The Hidden Child: A completely unputdownable mystery thriller inspired by a true crime

· Bookouture
4.5
6 reviews
Ebook
357
Pages
Eligible

About this ebook

Connie splashed through puddles, the rain slapping her face. Everywhere was tarmac and concrete, fog and drizzle, but no sign of her child.  ‘Have you seen my daughter? Please, you must’ve seen her?’ Connie’s face crumpled, preparing to cry. But there wasn’t time for tears, she told herself, she had to find her child.

 

Manchester, England, 1965: In an instant Connie’s life has changed. She only left her daughter Kathy alone for a moment but that was enough for her to vanish without a trace. As Connie desperately searches for her, she has to put the news reports of other missing children to the back of her mind. She is determined to find her safe. She will bring her daughter home.

 

As local farmer Ronald listens to the news, he is shocked by what he hears. He has spent his life away from the spotlight, quietly tending to his farm. But when a young couple begin acting suspiciously on his land, he knows that trouble is about to reach his door.

 

And then he sees her. A girl in a bright red coat who looks completely lost. Ronald knows he needs to help keep her safe and find her family. But on the wild and desolate farmland, Ronald has buried his own dark secret. Can he risk it coming to light to save her life?

 

Inspired by a real-life true crime story, this is an unforgettable and totally gripping mystery thriller perfect for fans of Gregg Olsen, Elly Griffiths and Found.

 

What readers are saying about The Hidden Child:

 

OMG WHAT A READ!!!! I literally devoured this book in one sitting. Emotional, heart-breakingThis book had me reading late into the nightI loved everything about this book.’ Netgalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

I loved this book; I was completely gripped right from the start and I couldn’t put it down until I had finished. The storyline is so electric and unpredictable that I was completely blown away by the plot twists and I sat on the edge of the seat.’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

Wow. This novel blows any thriller I’ve read in recent times right out of the water…

I genuinely can’t express enough how much I enjoyed this book.’  Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

‘I loved this twist on the true crime thriller with a fictional storyline woven around real-life criminals… unputdownablewill stay with me for a very long time. Highly recommended! Mychestnutreadingtree, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

‘This author has gained a forever reader with me! Because she is damn good at what she does and that's making me glued to my Kindle and forgetting about life! The story grips you from the start and keeps you hanging on till the end. Netgalley reviewer

 

‘There were several times I found myself heartbroken, near tears, and anxious and then with only a turn of the page I’d find myself ranting and raving. To say this pulled me into the story and kept me engaged doesn’t give the full effect this story had on me… Loved this book!’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

4.5
6 reviews
Shirley McAllister
February 24, 2022
A thrilling mystery based on a true crime story. This story will draw you in and keep you reading from the first page to the last page. The time is 1965, the place is Manchester, England. The settings are in a village and on a farm outside the village. It is a story of friendship and betrayal by friends. A family saga and secrets long held. Murder, mayhem and missing children. Two brothers with secrets between them. One secret known and kept and one secret not spoken. Connie and Fred go out to the pub for an hour to have a drink with friends. Cathy, Connie's 7 year old daughter is told to stay in the car and wait for them. She sits in the car with her doll and waits. When Connie and Fred go back to the car Cathy is missing. Ronnie and Thomas live on a secluded farm at the edge of the moors. The brother's have lived there after Thomas returned from the war, the death of their mother and the disappearance of their father over 24 years ago. Ronnie has a run in with two young people that shoot two of his sheep and hold a gun to his head. These young people continue to taunt Ronnie. He does not tell his brother because he does not want to worry him and he cannot go to the police for reasons of his own. Then one day a little girl shows up at the farm. Wet, dirty cold and exhausted they take her in and call her Gracie after their mother. I loved the descriptions of the town, the moors and the lovely countryside. How the people lived, dressed and acted during this period. I love the character of Cathy, such an adorable and inquisitive child. The narration was perfect. I really enjoyed how the book was narrated, they did a wonderful job of telling the story. How all these events are interlinked, intertwined and the twist in it all makes for a wonderful mystery thriller. I think you will enjoy this story as much as I did. Thanks to Rebecca Griffiths for writing a great story, to Sarah Durham and Richard Bunip for a wonderful job narrating it , to Bookouture audio for publishing it and to NetGalley for making it available to me.
Did you find this helpful?
Marianne Vincent
February 13, 2022
4.5★s The Body On The Moor is the sixth novel by British author, Rebecca Griffiths. At fifty-three, sheep farmer Ronald Cappleman is happiest out on the moor, in the open space. Hikers don’t bother him, but the young couple who keep turning up in their turquoise Mini unsettle him: they seem a strange pair, dressed too fancy for the moor, shooting bottles for target practice, upsetting his ewes, and when he confronts them, it doesn’t go well. Ronald has also seen them with a bundle and a spade, one evening, but alerting the police is not an option: he couldn’t have them on the moor, maybe stumbling on his long-held secret. When Connie Openshaw goes into the Waggon and Horses for a few drinks with her boyfriend, Fred, she’s sure her seven-year-old daughter Kathy will be fine in the car for a while. But some hours later, having seen off her childhood friend, Myra and Myra’s rather creepy boyfriend, Ian, she and Fred find that Kathy is no longer in the car. They are frantic with worry, but the police seem more focussed on Fred and his juvenile theft record than on searching for Kathy. While Kathy’s grandmother posts leaflets begging for information about the child, Connie and Fred face community criticism and condemnation, accusations and threats. When a police DCI suggests that Kathy’s disappearance may be linked to other children who have gone missing over the past few years, Connie is even more distraught. But at no time does she suspect her friend Myra might be involved. The story is set in the last month before the world learns about what become known as The Moors Murders, and the fictional protagonist’s lives credibly intersect with those of the notorious real-life murderers, Myra Hindley and Ian Brady. Hindley and Brady are chillingly portrayed. Griffiths’s depiction of the era is faultless, and she captures the attitude of the police, the media and the public exceptionally well. Griffiths conveys with skill the ordeal of the parents and extended family of a missing child. The reader is privy, early on, to Kathy’s fate and whereabouts, and while this blend of fact and fiction is quite effective, the twist is not so unpredictable that the astute reader will not twig. Nonetheless, a real page-turner. This unbiased review is from an uncorrected proof copy provided by NetGalley and Bookouture.
Did you find this helpful?
Carla VanZandt
February 11, 2022
I was intrigued when I read the blurb, and as I dove into this story, with every turn of the page, the intrigue continued to grow. I was completely enthralled with each character and their individual stories. I couldn’t wait to find out how they all connected. I liked the fact that this included characters of every nature. Some I connected with and my heart ached for them to find a measure of happiness, others were flat out evil even before the author shined a light on their actions, and then there were those that I found myself judging, wondering, and switching from one opinion to another as the story progressed. It all added to the overall feel and texture of this story. There were several times I found myself heartbroken, near tears, and anxious and then with only a turn of the page I’d find myself ranting and raving. To say this pulled me into the story and kept me engaged doesn’t give the full effect this story had on me. While it isn’t necessary to have any knowledge of the Moor murders this story is written around, this author pulls at that mystery enough to make you want more of it after you turn the last page.
Did you find this helpful?

Rate this book

Tell us what you think.

Reading information

Smartphones and tablets
Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.
Laptops and computers
You can listen to audiobooks purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.
eReaders and other devices
To read on e-ink devices like Kobo eReaders, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Follow the detailed Help Center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.