Road to Perdition: The New, Expanded Novel

Brash Books, LLC
8
Free sample

First there was Max Allan Collins’ legendary graphic novel…then came the Academy Award winning movie and his bestselling screenplay novelization. Now Collins presents an epic new novel, combining and expanding upon all that came before, to create the ultimate version of his unforgettable story.

Depression-era Chicago is awash in liquor and blood, ruled by guns, graft, and gangsters like John Looney. His most feared enforcer is Michael O’Sullivan, known as the “Angel of Death.” But when O’Sullivan’s twelve-year-old son witnesses a gangland murder committed by Looney’s brutal son, O’Sullivan’s entire family is marked for execution to cover up the crime. O’Sullivan and his son find themselves on the run… and seeking vengeance… on the long, bloody road to Perdition. 

Read more

About the author

RECIPIENT OF THE LIFETIME ACHIEVEMENT AWARD FROM THE PRIVATE EYE WRITERS OF AMERICA AND TWENTY-TWO TIME NOMINEE OF THEIR SHAMUS AWARD. MULTIPLE SHAMUS, SCRIBE AND ANTHONY AWARD WINNER.

MAX ALLAN COLLINS has earned an unprecedented twenty-two Private Eye Writers of America “Shamus” nominations, winning for his Nathan Heller novels, True Detective (1983) and Stolen Away (1991), and the Mike Hammer short story, “So Long, Chief” (2013). In 2007 he received the PWA life achievement award, the Eye, and in 2012 his Nathan Heller saga was honored with the PWA “Hammer” award for its major contribution to the private eye genre.

His graphic novel Road to Perdition (1998) was the basis of the Academy Award-winning Tom Hanks film and was followed by two acclaimed prose sequels and several graphic novels, all of which are being republished by Brash Books. He has created a number of innovative suspense series, including Mallory, Quarry, Eliot Ness, Jack and Maggie Starr, Reeder and Rogers, and the “Disaster” novels. He is completing a number of “Mike Hammer” novels begun by the late Mickey Spillane, most recently Murder Never Knocks; his full-cast Hammer audio novel, The Little Death with Stacy Keach, won a 2011 Audie.

His many comics credits include the syndicated strip “Dick Tracy”; his own “Ms. Tree”; “Batman”; and CSI: Crime Scene Investigation, for which he wrote ten best-selling novels and several award-winning video games. His tie-in books have appeared on the USA TODAY bestseller list nine times and the New York Times three. His movie novels include Saving Private Ryan, Air Force One, andAmerican Gangster (IAMTW Best Novel “Scribe” Award, 2008).

An independent filmmaker in the Midwest, Collins has written and directed four features, including the Lifetime movie “Mommy” (1996); and he scripted “The Expert,” a 1995 HBO World Premiere, and the film-festival favorite, “The Last Lullaby” (2009), based on his novel, The Last Quarry. His documentary “Caveman: V.T. Hamlin & Alley Oop” (2008) has appeared on PBS and on DVD, and his documentary “Mike Hammer’s Mickey Spillane” (1998/2011) appears on the Criterion Collection DVD and Blu-ray of “Kiss Me Deadly.”

His play “Eliot Ness: An Untouchable Life,” was nominated for an Edgar Award in 2004 by the Mystery Writers of America; a film version, written and directed by Collins, was released on DVD and appeared on PBS stations in 2009.

His other credits include film criticism, short fiction, songwriting, trading-card sets, and video games. His coffee-table book, The History of Mystery, was nominated for every major mystery award, and his Men’s Adventure Magazines won the Anthony Award.

Collins lives in Muscatine, Iowa, with his wife, writer Barbara Collins; as “Barbara Allan,” they have collaborated on eleven novels, including the successful “Trash ‘n’ Treasures” mysteries, Antiques Flee Market (2008) winning the Romantic Times Best Humorous Mystery Novel award in 2009. Their son Nathan is a Japanese-to-English translator, working on video games, manga and novels. 

