Fractured Shadows

Moses & Rock

Book 1
Antony Davies
1
Free sample

Will his last chance with the police become the final nail in his coffin?

Detective Inspector Moses Glynn – a veteran investigator whose refusal to back his colleagues had landed him with one final chance.


Detective Constable Juliette Rock – former Army Captain, now on the fast track within the West Midlands Police.


Paired together in the secretive intelligence unit Division 43, Moses and Rock think they’ve landed an open-and-shut murder case, quickly arresting the son of a notoriously brutal criminal. But when detectives from another station furnish the killer with an alibi, it is clear something deeply sinister is afoot.


Before long, Moses finds elements of his past crawling out of the dark and he begins to suspect that unproven allegations against him are the real reason he was chosen for this case.


As Moses and Rock delve into the symbiotic worlds of organized crime and police corruption, they must survive a shadowy underworld expanding its reach, colleagues willing to commit murder to protect themselves, and a history that Moses strives to conceal from everyone, including his new partner.


Their greatest strength might just be what tears them apart – that neither will ever back down.


Fractured Shadows is the first book in a new British crime series for fans of LJ Ross, JD Kirk, and even the BBC TV shows Luther and Line of Duty. Pick up your copy today.



Moses and Rock Novels in order:


Fractured Shadows


No New Purpose (coming soon)


Persecution of Lunacy (coming soon)

Read more
Collapse
5.0
1 total
Loading…

Additional Information

Publisher
Antony Davies
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Jun 27, 2020
Read more
Collapse
Pages
566
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9781913239282
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Mystery & Detective / Cozy / General
Fiction / Mystery & Detective / Women Sleuths
Fiction / Thrillers / Crime
Read more
Collapse
Content protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse
Read aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
From New York Times bestselling author of A Cat in the Stacks mystery series, a novel about murder, fiction and the deep, deep South...
A Deep South Mystery (#2)
Recently retired from teaching high school English, Ernestine Carpenter freely admits that she's more than a bit nosy. Ernie—(as she's called by her nearest and dearest) is also good at solving problems, and she's let it be known, amongst them, that she's willing to take on...interesting...jobs.
Mary Tucker McElroy, well-known in Southern literary circles as a generous patron. Six months earlier, her literary group had gathered for the Christmas festivities at Idlewild, Miss McElroy's ancestral home in north central Mississippi, and one guest, writer Sukey Lytton, turned up dead in the pond one day, an apparent, but suspicious suicide. Miss McElroy is convinced that Sukey Lytton was murdered, and she wants Ernie to help her figure out the guilty party.
But who can it be? Was it Lurleen Landry, best-selling author of Southern women's fiction? Did Pulitzer Prize-winning novelist Russell Bertram kill her? Or was it his nasty, vindictive wife Alice? Maybe it was literary enfant terrible Brett Doran, who seems to have more than one secret to hide. Could Sukey Lytton's missing manuscript be the motive?
When the killer strikes again, it’s up to Ernie to save her friends and find the killer...or she may be next!
"A haunting mystery steeped in the richness of Southern culture." –Carolyn Hart, author of the Death on Demand and Henrie O mysteries
“Fans of the traditional stately home murder case can rejoice the genre is alive and well!” –Publishers Weekly
“The traditional mystery is not dead. Thanks to Dean James, it takes on new life in the New South, where (just like the Old South) ladies of a certain age are noticeably quirky, everyone is hiding a guilty secret, cooks know their way to your heart, and murderers are... almost... impossible to detect. James’s Closer Than the Bones is a fine variation on a fine tradition, and enjoyable from start to finish.”—Charlaine Harris
Detective Sergeant Alicia Friend: cop, analyst, cutie-pie. Obsessed.

Alicia knows she can be irritating to have around at first but, when given a chance, all her colleagues fall in love with her. She can’t explain it, but it’s how she works, how she gets her best results.


