, entertaining read which kept me enthralled right until the end!’

‘The whole book is an excellent, gripping read. Get one – you won’t be disappointed!’

‘I absolutely loved this book, it is well written and keeps you on your toes all the way to the last chapter.’

‘It grips you from the first page to the last. Excellent book.’

‘Well constructed, good page turner, very well researched, excellent holiday read.’

‘Exciting, interesting and unpredictable. highly recommended.’

‘Superb! Couldn’t put the book down. Really was one of the best thrillers I've read in years.’

‘Had me hooked from the start! I would definitely recommend this book.’

‘Very exciting and enjoyable. Thoroughly recommended read for anyone who enjoys fast-paced books.’

Your darkest moment is your most vulnerable...

Stephen Berry is about to jump off a bridge until a suicide prevention counsellor stops him. A week later, Stephen is dead. Found at the bottom of a cliff, DI Luc Callanach and DCI Ava Turner are drafted in to investigate whether he jumped or whether he was pushed...

As they dig deeper, more would-be suicides roll in: a woman found dead in a bath; a man violently electrocuted. But these are carefully curated deaths – nothing like the impulsive suicide attempts they’ve been made out to be.

Little do Callanach and Turner know how close their perpetrator is as, across Edinburgh, a violent and psychopathic killer gains more confidence with every life he takes...

An unstoppable crime thriller from the #1 bestseller. The perfect read for fans of Karin Slaughter and M. J. Arlidge.

What others are saying about Perfect Crime:

‘This is one of the best crime fiction series out there... Helen Fields always delivers gripping, compelling, thrilling and tense stories full of intriguing characters.’ Reader review

‘Addictive, absorbing and absolutely page turning, the fifth book in the DI Callanach crime thriller series lives up to its name... I haven't read any of the previous books in this series, but that didn't matter, it reads perfectly as a standalone.’ Reader review

‘Perfect Crime is exciting and shocking in equal measures. Old foes return, new psychopaths are introduced, and there's a bit of personal stuff going on too. This is easily one of the best police procedural/crime series around.’ Reader review

‘This series of books are just fantastic. They are dark, creepy, addictive and I can't recommend them highly enough.’ Reader review

‘Highly recommended’ James Oswald, author of the Inspector McLean series

‘Deliciously dark and gritty’ Caroline Mitchell, author of the DI Amy Winter Thriller series

When a woman goes missing, it gets personal for DCI Craig Gillard. But he could never imagine what happens next.

Criminologist Martin Knight lives a gilded life and is a thorn in the side of the police. But then his wife Liz goes missing. There is no good explanation and no sign of Martin...

To make things worse, Liz is the ex-girlfriend of DCI Craig Gillard who is drawn into the investigation. Is it just a missing person or something worse? And what relevance do the events around the shocking Girl F case, so taken up by Knight, have to do with the present?

The truth is darker than you could ever have imagined.

Utterly gripping and full of twists, this is a compulsive thriller from master Nick Louth for fans of Robert Bryndza, Patricia Gibney and Carole Wyer.

What readers are saying about Nick Louth

‘A fast-paced and explosive thriller about a subject that really matters.’

‘This was up there with the best thrillers I have ever read.’

‘Bite was a gripping, entertaining read which kept me enthralled right until the end!’

‘The whole book is an excellent, gripping read. Get one – you won’t be disappointed!’

‘I absolutely loved this book, it is well written and keeps you on your toes all the way to the last chapter.’

‘It grips you from the first page to the last. Excellent book.’

‘Well constructed, good page turner, very well researched, excellent holiday read.’

‘Exciting, interesting and unpredictable. highly recommended.’

‘Superb! Couldn’t put the book down. Really was one of the best thrillers I've read in years.’

‘Had me hooked from the start! I would definitely recommend this book.’

‘Very exciting and enjoyable. Thoroughly recommended read for anyone who enjoys fast-paced books.’

The outstanding thriller from the #1 bestselling author of BITE, Nick Louth

Veteran BBC journalist Chris Wyrecliffe finds himself in the Middle East as the Arab Spring explodes into life. Back on the front line at last, he’s stumbled across the biggest story of his life.

But two women have a hold on him. One, a wealthy Saudi beauty he has loved since the first moment he saw her. The other, a feisty young Palestinian refugee loves him with a frightening intensity.

Wyrecliffe is caught between them in a dangerous game whose implications are as extreme as they are hidden...

For in the dark Al Qaeda underworld hides a man with the veteran journalist in his sights. The net is closing fast. With the clock ticking, Wyrecliffe could be the instrument of a terrorist plot astonishing in its ingenuity and daring...

An extraordinary thriller that grips like steel, Heartbreaker will keep you guessing until the very last page. Perfect for fans of Tom Bale, David Jackson and K.L. Slater.

What readers are saying about Nick Louth

‘A fast-paced and explosive thriller about a subject that really matters.’

‘This was up there with the best thrillers I have ever read.’

‘Bite was a gripping, entertaining read which kept me enthralled right until the end!’

‘The whole book is an excellent, gripping read. Get one – you won't be disappointed!’

‘I absolutely loved this book, it is well written and keeps you on your toes all the way to the last chapter.’

‘It grips you from the first page to the last. Excellent book.’

‘Well constructed, good page turner, very well researched, excellent holiday read.’

‘Exciting, interesting and unpredictable. Highly recommended.’

‘Superb! Couldnt put the book down. Really was one of the best thrillers I've read in years.’

‘Had me hooked from the start! I would definitely recommend this book.’

‘Very exciting and enjoyable. Thoroughly recommended read for anyone who enjoys fast-paced books.’

©2019 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.