Read more
4.5
8 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Brash Books, LLC
Read more
Published on
Nov 1, 2016
Read more
Pages
254
Read more
ISBN
9781941298961
Read more
Language
English
Read more
Genres
Fiction / Mystery & Detective / General
Fiction / Mystery & Detective / Hard-Boiled
Read more
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
New York Times and USA Today Bestselling Author DIANE CAPRI Returns!


For fans of Lee Child, John Grisham, and Michael Connelly


"Full of thrills and tension - but smart and human too." — Lee Child , #1 New York Times Bestselling Author of Killing Floor and other Jack Reacher Thrillers


Judge Willa Carson’s mother Kate Austin’s new husband, a hot Italian model, lures Willa into investigating a thirty-year old murder. When no-nonsense Federal Judge Wilhelmina Carson is presented with the facts of the case she’s convinced that Billie Jo Steam is innocent.


Determined to right the wrongs of a justice system in which she believes, and to please Kate no matter what, Willa pulls out all the stops, including the use of genetic testing and her most distinguished political connections, to give Billie Jo back her family and her freedom.


But there isn’t much time to celebrate…


The deeper Willa delves into this timeworn case and the complex relationships that surround it, the more she realizes that there are still many people in Tampa — from pillars of the community, to old hippies, to friends and co-workers — who will do whatever it takes to keep the past buried. Judge Willa stays on the long, cold trail until truth prevails at the very end of the road and Kate makes a killing.

Lee Child, action, romance, suspense, thriller, mystery, Florida, Michigan, adoption, secret baby, women sleuth, legal thriller, John Grisham, thriller series, mystery series, romantic suspense series, romantic suspense, hepatitis, medical mystery, medical thriller, psychological thriller, strong female, strong female protagonist, police procedural, thriller and suspense, vigilante justice, crime, action packed, private investigators, lawyer, police officer, FBI agents, Alaska, hard-boiled, cozy, legal, medical, suspense, suspense series, spies, tech, techno, technology, crime, financial, murder, theft, litigator, judge, juror, death, due justice, secret justice, twisted justice, wasted justice, mistaken justice, deadly dozen, deadly, gun, killer, sniper, shot, deadly, parenting, relationships, crime fiction, crime novel, kidnapping, serial killers, heist, series, women's fiction, detective, conspiracy, political, terrorism, contemporary, genre fiction, United States

FBI Agents Otto and Gaspar pick up where Lee Child’s “The Enemy” leaves off in the Hunt for Jack Reacher.

Lee Child Gives Diane Capri Two Thumbs Up!
"Full of thrills and tension, but smart and human, too. Kim Otto is a great, great character — I love her."  Lee Child, #1 World Wide Bestselling Author of Jack Reacher Thrillers

When FBI Special Agents Kim Otto and Carlos Gaspar are sent to Fort Bird, North Carolina to find Jack Reacher, powerful enemies with their backs against the wall will stop at nothing to keep the secrets Reacher left behind.

The Hunt for Jack Reacher series enthralls fans of John Grisham, Lee Child, and more:

"Diane writes like the maestro of the jigsaw puzzle. Sit back in your favorite easy chair, pour a glass of crisp white wine, and enter her devilishly clever world."  —David Hagberg, New York Times Bestselling Author of Kirk McGarvey Thrillers

"Expertise shines on every page."  —Margaret Maron, Edgar, Anthony, Agatha and Macavity Award Winning MWA Past President and MWA Grand Master 2013

Readers Love the Hunt for Jack Reacher Series and Diane Capri:

"I 'stumbled' on this title and was attracted to it as I am a Jack Reacher fan. Loved the story and the author's writing style. Couldn't wait for more so I purchased [Raw Justice] and want more Jennifer Lane — please?! Fatal Distraction is also on my Kindle to read list!"

"I have been a Reacher fan for years and was excited when I heard of Diane Capri's take on 'Finding Reacher'. 'Don't Know Jack' is a good companion to Child's Reacher books and recaptures the flavor of the Reacher mystique. I am waiting anxiously for the next book in the series and the next and the next, and so on."

"All Child fans should give it a try!"

New York Times and USA Today Bestselling Author DIANE CAPRI does it again in another blockbuster Hunt for Jack Reacher Series Novel
©2018 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.