The Child I Never Had: A completely unforgettable and heartbreaking page-turner about the power of a mother’s love

· Bookouture
4.3
6 reviews
Ebook
418
Pages
Eligible

About this ebook

“WOW!!!!… Clear your schedules and grab the tissues as you will need them!!!… It had me in tears by the end and I do not cry easily!!!… An absolutely unputdownable, addictive and compelling devastatingly beautiful heartbreaking book!!! I LOVED it!” Bookworm86, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

If you had to make an impossible choice to save your long-lost daughter, you would… wouldn’t you?


It’s a warm early summer’s evening when Mia’s doorbell rings. She opens the door to see a teenage girl standing in the shadow beyond the porch light—and in an instant she knows who it is. Daisy, the daughter she gave up as a baby. Daisy steps forward, as she says tearfully “I’m sorry I didn’t call first. But something happened. And I really needed… you.”


Seventeen years before, knowing she couldn’t possibly give her beautiful little girl Daisy the future she deserved, Mia made the hardest decision of her life—to give her up. And Suzanne seemed the perfect adoptive mother: calm, stable, and full of love for the daughter she’d always dreamed of having.


The two mothers promised to keep communication open, so Daisy could have Mia’s love and support along with Suzanne’s. But as the years passed, Mia moved away, and their visits happened less. Now Daisy is almost a stranger to Mia—angry, closed and broken—nothing like the tiny girl she once couldn’t bear to say goodbye to.


But now Daisy has arrived on Mia’s doorstep, and she says she has a terrible secret. One she can never tell Suzanne. And she believes the only person who can help her is Mia. Her birth mother.


Mia, however, has secrets of her own. Ones she is afraid to let Daisy or anyone else know. And while Suzanne desperately seeks a way to bring her child home, can Mia overcome her past to help the girl they both call their daughter in her darkest hour before it’s too late?


Totally gripping emotional women’s fiction from the author guaranteed to make readers cry. Kate Hewitt’s story will grab you by the heartstrings and never let you go. Perfect for fans of Jodi Picoult, Diane Chamberlain and Jojo Moyes.


Readers are loving The Child I Never Had:


Whew. This was a very emotional novel, from page one… A beautiful, heart-wrenching, at times overwhelming novel about truth, forgiveness, and family… Uttering captivating.” KKEC Reads, 5 stars


Absolutely heartbreaking… Kate Hewitt’s books should come with a warning: only read if you’ve plenty of boxes of tissues in the house because tears will be shed and heart-strings will be severed… Intensely emotional… Brilliant.” Bookish Jottings, 5 stars


“Brilliant... Emotional but uplifting, a really heart wrenching read that you will need tissues for! I dare the hardest of hearts to not shed a tear!” NetGalley reviewer


“Very emotional… It had me reading it long after I should have gone to sleep as I just could not put it down. I loved it.” NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars


“I was transfixed. It was emotionally painful to put the book down, especially considering I had a math exam coming up. But it was totally worth it… Brilliant… Please read it!” BookGuru, 5 stars


Kate Hewitt never seems to stop amazing me with her beautifully written emotional stories that have the ability to make you cry… I often found myself both happy and sad… A book you can immerse yourself into.’ Sinfully Wicked Book Reviews, 5 stars


“An absolute rollercoaster of a read, this book will have you reeling!.” The Motherload Book Club, 5 stars


Emotional… Has so much love… Such a wonderful, heartfelt novel that I truly enjoyed and read in a day!Twists that will leave you gasping as secrets are revealed!” Goodreads reviewer

4.3
6 reviews
Shirley McAllister
February 10, 2022
Raising a daughter is never an easy job, but in an open adoption it is much more difficult. Two different mother's both vying for the attention of one beautiful girl called Daisy. Mia knew she could not keep the child she carried, adoption was the only option for a young girl in her second year of university. She picked Suzanne from a list of those wishing to adopt a child. It was good in the open adoption where Mia still had visits with Daisy. Then it became harder, a competition between the two women for the child's affection. Mia tried to distance herself from Daisy but she couldn't stay away, even though she was hiding a secret that both her adopted daughter and her new husband and family did not know. A secret she could not find a way to tell them. Suzanne worries that she will lose Daisy to Mia, especially since her divorce from Mark. Then the teenage years come and Suzanne is having a hard time communicating with Daisy. With the pink hair and the piercing, she tries to understand but they become farther apart. Then an event happens and Daisy goes running to Mia. This is a story of two women striving to work together for the love of a child. It is a story of adoption and the challenges that come from it. Secrets long held and finally to the surface and such hurt which can only be overcome with love and understanding. A story of Mark and Suzanne and Tom and Mia. Two families, each with their own challenges, both loving one young girl and neither quite knowing how to communicate this love to her and how to work with each other to make it happen. Can they deal with their lives and also with Daisy and will there ever be a time when they can all be friends? Somehow they all need to face their insecurities and come to terms with the past and the present and find a way to show Daisy just how much they all love her and care for her. This is a heartwarming story of love , secrets, and the hard choices in life. How each must deal with life in their own way and find a way to help each other to do the same. I enjoyed reading this story and I do recommend it. Thanks to Kate Hewitt for writing a great story, to Bookouture for publishing it and to NetGalley for making it available to me.
Did you find this helpful?
Kirsty Whitlock
February 16, 2022
BLOG TOUR REVIEW Review for 'The Child ai Never Had' by Kate Hewitt. Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Kate Hewitt, Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous Publication date 10th February 2022. This is the second book I have read by this author. I have also read 'My Daughter's Mistake' which I would highly recommend. I was originally drawn to this book by its beautiful cover and intriguing sounding synopsis and title. The synopsis stated that this book is 'Perfect for fans of Jodi Picoult, Jojo Moyes and Diane Chamberlain.' I am a fan of all three of these authors so am looking forward to seeing if this lives up to this statement. I am also a HUGE fan of Kate Hewitt and if this is half as good as 'My Daughter's Mistake' it is bound to be an addictive read. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before
Did you find this helpful?

Rate this book

Tell us what you think.

Reading information

Smartphones and tablets
Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.
Laptops and computers
You can listen to audiobooks purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.
eReaders and other devices
To read on e-ink devices like Kobo eReaders, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Follow the detailed Help Center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.