Gateway of India: Omnibus Edition

Loquent Press
Free sample

The Gateway of India, built in the early twentieth century, served as a ceremonial entrance to the city of Bombay. Today, it remains the city’s most famous landmark.

Set in 1980s Bombay, this collection of stories and a novella provides a gateway into the lives of ordinary citizens. A doctor who retires to begin a new life, a bus conductor, a police inspector, the residents in an affluent neighborhood, a schoolteacher and his students—each vignette captures the unique struggles and triumphs of life in India’s commercial capital.

The special omnibus edition contains all three books in the Gateway of India series and includes a bonus story, Saturday Date.

Fans of Jhumpa Lahiri and Rohinton Mistry will enjoy this collection of stories.
Read more
Collapse

About the author

Ken Doyle was born in Bombay, India, into a family with Portuguese and Anglo-Indian roots. He moved to the USA for graduate studies and currently lives in Milford, Delaware with his family. His first collection of short fiction, Bombay Bhel, was published in 2013 and was followed by Gateway of India in 2015. His other projects include literary fiction and science fiction for young adults.
Read more
Collapse
Loading…

Additional Information

Publisher
Loquent Press
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Jan 28, 2017
Read more
Collapse
Pages
226
Read more
Collapse
Features
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Literary
Fiction / Short Stories (single author)
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM free.
Read more
Collapse
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
©2020 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.