House Without Lies

Lily's House

Book 1
White Star Press
45

Her Dream Didn’t Include Falling in Love


Lily dreams of a big house, a place of refuge for runaway girls. She knows what it’s like to grow up feeling unloved, and she now fills every space in her tiny apartment with endangered teens. They don’t have everything they need, but together they have enough.


Or so she thinks—until she meets Jameson and glimpses the mysterious something between them that just might mean real love.


Jameson, who works as a teen counselor, believes the only way Lily can really help the girls is by certifying as a foster parent and going through the system. But becoming legitimate may mean losing some of the girls to the families who threw them away, and Lily hasn’t worked hard to save the teens only to abandon them now.


It seems Jameson will be one more entry on the very long list of things Lily has given up for the girls. What other choice is there when she is all they have?


When two of the teens’ fathers come looking for them, and another one’s mother plans to put her daughter in danger, Lily’s life spins out of control. They need a new home—and fast. A safe place. A house without lies.


Editorial note: House Without Lies is a clean, contemporary romance with a satisfying ending (no cliffhanger). Feel-good, romantic book that lifts while at the same time addressing serious issues and deeper family connections. You will love Lily and her girls! There are sequels that tell the stories of other characters connected with Lily’s House. As one reviewer says, these are "Ideal for fans of Robyn Carr, Mariah Stewart, Sherryl Woods and Susan Wiggs."


Editorial Review


"Readers seeking inspirational women's stories with a broader focus than relationship-building moments will find House Without Lies just the ticket. It's filled with many different characters and diverse circumstances, but the overall plot holds true to its intentions and presents a vivid story made all the more immediate by Rachel Branton's choice of using the first person to capture Lily's daily life and feelings.


Lily's accustomed to fighting for others: can she fight for herself, as well? An engrossing read, it's also a pleasure to add a note that while House Without Lies is part of a series, it's actually a fine stand-alone story that neatly concludes its plot. Readers will want more, but won't be required to hang off a cliff waiting for resolution – and that's a huge bonus to the first book in this series." –D. Donovan, Senior Reviewer, Midwest Book Review


Note: All the stories in the Lily's House series are complete stories without cliffhangers. Reading all of them will catch you up with characters in previous novels, but you do not have to read them in order. Enjoy!

Read more
Collapse

More by Rachel Branton

See more
Some Secrets Aren't Meant to be Shared


Caring for the animals at Safe Haven Exotic Wildlife Sanctuary has filled the holes in Zoey Morgan’s life and soothed the memories that haunt her. It helps that she works with Stephen Carey, whose uncle owns the sanctuary, and Declan Walker, who is as wild and untouchable as the animals they help. When a storm hits, flattening buildings and flooding roads, the sanctuary goes into lockdown. Zoey learns that her younger sister is lost in the storm, and she will risk anything to find her. So will the man who loves her—if she’d let him. Can he slip past the walls Zoey has built to hide her secrets?


All Ruth wanted was to open a little cafe and do what she does best, but the price tag is years out of reach. Then a not-so-chance meeting with a gorgeous photographer and help from her hodgepodge family might just put the goal in reach. Except now both her future and her heart are at risk—will the cost be too high?


A blind-date-gone-wrong is not the way Bianca would have chosen to celebrate the news that she might be losing her business, but saying no to the sister who took care of her after their mother’s death proves impossible. So for one date, one torturous evening, she’ll endure the company of an infuriating, heartless man she has no intention of ever seeing again. She doesn’t expect her heart to have other plans. Sometimes the unexpected is not only what you need, it’s exactly what you’ve been waiting for all along.


You first met Zoey, Ruth, and Bianca as runaway teens in House Without Lies. Now they are all grown up and finding love in this intertwined three-story romance.


REVIEW


"Oh my goodness . . . How loved Zoey's place! What a wonderful read. The characters were vivid and real. Both Zoey and Declan had endured some of life's worst tragedies perpetrated upon them by other people. My heart ached for them! Rachel however wrote them with no self pity but mature having overcome their hard pasts. BRAVO Rachel! People write about too many self pitying characters, thank you for resisting the temptation. Oh, in addition, it was a wonderful, sweet love story! ENJOY!!!" –Rainwater


Note: All the stories in the Lily's House series are complete stories without cliffhangers. Reading all of them will catch you up with characters in previous novels, but you do not have to read them in order. Enjoy!

4.5
45 total
Loading…

Additional Information

Publisher
White Star Press
Read more
Collapse
Published on
Jan 13, 2016
Read more
Collapse
Pages
258
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9781939203700
Read more
Collapse
Features
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Family & Relationships / Love & Romance
Fiction / Christian / Romance
Fiction / Romance / Clean & Wholesome
Fiction / Romance / Contemporary
Juvenile Fiction / Love & Romance
Read more
Collapse
Content protection
This content is DRM free.
Read more
Collapse
Read aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
©2021 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.