Halfway There

Free sample

1# in the Sisterhood of the Halfways series

A modern novel for lovers of mystery, romance and cake-baking…

Sarah Coles, forty-something divorcee and former high-flying lawyer, escaped London three years ago and now lives alone in a run-down Victorian house in the quiet Cotswolds village of Westwick, working part-time for local charities and driving a clapped out Honda Civic.

She belongs to the Sisterhood of the Halfways, part ladies’ support group, part rural mafia. The members of the Sisterhood focus on the good things in life: romance, wine, archery, gossip and cake. But when Sarah decides to build a modest summer house in her garden, things quickly spiral out of control.

Good friends turn bad as a minor mishap threatens to destroy her peaceful existence forever. At the centre of it all is local bakery owner, the mysteriously attractive Jack Mitchell, who makes exceedingly good cakes.

But as Sarah tries desperately to put a brake on the bad blood (and litigation) that has followed events in her garden, it emerges that Jack has a shocking secret about his former life, one which threatens to put her in grave danger.

A mystery-romance with a backdrop of cake-baking, HALFWAY THERE is for readers of Sophie Kinsella, Joanna Trollope, Alexander McCall Smith and Jojo Moyes. Plus lovers of The Great British Bakeoff!

Read more

About the author

Stef Nichols was born in 1968 and grew up in England and Spain. She studied English Literature and Linguistics, and currently works as a college English teacher in Spain. Her passions are reading, travel, and her two sons.

Read more

Reviews

Loading...

Additional Information

Published on
Sep 1, 2017
Read more
Pages
200
Read more
Language
English
Read more
Genres
Fiction / Romance / Clean & Wholesome
Fiction / Romance / Contemporary
Fiction / Romance / General
Read more
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
Leeanna Morgan
Four friends. Twenty-two bridesmaids’ dresses. One random act of kindness that will change their lives forever.

Tess has given up looking for Mr. Right, but that doesn’t mean she’s given up on love. When she reads a newspaper article about a young couple who've had everything stolen from their home, including four bridesmaids dresses, she knows she has to help. 

But by helping the bride, Tess risks exposing a past she doesn't want anyone to know about. She does everything she can to minimize the danger she's in, but she does the one thing guaranteed to destroy everything - she falls in love with the wrong man.

Logan Allen has spent most of his career reporting on the news from around the world. When a letter arrives from Afghanistan, the trauma he's been living with is about to explode back into his life. He betrayed a small Afghan village and Tess thinks he’s betrayed her.

From their first random act of kindness comes an experience Logan and Tess will never forget. And maybe, if they work together, they can create a future that’s better than anything they've left behind.

All Of Me is the first book in The Bridesmaids Club series and can easily be read as a standalone. Each of Leeanna's series are linked so you can find out what happens to your favorite characters in other books. Happy reading!

Praise for All Of Me:

“What a great romance with an original storyline. There is mystery to keep the intrigue and curiosity spinning, characters with personality, and romance woven throughout it all.”
 
“Easy read with wonderful characters and heartwarming romance. Relaxing and shows the kindness of mankind but with hints of the real world we live in.”

“Could not put it down once I started reading. It leaves you wanting to read the next book in the series.” 

Other Contemporary Romances by Leeanna Morgan:

Montana Brides:
Book 1: Forever Dreams (Gracie and Trent) 
Book 2: Forever in Love (Amy and Nathan)
Book 3: Forever After (Nicky and Sam)
Book 4: Forever Wishes (Erin and Jake)
Book 5: Forever Santa (A Montana Brides Christmas Novella)
Book 6: Forever Cowboy (Emily and Alex)
Book 7: Forever Together (Kate and Dan)
Book 8: Forever and a Day (Sarah and Jordan)

The Bridesmaids Club:
Book 1: All of Me (Tess and Logan)
Book 2: Loving You (Annie and Dylan)
Book 3: Head Over Heels (Sally and Todd)
Book 4: Sweet on You (Molly and Jacob)

Emerald Lake Billionaires:
Book 1: Sealed with a Kiss (Rachel and John)
Book 2: Playing for Keeps (Sophie and Ryan)
Book 3: Crazy Love (Holly and Daniel)
Book 4: One And Only (Elizabeth and Blake)

The Protectors:
Book 1: Safe Haven (Hayley and Tank)
Book 2: Just Breathe (Kelly and Tanner)
Book 3: Always (Mallory and Grant)
Book 4: The Promise (Ashley and Matthew)
Book 5: Coming Home (Mia and Stan)
Book 6: The Gift (Hannah and Brett)
Book 7: The Wish (Claire and Jason)

Keywords: Heartwarming, small town romance, holiday, friendship, family life, series, Montana, relationships, love, wedding, bride, bridesmaid, family saga, second chance, war, reporter, military, army, soldier, Afghanistan, model, fashion, mystery, inspirational.

Stef Nichols
2# in the Sisterhood of the Halfways series

A modern novel for lovers of romance, mystery and home-cooked pizza

Emma White is a forty-something divorcee and single-parent. She lives in the sleepy Cotswolds village of Westwick, where she’s the life and soul of the place, running the parish council and loving every minute of it. But she’s also beginning to feel her age, and when her daughter goes off to college, Emma finds herself alone for the first time.

Then the fast-food chain Flyers announces plans to open a huge restaurant in the village, and her world is turned upside down. Westwick’s less affluent residents (including an ex-army war hero) are faced with eviction from their parish-owned homes, and Emma is powerless to stop it. A dirty war involving sabotage and corruption is being mounted for the heart of the village, turning old friends into enemies and threatening to destroy the place that she loves so dearly.

Someone, she begins to suspect, is pulling the strings illegally. And at the heart of it all is Joe Richards, an investor in the proposed new restaurant, and himself the single parent of a young daughter. He claims to have fallen in love with Westwick. But can he be trusted with her village, or with anything else?

Emma belongs to the Sisterhood of the Halfways, part support group, part rural mafia. The women of the Sisterhood focus on the good things in life: romance, moderately-priced wine, gossip, archery and cake. Particularly cake. And it is the Sisterhood that finally comes to her aid, giving her the strength to fight for what she believes in, and finding deep, enduring love along the way.

A mystery-romance with a backdrop of pizza-making, HALFWAY HOME is for readers of Joanna Trollope, Sophie Kinsella, Jojo Moyes and Alexander McCall Smith. Plus lovers of The Great British Bakeoff. 

©2018 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.