Magic and Machinery: Ocker: Boxed Set One, Books 1-3

Crimson Tree Publishing
Free sample

Own the first three novels in the epic Magic & Machinery series from author Jon Messenger. This handsome boxed set includes Wolves of the Northern RiftThe Blood Thief of Whitten Hall, and The Golem of Solomon’s Way—plus exclusive bonus content: The Rift Between, a previously unreleased short story about the formation of the original chasm that started it all. This set is a great introduction for readers who are new to the series, or a perfect collector’s item for existing fans.


Wolves of the Northern Rift:

In a world of science, magic is an abomination—an abomination that came from the Rift, a great chasm hundreds of miles long that nearly split the southern continent in two. The Rift was a portal, a gateway between the world of science and the mythological world of magic. The Royal Inquisitors were formed to investigate reports of mystical occurrences, and, should they be found, to destroy them.

Simon Whitlock knows his responsibilities all too well. Along with the apothecary, Luthor Strong, they’ve spent two years inquiring into reports of magical abominations, though they’ve discovered far more charlatans than true magical creatures. When assigned to investigate Haversham and its reports of werewolves, Simon remains unconvinced the rumors are true. What he discovers in the frozen little hamlet is that the werewolves are far more real than he believed—yet they’re hardly the most dangerous monsters in the city.


The Blood Thief of Whitten Hall:

In a world of science, magic is an abomination—but not the vile creation Royal Inquisitor Simon Whitlock once believed it to be. Accompanied by his apothecary companion, Luthor Strong, and Matilda Hawke, a werewolf, they return to the capital of Callifax, only to be quickly sent on another mission. It seems the iron mines of Whitten Hall have ceased their production, no longer sending its ore to the crown. The Ministry of Trade has sent inquiries, but its representatives have all fled from the train ride to the distal outpost. It seems a vampire stalks the trains in and out of Whitten Hall, a vampire who will reveal the secret of the iron mine and the darkness that resides within…


The Golem of Solomon's Way:

Something is amiss in the capital. Callifax has always been a bastion for Inquisitor Simon Whitlock—the walled city a barrier against the chaos of the magical world. After the physical and emotional pain of his last few missions, safety is all he desires. But a monster is stalking the streets, an abomination far more violent than even the mystical denizens he's encountered before. The monster has slain women in Solomon's Way, the nightlife district of the modern capital. Solomon's Way, a part of town Simon and Luthor have frequented all too often. Solomon's Way—where the woman he loves lives and works…

Read more
Collapse

About the author

Jon Messenger, born 1979 in London, England, serves as a United States Army Major in the Medical Service Corps. Since graduating from the University of Southern California in 2002, writing Science Fiction has remained his passion, a passion that has continued through two deployments to Iraq and a humanitarian relief mission to Haiti. Jon wrote the “Brink of Distinction” trilogy, of which “Burden of Sisyphus” is the first book, while serving a 16-month deployment in Baghdad, Iraq.

Read more
Collapse
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Crimson Tree Publishing
Read more
Collapse
Pages
1210
Read more
Collapse
ISBN
9781634223775
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Read more
Collapse
Language
English
Read more
Collapse
Genres
Fiction / Magical Realism
Fiction / Science Fiction / Action & Adventure
Fiction / Science Fiction / Steampunk
Read more
Collapse
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Collapse
Read Aloud
Available on Android devices
Read more
Collapse
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
Jon Messenger, award-winning and bestselling author of Wind Warrior, continues his new series set in a fantastic world of noble families, steam-powered technology, and magic-wielding trouble makers. Think Sherlock Holmes meets the world of magic… 


Something is amiss in the capital.


Callifax has always been a bastion for Inquisitor Simon Whitlock—the walled city a barrier against the chaos of the magical world. After the physical and emotional pain of his last few mission, safety is all he desires.


But a monster is stalking the streets, an abomination far more violent than even the mystical denizens he's thus far encountered. The monster has slain women in Solomon's Way, the nightlife district of the modern capital. Solomon's Way, a part of town Simon and Luthor have frequented all too often. Solomon's Way, where the woman he loves lives and works.

Now Inquisitor Whitlock must face a new breed of monster, one that will force the Inquisitor to face his very shortcomings as a friend and a man. Simon has killed a demon, werewolves, and vampires, but some of the most dangerous demons live inside us all. Demons that can't be killed by swords and guns.


The Golem of Solomon’s Way is the third book in an all new Science Fiction and Fantasy Steampunk series. Perfect for fans of The Cinder Spires, The Aeronaut’s Windglass by Jim Butcher,  Leviathan by Scott Westerfeld, and Soulless by Gail Carriger. Readers who love classic Science Fiction Fantasy Adventures, such as 1984 by George Orwell and 20,000 Leagues Under the Sea by Jules Verne will also enjoy The Magic & Machinery Series. 



Science Fiction for Men

Science Fiction and Anthology

Steampunk Books

Fantasy & Magic

Action & Adventure

Epic Fantasy

Mystery Thriller Suspense

Paranormal & Urban

Folklore & Mythology

Metaphysical & Visionary

Alternative History 

Magic books for adults

Sci Fi

Mystery Action Fiction

Police Procedurals

Supernatural 

Private Investigator Mysteries

Science Fiction Books

Science Fiction Best Sellers

Free Science Fiction Books

Fantasy

Historical

Steampunk

Myths & Legends

Literary Fiction

Steampunk 

Shifters 

Paranormal 


Jon Messenger, award-winning and bestselling author of Wind Warrior, conjures up a new series set in a fantastic world of noble families, steam-powered technology, and magic-wielding trouble makers. Think Sherlock Holmes meets the world of magic… 


In a world of science, magic is an abomination.  It spread from the Rift, a great chasm hundreds of miles long that nearly split the southern continent in two. The Rift was a portal, a gateway between their world of science and the mythological world of magic. 


On the northern continent of Ocker, King Godwin declared that no magical monstrosity would be allowed within their borders. The Royal Inquisitors were formed to investigate reports of mystical occurrences and, should they be found, to destroy them. 


Inquisitor Simon Whitlock knows his responsibilities all too well. Along with the apothecary, Luthor Strong, they’ve spent two years inquiring into such reports of magical abominations, though they’ve discovered far more charlatans than true magical creatures. When assigned to investigate Haversham and its reports of werewolves, Simon remains unconvinced that the rumors are true. What he discovers in the frozen little hamlet is that the werewolves are far more real than he believed; yet they’re hardly the most dangerous monster in the city.


Wolves of the Northern Rift is the first book in an all new Science Fiction and Fantasy Steampunk series. Perfect for fans of The Cinder Spires, The Aeronaut’s Windglass by Jim Butcher,  Leviathan by Scott Westerfeld, and Soulless by Gail Carriger. Readers who love classic Science Fiction Fantasy Adventures, such as 1984 by George Orwell and 20,000 Leagues Under the Sea by Jules Verne will also enjoy Wolves of the Northern Rift. 






Science Fiction for Men

Science Fiction and Anthology

Steampunk Books

Fantasy & Magic

Action & Adventure

Epic Fantasy

Mystery Thriller Suspense

Paranormal & Urban

Folklore & Mythology

Metaphysical & Visionary

Alternative History 

Magic books for adults

Sci Fi

Mystery Action Fiction

Police Procedurals

Supernatural 

Private Investigator Mysteries

Science Fiction Books

Science Fiction Best Sellers

Free Science Fiction Books

Fantasy

Historical

Steampunk

Myths & Legends

Literary Fiction

Steampunk 

Shifters 

Paranormal 

©2019 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.