Neverworld Wake

Sold by Delacorte Press
1

Enter a realm where fears are physical and memories come alive in this absorbing psychological suspense thriller, from acclaimed New York Times bestselling author of Special Topics in Calamity Physics and Night Film.

Once upon a time, back at Darrow-Harker School, Beatrice Hartley and her five best friends were the cool kids, the beautiful ones. Then the shocking death of Jim--their creative genius and Beatrice's boyfriend--changed everything.

One year after graduation, Beatrice is returning to Wincroft--the seaside estate where they spent so many nights sharing secrets, crushes, plans to change the world--hoping she'll get to the bottom of the dark questions gnawing at her about Jim's death.

But as the night plays out in a haze of stilted jokes and unfathomable silence, Beatrice senses she's never going to know what really happened.

Then a mysterious man knocks on the door. Blithely, he announces the impossible: time for them has become stuck, snagged on a splinter that can only be removed if the former friends make the harshest of decisions.

Now Beatrice has one last shot at answers . . . and at life.

And so begins the Neverworld Wake.
Read more

About the author

MARISHA PESSL is the author of Night Film and Special Topics in Calamity Physics, her bestselling debut, which was awarded the Center for Fiction's First Novel Prize and selected as one of the Ten Best Books of the Year by the New York Times Book Review. She lives with her husband and two children in New York City. Visit Marisha online at MarishaPessl.com and on Facebook, and follow @marishapessl on Twitter and Instagram.
Read more

Reviews

3.0
1 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Delacorte Press
Read more
Published on
Jun 5, 2018
Read more
Pages
336
Read more
ISBN
9780399553950
Read more
Features
Read more
Language
English
Read more
Genres
Young Adult Fiction / Social Themes / Death & Dying
Young Adult Fiction / Social Themes / Friendship
Young Adult Fiction / Social Themes / Values & Virtues
Read more
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
Marisha Pessl
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY
NPR • Cosmopolitan • Kirkus Reviews • BookPage

A page-turning thriller for readers of Stephen King, Gillian Flynn, and Stieg Larsson, Night Film tells the haunting story of a journalist who becomes obsessed with the mysterious death of a troubled prodigy—the daughter of an iconic, reclusive filmmaker.
 
On a damp October night, beautiful young Ashley Cordova is found dead in an abandoned warehouse in lower Manhattan. Though her death is ruled a suicide, veteran investigative journalist Scott McGrath suspects otherwise. As he probes the strange circumstances surrounding Ashley’s life and death, McGrath comes face-to-face with the legacy of her father: the legendary, reclusive cult-horror-film director Stanislas Cordova—a man who hasn’t been seen in public for more than thirty years.
 
For McGrath, another death connected to this seemingly cursed family dynasty seems more than just a coincidence. Though much has been written about Cordova’s dark and unsettling films, very little is known about the man himself.
 
Driven by revenge, curiosity, and a need for the truth, McGrath, with the aid of two strangers, is drawn deeper and deeper into Cordova’s eerie, hypnotic world.
 
The last time he got close to exposing the director, McGrath lost his marriage and his career. This time he might lose even more.
 
Night Film, the gorgeously written, spellbinding new novel by the dazzlingly inventive Marisha Pessl, will hold you in suspense until you turn the final page.

Praise for Night Film
 
“Night Film has been precision-engineered to be read at high velocity, and its energy would be the envy of any summer blockbuster. Your average writer of thrillers should lust for Pessl’s deft touch with character.”—Joe Hill, The New York Times Book Review
 
“Mysterious and even a little head-spinning, an amazing act of imagination.”—Dean Baquet, The New York Times Book Review
 
“Maniacally clever . . . Cordova is a monomaniacal genius who creeps into the darkest crevices of the human psyche. . . . As a study of a great mythmaker, Night Film is an absorbing act of myth-making itself. . . . Dastardly fun . . . The plot feels like an M. C. Escher nightmare about Edgar Allan Poe. . . . You’ll miss your subway stop, let dinner burn and start sleeping with the lights on.”—The Washington Post
 
“Haunting . . . a suspenseful, sprawling page-turner.”—USA Today
 
“Entrancing and delightful . . . [a] whipsmart humdinger of a thriller . . . It feels, above all things, new.”—The Boston Globe
 
“Gripping . . . a masterful puzzle . . . Pessl builds up real suspense.”—Entertainment Weekly
 
“A very deeply imagined book . . . sprints to an ending that’s equal parts nagging and haunting: What lingers, beyond all the page-turning, is a density of possible clues that leaves you leafing backward, scanning fictional blog comments and newspaper clippings, positive there’s some secret detail that will snap everything into focus.”—New York
 
“Hypnotic . . . The real and the imaginary, life and art, are dizzyingly distorted not only in a Cordova night film . . . but in Pessl’s own Night Film as well.”—Vanity Fair


From the Hardcover edition.
Marisha Pessl
Prepárate para entrar en la última sesión...

Un escenario oscuro, tremendo, envolvente y profundamente aterrador y también un thriller psicológico al más puro estilo de Perdida.

Una noche húmeda de octubre, la joven Ashley Cordova aparece muerta en un almacén abandonado del Bajo Manhattan. Scott McGrath, un desacreditado periodista de investigación, sospecha que detrás de este aparente suicidio se oculta una verdad mucho más retorcida. Las extrañas circunstancias que rodearon la vida de Ashley se mezclan con el legado de un padre excéntrico: el enigmático Stanislas Cordova, un legendario director de cine de terror que ha permanecido fuera de escena durante más de treinta años y que ha conseguido convertir su vida en un secreto absoluto. Sus películas de culto están prohibidas en el circuito comercial y solo pueden ser visionadas en proyecciones clandestinas. La obsesión de McGrath con el cineasta sumergirá al investigador en un mundo profundamente hipnótico y siniestro, mientras el lector, a través de una serie de documentos, pistas y fotografías, le acompaña en la misma búsqueda obsesiva.

Última sesión es mucho más que un thriller psicológico: una lectura completamente adictiva que conduce a lugares inexplorados, una aventura cinematográfica que contiene el suspense de Hitchcock, el perfeccionismo enfermizo de Kubrick, los personajes torturados de Polanski, los escenarios claustrofóbicos de Lynch y el humor de Tarantino.

La crítica ha dicho...
«Última sesión ha sido minuciosamente escrita para ser leída a toda velocidad, y su energía sería la envidia de cualquier bestseller de verano.»

Joe Hill, The New York Times Book Review

«Maniáticamente inteligente. [...] Cordova es un genio monomaníaco que se arrastra por el interior de las más oscuras grietas de la psique humana. [...] El argumento te hace sentir como en una pesadilla de Escher sobre Edgar Allan Poe.»

The Washington Post

«El Perdida de este verano. Un thriller literario completamente absorbente.»
Library Journal

©2018 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.