The Mason Chronicles

Book 1
Richard Jones
Free sample

"No one knew what had happened to the world Before. 
Or why. 
Or how. 
Only that what had been Before was now gone and all that was left was After. 

Of course, none of that was Mason's concern at this moment. His concern was that of making contact." 

Mason never asked to become a paladin of the apocalypse but someone or something has chosen that for him. He would sooner find his own way through the wasted world known only as After. Despite his desires he cannot ignore the demand that drives him to each new ‘Contact’. He does not understand the demand, or how the Contacts know what their tasks are and what needs to be done. At some point, long ago, he stopped questioning it because each time he learns that he is being led to correct the wrongs of the world of After.  Sometimes in little ways, and sometimes in ways beyond his understanding.

He is joined in his quests by C’er, a man torn between the Now, and his sight of things to come. Known as a prophet, C’er seeks refuge in the effect that Mason has on his visions.  Mason and C’er are joined by Tank, a mutated giant whose affinity for Tek is crippled by his child like intellect, and Diana, a girl on the cusp of womanhood with an uncanny ability with weapons of all types.

Together they face a horde from beyond the Burning Wastes led the charismatic and mysterious Dathan. These Brothers are not like other raiders who plague the world of After. Dathan has a choice for all those who stand against him: Join him and burn away the desolation of the world so it can be rebuilt anew, or burn with it.  

The Mason Chronicles is a fantastic post-apocalyptic adventure set in a richly dark world. It is a character driven story that follows a set of unlikely heroes as they set out to turn back the continuing desolation of their world.

Now with a Preview of Part 2! 

Read more

About the author

Rich Jones lives with his family in the north eastern United States. He has worked in the Healthcare and Information Technology fields for many years. His interests run to reading Science Fiction and Fantasy, Rock and Heavy Metal music, practicing Martial Arts and technology in general. He has only just started to publish the writing that he has been doing as a hobby of years.

Read more

Additional Information

Richard Jones
Read more
Published on
Jun 12, 2013
Read more
Read more
Read more
Read more
Fiction / Science Fiction / Action & Adventure
Fiction / Science Fiction / Apocalyptic & Post-Apocalyptic
Fiction / Science Fiction / General
Read more
Content Protection
This content is DRM free.
Read more
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.

A stunning new novel from the #1 New York Times bestselling author Nora Roberts—Year One is an epic of hope and horror, chaos and magick, and a journey that will unite a desperate group of people to fight the battle of their lives...

It began on New Year’s Eve.

The sickness came on suddenly, and spread quickly. The fear spread even faster. Within weeks, everything people counted on began to fail them. The electrical grid sputtered; law and government collapsed—and more than half of the world’s population was decimated.

Where there had been order, there was now chaos. And as the power of science and technology receded, magick rose up in its place. Some of it is good, like the witchcraft worked by Lana Bingham, practicing in the loft apartment she shares with her lover, Max. Some of it is unimaginably evil, and it can lurk anywhere, around a corner, in fetid tunnels beneath the river—or in the ones you know and love the most.

As word spreads that neither the immune nor the gifted are safe from the authorities who patrol the ravaged streets, and with nothing left to count on but each other, Lana and Max make their way out of a wrecked New York City. At the same time, other travelers are heading west too, into a new frontier. Chuck, a tech genius trying to hack his way through a world gone offline. Arlys, a journalist who has lost her audience but uses pen and paper to record the truth. Fred, her young colleague, possessed of burgeoning abilities and an optimism that seems out of place in this bleak landscape. And Rachel and Jonah, a resourceful doctor and a paramedic who fend off despair with their determination to keep a young mother and three infants in their care alive.

In a world of survivors where every stranger encountered could be either a savage or a savior, none of them knows exactly where they are heading, or why. But a purpose awaits them that will shape their lives and the lives of all those who remain.

The end has come. The beginning comes next.

©2018 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.