And it is exactly how she must work when a British diplomat is murdered on US soil, and the UK Ambassador orders her to observe the FBI’s investigation.


Soon, the murders expand to encompass a wider victim profile, each confessing their politically motivated lies on camera, and Alicia shows why her superiors overlook her quirks, and consider her one of the best minds in her field.


Drafting in her old partner, Alicia imposes her personality on the investigation, and shifts the focus from a politically charged arena to the madness of a psychopath who cannot seem to stop.


In Black In White is a fast paced serial killer thriller that reunites popular characters from the first Alicia Friend book, His First His Second, and introduces new ones to this very unusual British detective.


strong”””Pick up this gripping suspense thriller today/strong

.


________________________________________


The Alicia Friend Series


Each novel is its own self-contained story, but there are background elements that continue through the series. So while it is not 100% necessary to read them in order, it will be more rewarding that way.


1 His First His Second


2 In Black In White


3 With Courage With Fear


4 A Friend in Spirit


5 To Hide To Seek (novella for summer 2018)

Meet Detective Sergeant Alicia Friend. She’s nice. Too nice to be a police officer, if she’s honest.

Now assigned to DI Donald Murphy’s team, the annoyingly-perky detective finds herself in the grip of a northern British winter, investigating the kidnap-murders of two young women - both strikingly similar in appearance. When a third is taken, they have less than a week to chip away the secrets of a high-society family, and uncover the killer’s objective.


But Richard - the father of the latest victim - believes the police are not moving quickly enough, so launches a parallel investigation, utilising skills honed in a dark past that is about to catch up with him.


As Richard’s secret actions hinder the police, Alicia remains in contact with him, and even starts to fall for his charms, forcing her into choices that will impact the rest of her life.


For a chilling serial killer thriller with a quirky main character, pick up His First His Second today!


˃˃˃ Reviews


CrimeFictionLover.com “An intriguing mix of police procedural and serial killer thriller, that will tease, involve and unnerve you. An entertaining and intriguing debut.”


Undercover Book Reviews: “Want a book with twists and turns? This is the one. It will not disappoint.”


AUTHOR Q&A


Q: Alicia Friend is kind of an oddball, isn’t she?


A: I’d say she’s unique. She knows who she wants to be and she doesn’t compromise, but most police officers she meets are dour and grumpy, and she sees how that impacts their personal lives. She doesn’t want to be as hard-nosed as many women sleuths in fiction, so radiates the sort of perkiness that sometimes grates on her fellow officers. But it’s who she is.


Q: Despite having a quirky woman sleuth as main character, the novel goes to some dark places.


A: Yes. I found that at one point I was trying to include ALL my research, and I’m really aiming for a thrill ride as much a straight police procedural. I originally included the sort of forensic details you get with Patricia Cornwell or Kathy Reichs, but it wasn’t right for this book. I keep it as accurate as possible, but it’s about the characters and how they uncover secrets, both externally and within the police.


Q: So who is your ideal reader?


A: Fans of serial killer books in general. If you like James Patterson, PJ Tracy or Steven James, Mark Billingham or Ian Rankin, Alicia Friend’s series could be worth checking out.


Q: What levels of violence and bad language are there?


A: Some of the violence is graphic, but the language ... that goes as strong as references to one’s posterior and some faecal synonyms, if you get my meaning. No “F” or “C” words, as I don’t think Alicia’s audience appreciates that.


Q: And how, exactly, do you come up with a character like Alicia?


A: She is based on a real person. But very loosely. The essence is there, although I had to invent certain aspects for dramatic effect. The parts from real life are: a ditzy, perky outer shell, yet possesses a fierce intelligence, true dedication, and being brilliant at her job.


Q: So the real Alicia Friend isn’t a serving police officer?


A: No, she isn’t. And if she was, I certainly wouldn’t say so here.


Alicia Friend Books In Order:


His First His Second


In Black In White


With Courage With Fear


A Friend in Spirit


To Hide To Seek


A Flood of Bones

©2020 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.